KC 4/01/21 Item No. 22

## ORDINANCE 2021-04-01-0215

#### **AUTHORIZING THE EXTENSION OF LINE-OF-DUTY INJURY LEAVE** FOR SAN ANTONIO FIRE DEPARTMENT FIRE CAPTAIN EDWARD GUERRA JR.

\* \* \* \* \* \* \* \* \* \* \*

WHEREAS, section 143.073 of the Texas Local Government Code provides that a firefighter injured in the line of duty is entitled to line-of-duty injury leave with full pay for a period commensurate with the injury and not to exceed one year; and

WHEREAS, section 143.073 also provides that a municipality's governing body may extend the line-ofduty injury leave beyond one year; and

WHEREAS, San Antonio Fire Department Fire Captain Edward Guerra Jr. was injured in the line of duty on January 11, 2013, and, as a result, required leave in excess of one year to address said injury; and

WHEREAS, Fire Captain Guerra is requesting an extension of line-of-duty injury leave beyond one year for the period January 16, 2014, to February 9, 2014; and

WHEREAS, approving the requested extension will restore 192 hours of accrued leave to Fire Captain Guerra; NOW THEREFORE:

#### BE IT ORDAINED BY THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF SAN ANTONIO:

SECTION 1. An extension beyond one year of San Antonio Fire Department Fire Captain Guerra's lineof-duty injury leave for the period January 16, 2014 to February 9, 2014 is hereby approved.

**SECTION 2.** This Ordinance is effective immediately upon the receipt of eight affirmative votes; otherwise, it is effective ten days after passage.

**PASSED AND APPROVED** this 1<sup>st</sup> day of April, 2021.

M A Ron Nirenberg

**ATTEST:** 

<u>Ina Flores, City Clerk</u>

**APPROVED AS TO FORM:** 

Andrew Segovia, City Attorney

# 8184-10-40-1S0S



### **City of San Antonio**

**City Council** 

April 01, 2021

Item: 22 File Number: 21-2070 Enactment Number: 2021-04-01-0215

Ordinance extending line-of-duty injury leave for San Antonio Fire Department Fire Captain Edward Guerra Jr. [Maria Villagomez, Deputy City Manager; Charles N. Hood, Fire Chief]

Councilmember Adriana Rocha Garcia made a motion to approve. Councilmember John Courage seconded the motion. The motion passed by the following vote:

Aye: 11 Nirenberg, Treviño, Andrews-Sullivan, Viagran, Rocha Garcia, Gonzales, Cabello Havrda, Sandoval, Pelaez, Courage and Perry