

City of San Antonio

Legislation Details (With Text)

File #: 18-3526

Type: Appointment - Without

Ordinance

In control: City Council A Session

On agenda: 5/31/2018

Title: Approving the following Board, Commission and Committee appointments for the remainder of

unexpired terms to expire May 31, 2019. Appointments are effective immediately if eight affirmative votes received, or ten days after appointment if passed with less than eight affirmative votes. [Leticia

M. Vacek, City Clerk]

A) Appointing Jeffrey Fetzer (District 9) to the Historic and Design Review Commission.

B) Appointing Malcolm T. Hartman, Jr. (District 1) to the Tax Increment Reinvestment Zone No. 31 -

Midtown.

C) Reappointing Mary Hoyt (District 5) to the Tax Increment Reinvestment Zone No. 12 - Plaza

Fortuna.

D) Reappointing Greg K. Hammer (District 7) to the Linear Creekway Parks Advisory Board.

E) Appointing Maritza N. Anguiano (District 5) to the San Antonio Youth Commission.

F) Appointing Susan Wright, Meghan A. Garza-Oswald and Ramiro I. Gonzales for terms of office to expire December 18, 2018 and appointing Zarathustra E. Haro, Maria T. Nelson, and reappointing Juan A. Garcia for the remainder of unexpired terms of office to expire December 18, 2019 to the Office of Urban Redevelopment San Antonio (OUR-SA) and the San Antonio Affordable Housing Inc.

Sponsors:

Indexes:

Code sections:

Attachments: 1. HDRC_Appt_Fetzer_Jeffrey_2018.04.25, 2. TIRZ_31_D1_Hartman_Malcolm_2018.03.15, 3.

TIRZ_12_Appt_Hoyt_Mary_2018.05.10, 4. LCPAB_Appt_Hammer_Greg_K_2018.04.14, 5.

YC Appt Anguiano Maritza 2018.05.03, 6. OurSA Appt Wright Susan 2018.05.10

DateVer.Action ByActionResult5/31/20181City Council A SessionapprovedPass

DEPARTMENT: Office of the City Clerk

DEPARTMENT HEAD: Leticia M. Vacek (OCC)

COUNCIL DISTRICTS IMPACTED: Mayoral, Council District 1, Council District 5, Council District 7,

and Council District 9

SUBJECT:

Board Appointments

File #: 18-3526, Version: 1

SUMMARY:

- A) Appointing Jeffrey Fetzer (District 9) to the Historic and Design Review Commission for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2019.
- B) Appointing Malcolm T. Hartman, Jr. (District 1) to the Tax Increment Reinvestment Zone No. 31 Midtown for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2019.
- C) Reappointing Mary Hoyt (District 5) to the Tax Increment Reinvestment Zone No. 12 Plaza Fortuna for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2019.
- D) Reappointing Greg K. Hammer (District 7) to the Linear Creekway Parks Advisory Board for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2019.
- E) Appointing Maritza N. Anguiano (District 5) to the San Antonio Youth Commission for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2019.
- F) Appointing Susan Wright, Meghan A. Garza-Oswald and Ramiro I. Gonzales for terms of office to expire December 18, 2018 and appointing Zarathustra E. Haro, Maria T. Nelson, and reappointing Juan A. Garcia for the remainder of unexpired terms of office to expire December 18, 2019 to the Office of Urban Redevelopment San Antonio (OUR-SA) and the San Antonio Affordable Housing Inc.

BACKGROUND INFORMATION:

Applications for District Boards were submitted to the Office of the City Clerk who coordinated review of the applications with the pertinent City Departments and the City Attorney's Office. Qualified applications were forwarded to the respective City Council Offices for their review. A memorandum designating the Councilmember's appointee was submitted to the Office of the City Clerk for processing.

ISSUE:

Board appointments require full City Council approval.

ALTERNATIVES:

The Office of the City Clerk will continue to advertise vacancies.

FISCAL IMPACT:

There is no fiscal impact.

RECOMMENDATION:

In order to proceed with the direction of the City Council, the Office of the City Clerk recommends approval of the Board Appointments.