

# City of San Antonio

# Legislation Details (With Text)

**File #**: 17-6396

**Type:** Appointment - Without

Ordinance

In control: City Council A Session

On agenda: 12/7/2017

Title: Consideration of the following Board, Commission and Committee appointments for the remainder of

unexpired terms of office to expire May 31, 2019, to be effective immediately upon the receipt of eight affirmative votes, or, in the event eight affirmative votes are not received, ten days after appointment:

or for terms and effectiveness as otherwise indicated below: [Leticia M. Vacek, City Clerk]

A) Reappointing Henry Rodriguez (Mayoral) and Mary E. Rogers (District 7) to the Zoning Board of

Adjustment.

B) Reappointing David H. Walsworth (District 9) to the Parks and Recreation Board.

C) Reappointing James W. Mock III (District 9) to the Port Authority of San Antonio.

D) Appointing Erika Gonzalez-Reyes (Mayoral) to the Linear Creekway Parks Advisory Board.

E) Appointing Audrey M. Herrera (Mayoral) to the San Antonio Youth Commission.

F) Appointing Ramon A. Gonzales (District 7) to the City Commission on Veterans Affairs.

G) Appointing Diana Sanchez Lira (District 7) to the Affirmative Action Advisory Committee.

Sponsors:

Indexes:

Code sections:

Attachments: 1. ZBOA Appt Rodriguez Henry 2017.11.07, 2. ZBOA Appt Rogers Mary 2017.11.01, 3.

Parks\_2\_Appt\_Walsworth\_David\_2017.10.24, 4. PASA\_Appt\_Mock\_III\_James\_W\_2017.10.24, 5. LCPAB\_M\_Appt\_Gonzalez-Reyes\_Erika\_2017.11.09, 6. YC\_Appt\_Herrera\_Audrey\_2017.11.14, 7.

VA Appt Gonzales Ramon 2017.11.14, 8. AAAC Appt Lira Diana Sanchez 2017.11.14

DateVer.Action ByActionResult12/7/20171City Council A SessionapprovedPass

**DEPARTMENT:** Office of the City Clerk

**DEPARTMENT HEAD:** Leticia M. Vacek (OCC)

### **COUNCIL DISTRICTS IMPACTED:**

Mayoral, Council District 7, and Council District 9

**SUBJECT:** 

Board Appointments

# **SUMMARY:**

- A) Reappointing Henry Rodriguez (Mayoral) and Mary E. Rogers (District 7) to the Zoning Board of Adjustment for the remainder of unexpired terms of office to expire May 31, 2019.
- B) Reappointing David H. Walsworth (District 9) to the Parks and Recreation Board for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2019.
- C) Reappointing James W. Mock III (District 9) to the Port Authority of San Antonio for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2019.
- D) Appointing Erika Gonzalez-Reyes (Mayoral) to the Linear Creekway Parks Advisory Board for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2019.
- E) Appointing Audrey M. Herrera (Mayoral) to the San Antonio Youth Commission for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2019.
- F) Appointing Ramon A. Gonzales (District 7) to the City Commission on Veterans Affairs for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2019.
- G) Appointing Diana Sanchez Lira (District 7) to the Affirmative Action Advisory Committee for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2019.

#### **BACKGROUND INFORMATION:**

Applications for District Boards were submitted to the Office of the City Clerk who coordinated review of the applications with the pertinent City Departments and the City Attorney's Office. Qualified applications were forwarded to the respective City Council Offices for their review. A memorandum designating the Councilmember's appointee was submitted to the Office of the City Clerk for processing.

#### **ISSUE:**

Board appointments require full City Council approval.

## **ALTERNATIVES:**

The Office of the City Clerk will continue to advertise vacancies.

#### **FISCAL IMPACT:**

There is no fiscal impact.

# **RECOMMENDATION:**

In order to proceed with the direction of the City Council, the Office of the City Clerk recommends approval of the Board Appointments.