State of Texas County of Bexar City of San Antonio



Meeting Minutes City Council Special Meeting

Tuesday, June 15, 2021 2:00 PM Municipal Plaza Building

ROLL CALL

The City Council convened in a Special Meeting. City Clerk Tina J. Flores took the Roll Call noting a quorum with the following Councilmembers present:

PRESENT: 10 - Mayor Nirenberg, Andrews-Sullivan. Viagran, Rocha Garcia, Gonzales, Cabello Havrda, Sandoval, Pelaez, Courage, and Perry

ABSENT: 1 - Treviño

Once a quorum was established, the City Council considered the following:

1. Ordinance canvassing the results of the June 5, 2021 Run-Off Election held in Council Districts 1, 2, 3, 5, and 9 [Tina J. Flores, City Clerk]

City Clerk Tina Flores reported that the total votes cast in the Run-Off Election, including provisional and over-seas ballots, was 39,601. She stated that there were 379,045 registered voters for the City of San Antonio as of April 28, 2021 and the voter turnout was 10.45%.

Ms. Flores presented the total votes cast for each candidate. She declared that as a result of the General Election, the following individuals were elected for a two-year term of office commencing on June 15, 2021:

Mario Bravo, Member of Council, Place No. 1 Jalen McKee-Rodriguez, Member of Council, Place No. 2 Phyllis Viagran, Member of Council, Place No. 3 Teri Castillo, Member of Council, Place No. 5 John Courage, Member of Council, Place No. 9 Mayor Nirenberg called on the outgoing Councilmembers to speak.

Councilmember Andrews-Sullivan thanked her family, staff, colleagues, supporters and volunteers for their support. She stated that history was made in 2019 as being the first elected majority female City Council and expressed her pride to have been a part of making history.

Councilmember Viagran highlighted her accomplishments in Council District 3 to include World Heritage designation for the San Antonio missions, Texas A&M University-San Antonio campus, and the University of Incarnate Word Medical School on the southside. She stated that she was proud to be a part of the first elected female majority-led City Council. She thanked her family, colleagues, staff, neighborhood associations and board members for their support.

Councilmember Gonzales thanked her staff and family for their support during her eight years of service on City Council. She wished Councilmember Castillo success in her new position and offered her and the other newly elected officials her support in their endeavors.

Councilmember Rocha Garcia stated that she was honored to work with Councilmembers Andrews-Sullivan, Viagran and Gonzales and congratulated Councilmembers Bravo, McKee-Rodriguez and Castillo as they began their City Council terms of office.

Councilmember Cabello Havrda thanked her outgoing colleagues for their humility, steadfastness, fearlessness and tenacity in serving the City of San Antonio. She congratulated newly elected Councilmembers and expressed her eagerness to serve with them during the next term.

Councilmember Sandoval highlighted the contributions to the City of the outgoing Councilmembers to include gains in social issues/reform, small business, economic development and transportation advocacy. She added her congratulations to the incoming Councilmembers.

Councilmember Pelaez thanked the outgoing Councilmembers for their contributions to the City and that he valued the lessons learned from them. He noted that he was looking forward to serving with the incoming Councilmembers to better serve the constituents.

Councilmember Courage noted his pleasure of serving with the outgoing Councilmembers and stated that they had made difference to each of the Council Districts. He wished the incoming Councilmembers good luck and offered his help in any way he could.

Councilmember Perry expressed his appreciation for what he had learned from the outgoing Councilmembers and valued the discussions and decisions made on important issues. He stated that he looked forward to working with the incoming Councilmembers.

Mayor Nirenberg thanked the families of the departing Councilmembers on behalf of the City. He noted that over the past 8 years, he had come to respect and admire the outgoing Councilmembers who went about building relationships with their team and himself and was grateful for the work that was accomplished as a team. He stated that he was looking forward to working with the new members of City Council.

City Manager Erik Walsh thanked the departing Councilmembers for their support and leadership on behalf of himself and the entire City Team, especially during the past 18 months.

He congratulated and welcomed the incoming Councilmembers.

Councilmember Viagran moved to approve the Ordinance canvassing the results of the June 5, 2021 Run-Off Election. Councilmember Andrews-Sullivan seconded the motion. The motion prevailed by the following vote:

AYE: 10 - Mayor Nirenberg, Treviño, Andrews-Sullivan, Viagran, Rocha Garcia, Gonzales, Sandoval, Courage, and Perry

ABSENT: 1 - Treviño

Mayor Nirenberg presented plaques to the outgoing Councilmembers in attendance.

Mayor Nirenberg presented the Certificate of Election to Councilmembers Mario Bravo, Jalen McKee-Rodriguez, Phyllis Viagran, Teri Castillo and John Courage.

City Clerk Flores administered the Statements of Elected Officers and Oaths of Office to newly elected Councilmembers Mario Bravo, Jalen McKee-Rodriguez, Phyllis Viagran, Teri Castillo and John Courage.

City Clerk Flores took the Roll Call noting a quorum with the following Councilmembers present:

PRESENT: 11 - Mayor Nirenberg, Bravo, McKee-Rodriguez, Viagran, Rocha Garcia, Castillo, Cabello Havrda, Sandoval, Pelaez, Courage, and Perry

Councilmember Bravo thanked his family and his neighbors in Council District 1 for believing in him and the vision to treat the public as a partner and to listen and work together. He stated that he was looking forward to working with his colleagues collaboratively, to do the best for District 1 and for the City.

Councilmember McKee-Rodriguez thanked his family, team, and organizations which supported him and Council District 2. He stated that Councilmember Andrews-Sullivan represented eastside values and strived for better things for her community. He wished her the best in her future endeavors. He expressed his pride to be elected as the first openly gay, black man to a City Council.

Councilmember Viagran thanked the voters of Council District 3, her family and campaign team. She stated that she was ready to get started on the digital divide and getting broadband infrastructure, digital literacy and digital access to the Southside. She noted that she was eager to meet and work with her City Council colleagues.

Councilmember Castillo thanked the people of Council District 5, her family, her campaign team and community organizations for supporting her. She thanked Councilmember Treviño for being a strong example to her on how to serve one's community. She noted her excitement to get to work on the City Council.

City Clerk Flores administered the Oath of Office to Melissa Cabello Havrda, Council District 6, as Mayor Pro-Tem with an effective date of June 15, 2021 through August 24, 2021.

ADJOURNMENT

There being no further discussion, Mayor Nirenberg recessed the meeting at 12:15 pm.

APPROVED

RON NIRENBERG Mayor

Attest:

TINA J. FLORES
City Clerk