AL 08/13/20 Item No. 19

## ORDINANCE 2020-08-13-0523

## APPROVING THE SUBMISSION AND ACCEPTANCE OF A GRANT IN AN AMOUNT UP TO \$11,500.00 FROM THE TEXAS HISTORICAL COMMISSION FOR COMPLETION OF A SURVEY OF PROPERTIES POTENTIALLY ELIGIBLE FOR DESIGNATION AS LOCAL LANDMARKS OR HISTORIC DISTRICTS IN THE TOBIN HILL NEIGHBORHOOD.

\* \* \* \* \*

WHEREAS, the City of San Antonio's Office of Historic Preservation (OHP) seeks to identify and inventory significant historic resources through the ScoutSA survey initiative; and

WHEREAS, this proactive effort responds to the community need for up to date information on properties that are potentially eligible for designation as local landmarks or historic districts; and

**WHEREAS,** the Historic and Design Review Commission, in response to public outcry over the loss of a significant structure located just outside the boundary of the local historic district, asked OHP staff to conduct a survey of the Tobin Hill neighborhood; and

WHEREAS, the City will survey properties within the Tobin Hill Community Association, which includes the Tobin Hill Local Historic District and the East French Place Local Historic District and the updated inventory will be added to the existing survey database managed by OHP; and

WHEREAS, OHP staff anticipates that the survey will be used to certify the two local historic districts as well as identify adjacent areas that may be eligible for National Register designation; and

WHEREAS, this will both celebrate the significance of the neighborhood and make tax credits available to projects that qualify; and

WHEREAS, the City has preliminarily been awarded a cost reimbursement grant of \$11,500 and a match requirement will be met with grant funds from The Conservation Society of San Antonio and in-kind services; NOW THEREFORE:

## BE IT ORDAINED BY THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF SAN ANTONIO:

**SECTION 1.** The City Manager or designee, or the Director of the Office of Historic Preservation or designee, is authorized to submit a grant application and to accept grant funds in an amount up to \$11,500.00 from the Texas Historic Commission for completion of a survey of the Tobin Hill Neighborhood to identify significant historic resources through the ScoutSA initiative. A copy of said application is on file with the Office of Historic Preservation.

AL 08/13/20 Item No. 19

**SECTION 2.** Ordinance also authorizes an in-kind match up to \$1,200.00, which will be fulfilled by the Office of Historic Preservation personnel, and a cash match up to \$8,800.00 from previously accepted grant funds from The Conservation Society of San Antonio.

**SECTION 3.** The City Manager or designee, or the Director of the Office of Historic Preservation or designee, is further authorized to execute any and all necessary documents to effectuate said application and acceptance.

**SECTION 4.** Upon acceptance of this award, new funds and internal order numbers will be created, upon which the award amount not to exceed \$11,5000.00 will be appropriated in said funds. A final budget, including Internal Orders and GL Accounts, will be submitted by the Office of Historic Preservation upon award.

**SECTION 5.** The financial allocations in this Ordinance are subject to approval by the Deputy Chief Financial Officer, City of San Antonio. The Deputy Chief Financial Officer may, subject to concurrence by the City Manager or the City Manager's designee, correct allocations to specific SAP Fund Numbers, SAP Project Definitions, SAP WBS Elements, SAP Internal Orders, SAP Fund Centers, SAP Cost Centers, SAP Functional Areas, SAP Funds Reservation Document Numbers, and SAP GL Accounts as necessary to carry out the purpose of this Ordinance.

PASSED AND APPROVED this 13th day August, 2020.

M A Y 0 R Ron Nirenberg

**ATTEST:** 

Tina Flores, Acting City Clerk

**APPROVED AS TO FORM:** 

Andrew Segovia, City Attorney



## **City of San Antonio**

City Council August 13, 2020

Item: 19

**Enactment Number:** 2020-08-13-0523

NAME	MOTION	SECOND	ABSTAIN	AYE	NAY	ABSENT
Ron Nirenberg Mayor						
Roberto Treviño Council District 1						
Jada Andrews-Sullivan Council District 2						
Rebecca Viagran Council District 3						
Adriana Rocha Garcia Council District 4						
Shirley Gonzales Council District 5						
Melissa Cabello Havrda Council District 6						
Ana Sandoval Council District 7						
Manny Pelaez Council District 8						
John Courage Council District 9		$\checkmark$				
Clayton Perry Council District 10	$\checkmark$			$\checkmark$		

Comments:

Office of the City Clerk