ORDINANCE 2021 - 02 - 18 - 0109

AUTHORIZING A CHANGE ORDER IN AN AMOUNT NOT TO EXCEED \$583,146.80 TO A CONSTRUCTION CONTRACT WITH PESADO CONSTRUCTION COMPANY FOR CONSTRUCTION OF ADJACENT SIDEWALK PROJECTS RELATED TO THE CEDARHURST DRIVE AREA (DUMONT DRIVE TO EAGLEROCK DRIVE) PROJECT.

* * * * * *

WHEREAS, in May 2017 voters approved the 2017 Bond Program, which included \$9,170,000.00 for drainage and flood control improvements associated with the Cedarhurst Drive Area (Dumont Drive to Eaglerock Drive) project located in Council District 4; and

WHEREAS, the Cedarhurst Drive Area (Dumont Drive to Eaglerock Drive) project will construct an underground storm drain system along Cedarhurst Drive and improvements to the existing drainage outfall allowing flood relief to neighborhood streets; and

WHEREAS, in October 2019 Pesado Construction Company was awarded a construction contract in the not to exceed amount of \$5,150,164.35 for the construction of the 2017 Bond Cedarhurst Drive Area project; and

WHEREAS, this change order will provide for the full-depth pavement reconstruction of Cedarhurst Drive to include curbs, sidewalks, driveway approaches and utility improvements; and

WHEREAS, this Ordinance authorizes a change order in an amount not to exceed \$583,146.80 to the construction contract with Pesado Construction Company for construction of adjacent sidewalk projects related to Cedarhurst Drive Area (Dumont Drive to Eaglerock Drive) project; NOW THEREFORE:

BE IT ORDAINED BY THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF SAN ANTONIO:

SECTION 1. The City Manager or designee is authorized to execute a change order in the not to exceed amount of \$583,146.80 to the construction contract with Pesado Construction Company for construction of adjacent sidewalk projects related to Cedarhurst Drive Area (Dumont Drive to Eaglerock Drive) project.

SECTION 2. Payment is authorized to be encumbered and made payable to Pesado Construction Company in an amount not to exceed \$583,146.80. Payment is in support of the Cedarhurst Dr Area (Dumont to Eaglerock) Project, using Fund 45099000, with the WBS 23-01627-05-02-01 and GL 5201140. Funding for this project is provided by GO Bonds and is in the FY2021-FY2026 CIP Budget.

KRH 02/18/21 Item No. 7

Payment is limited to the amounts budgeted in the Operating and/or Capital Budget funding sources identified. All expenditures will comply with approved operating and/or capital budgets for current and future fiscal years.

SECTION 3. The financial allocations in this Ordinance are subject to approval by the Deputy Chief Financial Officer, City of San Antonio. The Deputy Chief Financial Officer may, subject to concurrence by the City Manager or the City Manager's designee, correct allocations to specific Fund Numbers, Project Definitions, WBS Elements, Internal Orders, Fund Centers, Cost Centers, Functional Areas, Funds Reservation Document Numbers, and GL Accounts as necessary to carry out the purpose of this Ordinance.

SECTION 4. This Ordinance shall be effective immediately upon the receipt of eight affirmative votes; otherwise, it is effective ten days after passage.

PASSED and APPROVED this 18th day of February, 2021.

M A Y O R
Ron Nirenberg

ATTEST:

APPROVED AS TO FORM:

Tina J. Flores, City Clerk

Andrew Segovia, City Attorney



City of San Antonio

City Council February 18, 2021

Item: 7 Enactment Number: File Number: 21-1108 2021-02-18-0109

Ordinance approving a City requested change order in the total increased amount of \$583,146.80 and authorizing payment to Pesado Construction Company for construction of adjacent sidewalk projects related to the Cedarhurst Drive Area (Dumont Drive to Eaglerock Drive) project, a 2017 Bond funded project, located in Council District 4. Funds are available from 2017 - 2022 General Obligation Bond Program and are included in FY 2021 - FY 2026 Capital Improvement Program. [Roderick Sanchez, Assistant City Manager; Razi Hosseini, Director, Public Works]

Councilmember John Courage made a motion to approve. Councilmember Jada Andrews-Sullivan seconded the motion. The motion passed by the following vote:

Aye: 11 Nirenberg, Treviño, Andrews-Sullivan, Viagran, Rocha Garcia, Gonzales, Cabello Havrda, Sandoval, Pelaez, Courage and Perry