

City of San Antonio

Legislation Details (With Text)

File #: 13-866

Type: Appointment - With Ordinance

In control: City Council A Session

On agenda: 11/7/2013

Title: Consideration of the following Board, Commission and Committee appointments for the remainder of

unexpired terms of office to expire May 31, 2015, to be effective immediately upon the receipt of eight affirmative votes, or, in the event eight affirmative votes are not received, ten days after appointment;

or for terms and effectiveness as otherwise indicated below: [Leticia M. Vacek, City Clerk]

A) Appointing Joe Carmack (District 2) to the Parks and Recreation Board.

B) Reappointing Ernest M. Gonzales (District 1) to the Arts and Cultural Committee.

- C) Appointing Shirley N. Ellis (District 2) to the Affirmative Action Advisory Committee.
- D) Appointing Cristina Bazaldua-Salazar (District 7) to the SA2020 Commission on Education.
- E) Reappointing Jacob Valenzuela (District 7) to the Historic and Design Review Commission (General Category).
- F) Appointing John Thomas (District 10) to the City Commission on Veteran Affairs.
- G) Appointing John Alvarez (District 10) to the SA2020 Commission on Strengthening Family Wellbeing.
- H) Appointing Gabrielle Alls (District 10) to the San Antonio Youth Commission.
- I) Reappointing Jean L. Brady (District 1) and Gloria M. Malone (District 2) to the San Antonio Public Library Board of Trustees.
- J) Appointing Sallie C. Scott (District 2) and Gloria Zamora (District 5) to the City/County Joint Commission on Elderly Affairs.
- K) Appointing Julie Ann Cornelius (District 2) to the Citizens' Environmental Advisory Committee.
- L) Appointing Keith A. Toney (District 2) and John M. Battiato (District 10) to the San Antonio Housing Trust.
- M) Reappointing Daniel D. Kossl (District 10) to the Capital Improvements Advisory Committee.
- N) Appointing Maria R. Cruz (District 5) to the Zoning Board of Adjustment.
- O) Reappointing Anne-Marie Grube (District 1) to the Small Business Advocacy Committee.
- P) Reappointing Marisol L. Perez (District 1) to the Mayor's Commission on the Status of Women.
- Q) Appointing William H. Shaw, III (District 2) to the Zoning Commission.
- R) Reappointing Melvin L. Braziel, Laura D. Dixon, Juan A. Garcia, Minnie M. Hill, Larry Joseph Keller, Mario M. Salas, and Kathleen Weir Vale to the Tax Increment Reinvestment Zone No. 11 Inner City TIRZ; and waiving the city code residency requirement for the appointment of Larry Joseph Keller.

File #: 13-866, Version: 1

Sponsors:

Indexes:

Code sections:

Attachments: 1. Joe Carmack, 2. Ernest Gonzales, 3. Shirley Ellis, 4. Cristina Bazaldua-Salazar, 5. Jacob

Valenzuela, 6. John Thomas, 7. John Alvarez, 8. Gabrielle Alls, 9. Jean L. Brady, 10. Gloria Malone, 11. Sallie C. Scott, 12. Gloria Zamora, 13. Julie Cornelius, 14. Keith Toney, 15. John Battatio, 16. Daniel Kossl, 17. Maria Cruz, 18. Anne Grube, 19. Marisol Perez, 20. William Shaw, III, 21. TIRZ 11,

22. Draft Ordinance for (R), 23. Ordinance 2013-11-07-0776

 Date
 Ver.
 Action By
 Action
 Result

 11/7/2013
 1
 City Council A Session

DEPARTMENT: Office of the City Clerk

DEPARTMENT HEAD: Leticia M. Vacek (OCC)

COUNCIL DISTRICTS IMPACTED:

Council District 1, Council District 2, Council District 5, Council District 7, and Council District 10

SUBJECT:

Board Appointments

SUMMARY:

- A) Appointing Joe Carmack (District 2) to the Parks and Recreation Board for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2015.
- B) Reappointing Ernest M. Gonzales (District 1) to the Arts and Cultural Committee for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2015.
- C) Appointing Shirley N. Ellis (District 2) to the Affirmative Action Advisory Committee for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2015.
- D) Appointing Cristina Bazaldua-Salazar (District 7) to the SA2020 Commission on Education for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2015.
- E) Reappointing Jacob Valenzuela (District 7) to the Historic and Design Review Commission (General Category) for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2015.
- F) Appointing John Thomas (District 10) to the City Commission on Veteran Affairs for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2015.
- G) Appointing John Alvarez (District 10) to the SA2020 Commission on Strengthening Family Well -being for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2015.
- H) Appointing Gabrielle Alls (District 10) to the San Antonio Youth Commission for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2015.
- I) Reappointing Jean L. Brady (District 1) and Gloria M. Malone (District 2) to the San Antonio Public

File #: 13-866, Version: 1

Library Board of Trustees for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire September 30, 2015.

- J) Appointing Sallie C. Scott (District 2) and Gloria Zamora (District 5) to the City/County Joint Commission on Elderly Affairs for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2015.
- K) Appointing Julie Ann Cornelius (District 2) to the Citizens' Environmental Advisory Committee for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2015.
- L) Appointing Keith A. Toney (District 2) and John M. Battiato (District 10) to the San Antonio Housing Trust for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2015.
- M) Reappointing Daniel D. Kossl (District 10) to the Capital Improvements Advisory Committee for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2015.
- N) Appointing Maria R. Cruz (District 5) to the Zoning Board of Adjustment for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2015.
- O) Reappointing Anne-Marie Grube (District 1) to the Small Business Advocacy Committee for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2015.
- P) Reappointing Marisol L. Perez (District 1) to the Mayor's Commission on the Status of Women for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2015.
- Q) Appointing William H. Shaw, III (District 2) to the Zoning Commission for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2015.
- R) Reappointing Melvin L. Braziel, Laura D. Dixon, Juan A. Garcia, Minnie M. Hill, Larry Joseph Keller, Mario M. Salas, and Kathleen Weir Vale to the Tax Increment Reinvestment Zone No. 11 Inner City TIRZ for the remainder of unexpired terms of office to expire May 31, 2015; and waiving the city code residency requirement for the appointment of Larry Joseph Keller.

BACKGROUND INFORMATION:

Applications for District Boards were submitted to the Office of the City Clerk who coordinated review of the applications with the pertinent City Departments and the City Attorney's Office. Qualified applications were forwarded to the respective City Council Offices for their review. A memorandum designating the Councilmember's appointee was submitted to the Office of the City Clerk for processing.

ISSUE:

Board appointments require full City Council approval.

ALTERNATIVES:

The Office of the City Clerk will continue to advertise vacancies.

FISCAL IMPACT:

There is no fiscal impact.

RECOMMENDATION:

File #	# : 1	3-866.	Version:	1
--------	--------------	--------	----------	---

In order to proceed with the direction of the City Council, the Office of the City Clerk recommends approval of the Board Appointments.