City of San Antonio





Planning Commission Minutes

Development and Business Services Center

1901 South Alamo

March 10, 2021 2:00PM Videoconference

At any time during the meeting, the Planning Commission may meet in executive session for consultation with the City Attorney's Office concerning attorney-client matters under Chapter 551 of the Texas Government Code.

Planning Commission Members

A majority of appointive members, other than ex officio, shall constitute a quorum.

Connie Gonzalez, Madam Chair
George Peck, Vice Chair
Matthew Profftt, Pro-Tem

Michael Garcia Jr. | Meredith Siegel | John Jackson | Julia Carrillo | Christopher Garcia |
Samer Dessouky |

Ex-Officio Members

John Bustamante, Chair Zoning Commission | Donald Oroian, Chair Board of Adjustment TBD, Councilmember | Erik Walsh, City Manager

1:15 p.m. - Work Session -

A briefing on the City's Tree Ordinance and processes related to Tree Variances and reporting.

Staff briefing regarding case recommendations and other items for consideration on the posted agenda. Commissioners may direct questions to staff regarding items noticed on the posted agenda or regarding City of San Antonio policies or operations in order to elicit a response of specific factual information or a recitation of existing policy pursuant to Section 551.042 of the Texas Government Code.

2:00 P.M. - Call to Order, Videoconference

- Roll Call
- Present: M. Garcia, Jackson, Carrillo, Siegel, Dessouky, C. Garcia, Bustamante, Oroian, Proffitt, Peck, Gonzalez
- Absent : None
- Jacqueline Payan, SeproTec translator was present.

THE FOLLOWING ITEMS MAY BE CONSIDERED AT ANY TIME DURING THE REGULAR PLANNING COMMISSION MEETING: Public Hearing and Consideration of the following Plats, Variances, Planned Unit Development (PUD) plans, Street Rename, Appeals, Land Transactions, Adoption and Amendments of the Neighborhood, Community and Sector Plans as Components of the Master Plan, and other items as identified below.

Combined Items

<u>Logan Sparrow</u>, Interim Policy Administrator, presented the combined hearing items to the Planning Commission.

Plats

- Item #1 19-11800099: Request by Leslie Ostrander, CHTEX of Texas, Inc, for approval to replat and subdivide a tract of land to establish Valley Ranch Unit 19 Subdivision, generally located northeast of the intersection of Culebra Road and Ranch View West. Staff recommends Approval. (Martha Bernal, Senior Planner, (210) 207-0210, Martha.Bernal@sanantonio.gov, Development Services Department)
- Item #2 19-11800244: Request by David Brodbeck, KB Home Lone Star INC., for approval to replat and subdivide a tract of land to establish Fischer Tract, Unit 3C-1, generally located northeast of the intersection of Evans Road and Cibolo Vista. Staff recommends Approval. (Chris McCollin, Senior Planner, (210) 207-5014, Christopher.Mccollin@sanantonio.gov, Development Services Department).

Other Items

Item # 5 A public hearing and a resolution recommending the City Council's consent to the creation by Medina County of a Fresh Water Supply District (FWSD), to be named Medina County FWSD No. 4, the subsequent conversion of the FWSD to a Water Control Improvement District (WCID), the one-time assignment of the ownership, the one-time expansion of the said WCID, and an associated Development Agreement between the City of San Antonio and Gallagher Concourse, LP, Ltd., D-W 381 Partners, LLC, and Goldfinch Farms, LLC, the owners of land generally located southwest of the intersection of Tamaron Valley and Legend Falls, in the extraterritorial jurisdiction (ETJ) of the City of San Antonio in Bexar County and Medina County. [Priscilla Rosales-Pina, Planning Manager, Planning Department, (210)207-7839, priscilla.rosales-pina@sanantonio.gov]

Motion

Madam Chair Gonzalez asked for a motion for the items as presented.

Commissioner Proffitt motioned to approve all items, except items # 3, 4, 6, and 7 on the combined agenda.

Second: Commissioner Carrillo Haynes

In Favor: Unanimous

Opposed: None

Motion Passed as Approval with a vote of 11-0

Individual Items

Item # 6 Appointment of one Planning Commission Member to the Planning Commission Technical Advisory Committee for a two-year term.

Motion

Staff asked for nomination:

Chair Gonzalez nominated Commissioner Peck.

Second: Commissioner Proffitt

In Favor: Unanimous

Opposed: None

After a roll call vote, Commissioner Peck was elected unanimously.

Item #7 Appoint at least three members and an alternate member to the Planning Commission Technical Advisory Committee Nominating Committee.

Motion

Staff asked for nominations for PCTAC:

Commissioner Proffitt nominated Commissioner Peck.

Second: Commissioner Jackson

In Favor: Unanimous

Opposed: None

After a roll call vote, Commissioner Peck was elected unanimously.

Staff asked for nominations for PCTAC:

Commissioner Carrillo Haynes nominated Madam Chair Gonzalez.

Second: Commissioner Peck

In Favor: Unanimous

Opposed: None

After a roll call vote, Madam Chair Gonzalez was elected unanimously.

Staff asked for nominations for PCTAC:

Commissioner Peck nominated Commissioner Christopher Garcia.

Second: Commissioner Proffitt

In Favor: Unanimous

Opposed: None

After a roll call vote, Commissioner Christopher Garcia was elected unanimously.

Staff asked for nominations for PCTAC Alternate:

Commissioner Siegel self-nominated.

Second: Commissioner Proffitt

In Favor: Unanimous

Opposed: None

After a roll call vote, Commissioner Siegel was elected unanimously.

Item #3 **ADDR-SNC-20-12700001:** A request by the City of San Antonio World Heritage Office for approval of a resolution to change multiple streets within the World Heritage area including changes to portions of Mission Road, Napier Avenue, Padre Drive, Mission Parkway, Acequia, Ashley Road and Villamain Road, located in Council Districts 3 and 5. Staff recommends Approval (Valerie Rodriguez, Senior Planner, 210-207-0533, Valerie.Huerta-Rodriguez@sanantonio.gov, Development Service Department)

Madam Chair Gonzalez left the meeting at 3:06 PM.

Motion

Vice Chair Peck asked for a motion for the item as presented.

Commissioner Proffitt motioned to approve item #3.

Second: Ex-Officio Bustamante

In Favor: Jackson, Carrillo Haynes, C. Garcia, Siegel, Dessouky, Bustamante, Oroian, Proffitt, Peck

Opposed: M. Garcia

Motion Passed as Approval with a vote of 9-1

Ex-Officio Oroian left the meeting at 3:08 PM.

Item #4 **TPV 21-035:** Request by Mr. Cody Morris for approval of a tree preservation variance request from Unified Development Code 35-523 (h), □significant trees shall be preserved at eighty (80) percent and heritage trees at one hundred (100) percent preservation within both the 100-year floodplains and environmentally sensitive areas □, generally located South of Pecan Ranch road and North of Anaqua Springs road, West of Toutant Beauregard Road. Staff recommends approval. (Mark Bird, (210) 207-0278, mark.bird@sanantonio.gov, Development Services Department).

Motion

Vice Chair Peck asked for a motion for the item as presented.

Commissioner Proffitt motioned to approve item #4.

Second: Commissioner C. Garcia

In Favor: Unanimous

Opposed: None

Motion Passed as Approval with a vote of 9-0

Approval of Minutes

Item #8 Consideration and Action on the Minutes from February 24, 2021.

Motion

Vice Chair Peck asked for a motion for approval of the minutes.

Commissioner C. Garcia motioned to approve minutes from February 24, 2021

Second: Commissioner Siegel

In Favor: Unanimous

Opposed: None

Motion Passed as Approval with a vote of 9-0

Adjournment

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 3:17 p.m.

APPROVED

Connie Gonzalez, Madam Chair

ATTEST:

Melissa Ramirez, Assistant Director