Review of the Jule Sugarman Distinguished Staff Award Process





Jule Sugarman was one of the founders of the Head Start Program. Mr. Sugarman led the program for its first five years and served as the Executive Secretary of the 13-member planning panel that was commissioned by President Lyndon B. Johnson to create Head Start as part of the *War on Poverty*. Following the advice of Sgt. Shriver of the Office of Economic Opportunity "to write Head Start across this land so that no Congress or president will ever destroy it." Mr. Sugarman oversaw the increase of enrollment in the program to more than double the projected number of participants, starting with 560,000 children in the first year versus a target of only 250,000.

This award is named for Mr. Jule Sugarman, in order for parents/guardians to honor direct service staff who exceed expectations and contribute to the success and growth of the City of San Antonio Department of Human Services Head Start program every day.

In addition, The David Chavarria Award is a commemoration of great leaders in the Head Start Program. The Head Start Principals and Child Care Directors are the first line of leadership in a school, including such responsibilities as teacher evaluation, discipline, and parent & community relations. Mr. Chavarria was a Principal at Knox Early Childhood Campus of the San Antonio Independent School District and retired from SAISD after 34 years of joyful service specializing in Early Childhood Education.

This award is to honor the hard work the Administration, Principals, and Directors do on a daily for our children and families in the Head Start Program. These leaders exceed expectations and contribute to the success and growth of the City of San Antonio Department of Human Services Head Start and Early Head Start Child-Care Partnership program every day.

Award Year	Award Winners
	Jessica Torres, EHS-CCP
2016-2017	Veronica Gutierrez, EISD
	Caroline Hiskey, SAISD
	Yvonne Cedillo, COSA FSW
	Mary Franco, EHS-CCP
2017-2018	Michelle Fuentes, EISD
	Valerie Castillo, SAISD
	Yvonne Cedillo, COSA FSW
	Dora Navarro, EHS-CCP
2018-2019	Loreno Dion, EISD
	Elizabeth Tiemann, EISD
	Leticia DeAnda, COSA FSW
	Mary Valles, EHS-CCP
2019-2020	Alisha Freeman, EISD
	Ana Gonzalez, SAISD
	Erika Mora, COSA FSW
	Marisa Mendez, SAISD- David Chavarria Award