GOVERNANCE CITY COUNCIL COMMITTEE MEETING MINUTES

JANUARY 6, 2021 at 10:00 AM VIDEOCONFERENCE

Committee Present:	Mayor Ron Nirenberg, Chair	
	Councilmember Adriana Rocha Garcia, District 4	
	Councilmember Shirley Gonzales, District 5	
	Councilmember Ana Sandoval, District 7	
	Councilmember John Courage, District 9	
Staff Present:	Erik Walsh, City Manager; Andy Segovia, City Attorney;	
	Tina J. Flores, City Clerk; Camila Kunau, Assistant City	
	Attorney; Alex Morgan, City Manager's Office	
Others Present:	Bob Comeaux, Athalie D. Malone, Seymour Battle III,	
	Victoria Bustos, Laura Cabanilla, Javier Paredes, &	
	Melanie Tawil; VIA Board of Trustees Applicants	

CALL TO ORDER

Mayor Nirenberg called the meeting to order.

1. Approval of the Minutes from the Governance City Council Committee Meeting of November 4, 2020.

Councilmember Rocha Garcia moved to approve the Minutes from the Governance Council Committee Meeting of November 4, 2020. Councilmember Sandoval seconded the motion. The motion carried unanimously.

2. Consideration of Applicants to the VIA Metropolitan Transit Authority Board of Trustees (5 seats) [Tina Flores, City Clerk]

Mayor Nirenberg stated that he created a Sub-Committee that met and reviewed the applications submitted for the VIA Metropolitan Transit Authority Board of Trustees. He noted that the Sub-Committee selected a total of 10 nominees to be interviewed by the Governance Committee. He announced that three applicants had withdrawn from consideration and that those candidates present would be given a two-minute opening statement, followed by questions from the Committee. The following applicants were interviewed for the five available seats on the VIA Metropolitan Transit Authority Board of Trustees:

- 1. Bob Comeaux (Union Representative Category)
- 2. Athalie D. Malone (Transportation Disadvantaged Category)
- 3. Seymour Battle III
- 4. Victoria Bustos
- 5. Laura Cabanilla
- 6. Javier Paredes
- 7. Melanie Tawil

EXECUTIVE SESSION

Mayor Nirenberg recessed the meeting into Executive Session at 11:40 am to discuss the following:

A. Deliberate the appointment, evaluation, and duties of public officers and discuss legal issues pursuant to Texas Government Code Section 551.074 (personnel matters) and Texas Government Code Section 551.071 (consultation with attorney).

RECONVENED

Mayor Nirenberg reconvened the meeting at 12:08 pm and announced that no action was taken in Executive Session.

Councilmember Rocha Garcia moved to nominate for reappointment Bob Comeaux (Union Representative) and Athalie D. Malone (Transportation Disadvantaged Representative) to serve a one-year term ending on December 31, 2021; and appointment of Laura Cabanilla, Javier Paredes, and Melanie Tawil to serve at-large, two-year terms ending on December 31, 2022 to the VIA Metropolitan Transit Authority Board of Trustees. Councilmember Gonzales seconded the motion. The motion carried unanimously.

ADJOURNMENT

There being no further discussion, Mayor Nirenberg adjourned the meeting at 12:11 pm.

ATTEST:	
	Ron Nirenberg, Mayor
Tina J. Flores, LPEC City Clerk	