# GOVERNANCE COUNCIL COMMITTEE MEETING

# MINUTES

## AUGUST 01, 2018 at 11:30 AM MUNICIPAL PLAZA "B" ROOM

Committee Present:	Mayor Ron Nirenberg, Chair
	Councilmember Roberto Treviño, District 1
	Councilmember Rebecca Viagran, District 3
	Councilmember Rey Saldaña, District 4
MONTHUM DE DIVIDINAMENTO DE NES DE LA ZESTA	Councilmember Ana Sandoval, District 7
Staff Present:	Sheryl Sculley, City Manager; Andy Segovia, City
	Attorney; Leticia Vacek, City Clerk; Leticia Saenz, Deputy
	City Clerk; Rod Sanchez, Assistant City Manager; Michael
	Shannon, Development Services Director; Melissa Ramirez,
	Development Services Assistant Director; Camila Kunau &
	Joseph Harney, City Attorney's Office; Lina Rodriguez,
	Executive Assistant to the City Clerk; John Peterek,
	Assistant to the City Manager; Caitlin Krobot, City
	Manager's Office; Brandon Smith, Office of the City Clerk;
	Tim Salas, Rosana Galavis, Michael Sanchez, Alejo Pena
	Soto, & Maria Partida, District 4 Staff; Bianca Maldonado,
	Matteo Treviño, District 7 Staff; Stephanie Flores, District
	8 Staff; Rebecca Podowski, District 10 Staff
Others Present:	Cyra Treviño, Graham Landry, Jorge Colazo, Paul Klein,
	Kimberly Bragman, John Duncan, Frank Quijano, Roy
	Schauffele, Jesse Zuniga, Arlene Fisher, & Cory Boemer,
	Applicants for Alternates on the Zoning Board of
	Adjustment; Andres Peña, Kaufman & Killen; Emilie
	Christian, Brown & Ortiz P.C.; Domonique Mireles, Citizen

#### CALL TO ORDER

Mayor Nirenberg called the meeting to order.

1. Consideration of Applicants for Alternates on the Zoning Board of Adjustment (6 Slots) [Leticia M. Vacek, City Clerk]

City Clerk Leticia Vacek presented background information for the Consideration of Applicants for Alternates on the Zoning Board of Adjustment (ZBOA). She reported that there are six alternate slots available and are appointed by Council for a two-year term. Mrs. Vacek stated that the ZBOA is comprised of 11 District Appointees by the Mayor and each City Councilmember. She noted that members receive \$20.00 per meeting and that the Board hears variances and appeals related to the enforcement of Chapter 28, Signs and Billboards, and Chapter 35, the Unified Development Code (UDC). Mrs. Vacek stated that of those chosen for interview, Arlene Fisher, Frank Quijano, and Reynaldo Treviño submitted written statements for consideration.

Mayor Nirenberg stated that all interviewees would be called individually to be interviewed. He explained that each interviewee would be given three minutes for prepared remarks and his colleagues would ask questions.

He added that the Committee would recess into Executive Session to discuss the applicants and return with a recommendation for the six available alternate slots.

The following applicants were interviewed:

- 1. Paul Klein
- 2. Kimberly Bragman
- 3. Jorge Colazo
- 4. John Duncan
- 5. Graham Landry
- 6. Frank Quijano
- 7. Roy Schauffele
- 8. Cyra Treviño9. Jesse Zuniga
- 10. Arlene Fisher
- 11. Cory Boemer

### **EXECUTIVE SESSION**

Mayor Nirenberg recessed the meeting into Executive Session at 12:13 pm to discuss the following:

A. Deliberate the appointment, evaluation and duties of public officers and discuss legal issues pursuant to Texas Government Code Section 551.074 (personnel matters) and Texas Government Code Section 551.071 (consultation with attorney).

#### **RECONVENED**

Mayor Nirenberg reconvened the meeting at 12:42 pm and announced that no action was taken in Executive Session. At this time, he recognized Councilmember Sandoval.

Councilmember Sandoval moved to forward the following applicant recommendations to the full Council Agenda on August 16<sup>th</sup>: (1) Cyra Treviño; (2) Arlene Fisher; (3) Kimberly Bragman; (4) Jorge Colazo; (5) Roy Schauffele; and (6) Eugene Polendo. Councilmember Treviño seconded the motion. The motion carried unanimously.

#### Next Scheduled Meeting: August 15, 2018.

ia M. Vacek, TRMC/CMQ/MMC

Mayor Nirenberg reported that the next Governance City Council Committee Meeting would be held on August 15, 2018.

#### **ADJOURNMENT**

There being no further discussion, Mayor Nirenberg adjourned the meeting at 12:43 pm.

ATTEST:

Ron Nirenberg, Mayor