

# City of San Antonio

Legislation Details (With Text)

File #:	14-724				
Туре:	Appointment - With Ordinance				
			In control:	City Council A Session	
On agenda:	4/3/2	2014			
Title:	Appointment of Pamela E. Ray (City Council District 2), Richard Perez (City Council District 4), Lucy Hall (City Council District 6), Dr. Shari Albright (City Council District 8), and Dr. Linda G. Foster (City Council District 10) to the eleven member Board of Directors for the City of San Antonio's Early Childhood Education Municipal Development Corporation (Pre-K 4 SA) as recommended by the respective City Council District Council Members for a two year term from June 1, 2014 through May 31, 2016. [Peter Zanoni, Deputy City Manager; Kathy Bruck, CEO, Pre-K 4 SA]				
Sponsors:					
Indexes:	Board Appointment, Pre-K 4 SA				
Code sections:					
Attachments:	1. Board Bio V3-25-14, 2. Albright Nomination Form, 3. Draft Ordinance, 4. Hall Nomination Form, 5. Ordinance 2014-04-03-0200				
Date	Ver.	Action By	Actio	on	Result
4/3/2014	1	City Council A Session	Mot	ion to Approve	Pass
DEPARTMENT: Pre-K 4 SA					

# **DEPARTMENT HEAD:** Kathy Bruck, CEO

# COUNCIL DISTRICTS IMPACTED: 2, 4, 6, 8, 10

## **SUBJECT:**

Pre-K 4 SA Board of Directors Appointments

## SUMMARY:

City Council District Council Members and in accordance with the adopted Pre-K 4 SA Bylaws for a two year term from June 1, 2014 through May 31, 2016.

## **BACKGROUND INFORMATION:**

The Early Childhood Education Municipal Development Corporation (Pre-K 4 SA) Board of Directors is comprised of 11 Board Members. In accordance with the Pre-K 4 SA bylaws, the Board of Directors is appointed by the City Council. Each City Council member and the Mayor appoint one Director to the Board. The Mayor's Appointee serves as the Chairperson of the Board. District appointees do not have to reside in the

#### File #: 14-724, Version: 1

City Council District for which they are serving.

Board members serve two-year staggered terms. Appointees of even-numbered City Council Districts serve an initial term of only one year beginning in June 1, 2013 and ending on May 31, 2014. Successors will serve a two-year term beginning June 1, 2014 and ending May 31, 2016. The Chairperson and odd-numbered City Council Districts appointments serve an initial two-year term that will end on May 31, 2015.

Initial appointees, their respective City Council Districts, and expiration dates of terms follow:

District 1 - Dr. Richard Middleton May 31, 2015

District 2 - Pamela E. Ray May 31, 2014

District 3 - Josue "Joe" Robles, Jr. May 31, 2015

District 4 - Richard Perez May 31, 2014

District 5 - Gloria A. Ramirez May 31, 2015

District 6 - David L. Force May 31, 2014

District 7 - Dr. John M. Folks May 31, 2015

District 8 - Bob Bevard May 31, 2014

District 9 - Comelia A. Black May 31, 2015

District 10 - Dr. Linda G. Foster May 31, 2014

Mayor - Elaine Mendoza May 31, 2015

## **ISSUE:**

The Council Members for City Council Districts 2, 4, 6, 8 and 10 have each selected appointees to serve their respective Districts on the Pre-K 4 SA Board of Directors. The new term for the appointees of Districts 2, 4, 6, 8, and 10 will begin on June 1, 2014 and last through May 31, 2016. The Governance Committee during the March 19, 2014 meeting recommends that the City Council consider approving the appointment of the following individuals during the March 19, 2014 meeting:

District 2 - Pamela E. Ray

District 4 - Richard Perez

District 6 - Lucy Hall

District 8 - Dr. Shari Albright

District 10 - Dr. Linda G. Foster

A summary of each of these individual's qualifications is as follows:

## District 2 - Pamela E. Ray

- Tenured Assistant Professor/Program Director, Early Childhood and Family Studies at St. Philip's College
- Doctoral Student, Higher Education, University of the Incarnate Word
- Professional affiliations include: National Association for the Education of Young Children (NAEYC), National Black Child Development Institute (NBCDI), Southern Early Childhood Association (SECA)

## **District 4 - Richard Perez**

- CEO of The Greater San Antonio Chamber of Commerce
- Master's Degree in Public Administration from the University of Kansas
- Formerly served as: City Council member for District 4

#### District 6 - Lucy Hall

- Over thirty years of educational experience
- Served as executive director of Edgewood ISD elementary division
- Master's Degree in Education from Our Lady of the Lake University
- Professional affiliations include: Alamo Area Alliance of Black School Educators and Coalition of 100 Black Women

#### District 8 - Dr. Shari Albright

- Distinguished Professor of Practice and Chair of the Department of Education at Trinity University
- Doctor of Education in Educational Leadership from Columbia University
- Formerly served as: Educational consultant for schools in Mexico, Central America, Colombia and the Caribbean with the U.S. Department of State Overseas Schools; Consultant for the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching with the National Basic School Network; Director/Principal at International School of the Americas; Director of Special Projects at North East ISD; CEO of Asia Society International Studies Schools Network

#### District 10 - Dr. Linda Foster

- Principal of Alamo Heights High School since 1991
- Master's Degree in Curriculum and Instruction from UTSA; M.E. in Mid-Management with Administration from Trinity University; Doctorate in Education Administration from Texas A&M University

# **ALTERNATIVES:**

None

## FISCAL IMPACT:

There is no fiscal impact with this item.

## **RECOMMENDATION:**

The Governance Committee recommends that the City Council approve the recommended appointees for City Council Districts 2, 4, 6, 8, and 10 for the Pre-K 4 SA Board of Directors as follows:

## District 2 - Pamela E. Ray

- Tenured Assistant Professor/Program Director, Early Childhood and Family Studies at St. Philip's College
- Doctoral Student, Higher Education, University of the Incarnate Word
- Professional affiliations include: National Association for the Education of Young Children (NAEYC), National Black Child Development Institute (NBCDI), Southern Early Childhood Association (SECA)

#### **District 4 - Richard Perez**

- CEO of The Greater San Antonio Chamber of Commerce
- Master's Degree in Public Administration from the University of Kansas
- Formerly served as: City Council member for District 4

#### **District 6 - Lucy Hall**

- Over thirty years of educational experience
- Served as executive director of Edgewood ISD elementary division
- Master's Degree in Education from Our Lady of the Lake University
- Professional affiliations include: Alamo Area Alliance of Black School Educators and Coalition of 100 Black Women

#### District 8 - Dr. Shari Albright

- Distinguished Professor of Practice and Chair of the Department of Education at Trinity University
- Doctor of Education in Educational Leadership from Columbia University
- Formerly served as: Educational consultant for schools in Mexico, Central America, Colombia and the Caribbean with the U.S. Department of State Overseas Schools; Consultant for the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching with the National Basic School Network; Director/Principal at International School of the Americas; Director of Special Projects at North East ISD; CEO of Asia Society International Studies Schools Network

#### District 10 - Dr. Linda Foster

• Principal of Alamo Heights High School since 1991

## File #: 14-724, Version: 1

• Master's Degree in Curriculum and Instruction from UTSA; M.E. in Mid-Management with Administration from Trinity University; Doctorate in Education Administration from Texas A&M University