CWK 08/20/2020 Item No. 32

ORDINANCE 2020-08-20-0560

*

*

ACCEPTING THE RESIGNATION OF MUNICIPAL COURT JUDGE CHRISTINE DAUPHIN LACY AND DECLARING THE OFFICE VACANT.

*

WHEREAS, the terms of the full-time and part-time Municipal Court Judges for the City of San Antonio expired April 30, 2020, and they are "holding over" under Article XII, Section 160 of the City Charter and Section 20-xx of the City Code; and

*

*

WHEREAS, the Municipal Court Advisory Committee undertook the appointment process in the Fall of 2019, and met on several occasions into early 2020 to consider the applications and make recommendations for appointments; and

WHEREAS, the pandemic caused by COVID-19 disrupted this process before the City Council could take action on the judicial appointments, and the Committee agreed to delay appointments of the judges until after the City budget was adopted; and

WHEREAS, Christine Dauphin Lacy, a full-time Municipal Court Judge, submitted her resignation on June 22, 2020; and

WHEREAS, the Committee recommends the acceptance of the judge's resignation and leave the position unfilled, declaring it vacant; **NOW THEREFORE**:

BE IT ORDAINED BY THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF SAN ANTONIO:

SECTION 1. The resignation of Judge Christine Dauphin Lacy is accepted by the City Council and the corresponding position number shall remain unfilled and is declared vacant.

SECTION 2. This Ordinance is effective immediately upon the receipt of eight affirmative votes; otherwise, it is effective ten days after passage.

PASSED and APPROVED this 20th day of August 2020.

Y O R М A **Ron Nirenberg**

APPROVED AS TO FORM:

Andrew Segovia, City Attorney

ATTEST:

Are 21 -

Tina Flores, Acting City Clerk



City of San Antonio

City Council August 20, 2020

Item: 32

Enactment Number: 2020-08-20-0560

NAME	MOTION	SECOND	ABSTAIN	AYE	NAY	ABSENT
Roberto Treviño Council District 1						
Jada Andrews-Sullivan Council District 2	\checkmark					
Rebecca Viagran Council District 3	9					
Adriana Rocha Garcia Council District 4				\checkmark		
Shirley Gonzales Council District 5						
Melissa Cabello Havrda Council District 6						
Ana Sandoval Council District 7		\checkmark				
Manny Pelaez Council District 8						\checkmark
John Courage Council District 9						
Clayton Perry Council District 10						
Ron Nirenberg Mayor				\checkmark		

Comments:

Office of the City Clerk