

# City of San Antonio

# Legislation Details (With Text)

**File #:** 14-918

**Type:** Appointment - Without

Ordinance

In control: City Council A Session

On agenda: 5/1/2014

**Title:** Consideration of the following Board, Commission and Committee appointments for the remainder of unexpired terms of office to expire May 31, 2015, to be effective immediately upon the receipt of eight

affirmative votes, or, in the event eight affirmative votes are not received, ten days after appointment;

or for terms and effectiveness as otherwise indicated below: [Leticia M. Vacek, City Clerk]

A) Appointing Alvaro Briseno (District 8) to the Transportation Advisory Board.

B) Appointing Magdalena B. Alvarado (District 5) to the Affirmative Action Advisory Committee.

C) Appointing Jovanna Lopez (District 5) to the SA2020 Commission on Strengthening Family Well-

being.

D) Appointing Frank G. Fonseca (District 7) to the Parks and Recreation Board.

E) Appointing Teresa S. Cleghorn (District 7) to the Disability Access Advisory Committee.

F) Appointing Kenneth Cleghorn (District 7) to the City Commission on Veterans Affairs.

G) Reappointing C. Sue Calberg (District 2) to the Linear Creekway Parks Advisory Board.

Sponsors:

Indexes:

Code sections:

Attachments: 1. Appointment Memo - Alvaro Briseno, 2. Appointment Memo - Magalena B. Alvarado, 3.

Appointment Memo - Jovanna Lopez, 4. Appointment Memo - Frank Fonseca, 5. Appointment Memo - Teresa Cleghorn, 6. Appointment Memo - Kenneth Cleghorn, 7. Appointment Memo - C. Sue Calberg,

8. Appointment Memo - SAHTFC, 9. Appointment Memo - SAHTPFC

DateVer.Action ByActionResult5/1/20141City Council A SessionapprovedPass

**DEPARTMENT:** Office of the City Clerk

**DEPARTMENT HEAD:** Leticia M. Vacek (OCC)

**COUNCIL DISTRICTS IMPACTED:** Mayoral, Council District 2, Council District 5, Council District 7,

and Council District 8

**SUBJECT:** 

**Board Appointments** 

## **SUMMARY:**

#### File #: 14-918, Version: 1

- A) Appointing Adam Goodman (District 2) and Alvaro Briseno (District 8) to the Transportation Advisory Board for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2015.
- B) Appointing Magdalena B. Alvarado (District 5) to the Affirmative Action Advisory Committee for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2015.
- C) Appointing Jovanna Lopez (District 5) to the SA2020 Commission on Strengthening Family Well-being for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2015.
- D) Appointing Frank G. Fonseca (District 7) to the Parks and Recreation Board for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2015.
- E) Appointing Teresa S. Cleghorn (District 7) to the Disability Access Advisory Committee for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2015.
- F) Appointing Kenneth Cleghorn (District 7) to the City Commission on Veterans Affairs for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2015.
- G) Reappointing C. Sue Calberg (District 2) to the Linear Creekway Parks Advisory Board for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2015.

# **BACKGROUND INFORMATION:**

Applications for District Boards were submitted to the Office of the City Clerk who coordinated review of the applications with the pertinent City Departments and the City Attorney's Office. Qualified applications were forwarded to the respective City Council Offices for their review. A memorandum designating the Councilmember's appointee was submitted to the Office of the City Clerk for processing.

### **ISSUE:**

Board appointments require full City Council approval.

#### **ALTERNATIVES:**

Office of the City Clerk will continue to advertise vacancies.

# **FISCAL IMPACT:**

There is no fiscal impact.

#### **RECOMMENDATION:**

In order to proceed with the direction of the City Council, the Office of the City Clerk recommends approval of the Board Appointments.