

City of San Antonio

Legislation Details (With Text)

File #: 14-1375

Type: Appointment - Without

Ordinance

In control: City Council A Session

On agenda: 6/19/2014

Title: Consideration of the following Board, Commission and Committee appointments for the remainder of

unexpired terms of office to expire May 31, 2015, to be effective immediately upon the receipt of eight affirmative votes, or, in the event eight affirmative votes are not received, ten days after appointment;

or for terms and effectiveness as otherwise indicated below: [Leticia M. Vacek, City Clerk]

A) Reappointing Donald J. Malik (District 10) to the Disability Access Advisory Committee.

B) Reappointing Linda M. Jackson (District 6) to the Ethics Review Board.

C) Appointing Danielle Cunningham (District 10) and reappointing Ryan M. Pflipsen (District 8) to the

Affirmative Action Advisory Committee.

D) Reappointing John R. Laffoon (District 8) to the Historic and Design Review Commission.

E) Appointing Paula J. McGee (District 9) to the Zoning Commission.

F) Appointing Paul Tang to the Convention and Visitors Commission, San Antonio Hotel and Lodging

Association Category.

G) Appointing Robert L. Hendricks to the Airport Advisory Commission Community Category.

Sponsors:

Indexes:

Code sections:

Attachments: 1. Appointment Memo - Donald Malik, 2. Appointment Memo - Linda Jackson, 3. Appointment Memo -

Danielle Cunningham, 4. Appointment Memo - Ryan Pflipsen, 5. Appointment Memo - John Laffoon,

6. Appointment Memo - Paula McGee, 7. ECDC -Memo AAC CVC 2014.06.03.pdf

DateVer.Action ByActionResult6/19/20141City Council A SessionapprovedPass

DEPARTMENT: Office of the City Clerk

DEPARTMENT HEAD: Leticia M. Vacek (OCC)

COUNCIL DISTRICTS IMPACTED:

City Wide, Council District 6, Council District 8, Council District 9, and Council District 10

SUBJECT:

Board Appointments

SUMMARY:

- A) Reappointing Donald J. Malik (District 10) to the Disability Access Advisory Committee for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2015.
- B) Reappointing Linda M. Jackson (District 6) to the Ethics Review Board for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire April 25, 2016.
- C) Appointing Danielle Cunningham (District 10) and reappointing Ryan M. Pflipsen (District 8) to the Affirmative Action Advisory Committee for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2015.
- D) Reappointing John R. Laffoon (District 8) to the Historic and Design Review Commission for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2015.
- E) Appointing Paula J. McGee (District 9) to the Zoning Commission for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2015.
- F) Appointing Paul Tang to the Convention and Visitors Commission, San Antonio Hotel and Lodging Association Category, for the remainder of the unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2015.
- G) Appointing Robert L. Hendricks to the Airport Advisory Commission, Community Category, for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire March 18, 2015.

BACKGROUND INFORMATION:

Applications for District Boards were submitted to the Office of the City Clerk who coordinated review of the applications with the pertinent City Departments and the City Attorney's Office. Qualified applications were forwarded to the respective City Council Offices for their review. A memorandum designating the Councilmember's appointee was submitted to the Office of the City Clerk for processing.

The Economic and Community Development Council Committee met on June 3, 2014 reviewed and recommended applicants for appointment to the Convention and Visitors Commission and the Airport Advisory Commission.

ISSUE:

Board appointments require full City Council approval.

ALTERNATIVES:

The Office of the City Clerk will continue to advertise vacancies.

FISCAL IMPACT:

There is no fiscal impact.

RECOMMENDATION:

In order to proceed with the direction of the City Council, the Office of the City Clerk recommends approval of the Board Appointments.