State of Texas County of Bexar City of San Antonio



FINAL

Meeting Minutes

City Council Special Meeting

Wednesday, June 24, 2015	11:30 AM	Municipal Plaza Building

The City Council convened in a Special City Council Meeting. City Clerk Leticia Vacek took the Roll Call with the following Councilmembers present:

- **PRESENT:** 10 Mayor Taylor, Treviño, Warrick, Viagran, Saldaña, Lopez, Medina, Nirenberg, Krier and Gallagher
- **ABSENT:** 1 Gonzales

Mrs. Vacek announced that Councilmember Gonzales had given birth to a baby boy Zachary the previous day and would not be in attendance.

2015-06-24-0629

1. An Ordinance canvassing the June 13, 2015 run-off election results for Mayor and City Council District 7. [Leticia M. Vacek, City Clerk]

City Clerk Leticia Vacek presented the official results of the June 13, 2015 Run-Off Election for Mayor and City Council District 7. She presented the total Votes Cast for each candidate in the Run-Off Election as follows:

FOR MEMBER OF COUNCIL, MAYOR:

Ivy R. Taylor50,662 votes (Includes 3 FPCA/Provisional Votes)Leticia Van De Putte47,331 votes (Includes 3 FPCA/Provisional Votes)

FOR MEMBER OF COUNCIL, PLACE NO. 7:

Mari Aguirre-Rodriguez5,668 votesCris Medina6,732 votes

Mrs. Vacek declared that as a result of the Run-Off Election, the following persons were elected for a two-year term of office commencing June 24, 2015:

Ivy R. Taylor, Member of Council, Mayor Cris Medina, Member of Council, Place No. 7

Mrs. Vacek reported that the total number of votes cast, including 6 provisional ballots, was 98,350 and the total number of registered voters for the City of San Antonio was 696,469. She stated that the voter turnout for the City of San Antonio Run-Off Election was 14.12%.

Mrs. Vacek compared the General (Main) Election Results noting that 86,067 votes were cast in the May 9, 2015 Election while 692,349 voters were registered for said Election, and that the voter turnout was 12.43%.

Councilmember Gallagher moved to adopt the proposed ordinance canvassing the Election Results of the June 13, 2015 Run-Off Election. Councilmember Viagran seconded the motion. The motion prevailed by the following vote:

- AYE: 10 Mayor Taylor, Treviño, Warrick, Viagran, Saldaña, Lopez, Medina, Nirenberg, Krier and Gallagher
- **ABSENT:** 1 Gonzales

OFFICIAL ADMINISTRATION OF STATEMENT OF ELECTED OFFICER AND OATH OF OFFICE

Mayor Taylor presented the Certificate of Election to Councilmember Cris Medina for the 2015-2017 Term. Mayor Pro Tem Warrick presented the Certificate of Election to Mayor Ivy R. Taylor for the 2015-2017 Term.

Mrs. Vacek administered the Statements for Elected Officers and Oaths of Office to newly elected Mayor Ivy R. Taylor and Councilmember Cris Medina.

DRAWING FOR MAYOR PRO TEM TERMS

Mrs. Vacek requested each Councilmember draw a term for the Mayor Pro Tem for Terms of the 2015-2017 City Council. The result of the drawings are as follows:

June 24, 2015 through September 2, 2015 - Roberto C. Treviño

September 3, 2015 through November 12, 2015 - Joe Krier

November 13, 2015 through January 22, 2016 – Ray Lopez

January 23, 2015 through April 2, 2016 - Rey Saldaña

April 3, 2016 through June 12, 2016 - Cris Medina

June 13, 2015 through August 22, 2016 – Shirley Gonzales

August 23, 2016 through November 1, 2016 – Alan E. Warrick, II

November 2, 2016 through January 11, 2017 – Ron Nirenberg

January 12, 2017 through March 23, 2017 – Mike Gallagher

March 24, 2017 through May 31, 2017 – Rebecca Viagran or until new MPT Terms are drawn

OATH OF OFFICE – MAYOR PRO TEM

Mrs. Vacek administered the Oath of Office to Councilmember Roberto C. Treviño, District 1, as Mayor Pro Tem with an effective date of June 24, 2015 through September 2, 2015.

ADJOURNMENT

There being no further discussion, Mayor Taylor adjourned the meeting at 11:47 am.

APPROVED

IVY R. TAYLOR MAYOR

ATTEST:

LETICIA M. VACEK, TRMC/CMC/MMC CITY CLERK