

City of San Antonio

Legislation Details (With Text)

File #: 15-2296

Type: Appointment - With Ordinance

In control: City Council A Session

On agenda: 4/16/2015

Title: An Ordinance appointing members to the Pre-K 4 SA Board of Directors (City of San Antonio's Early

Childhood Education Municipal Development Corporation) for the Mayor and odd number City Council District appointments for a two year term from June 1, 2015 through May 31, 2017. [Peter Zanoni,

Deputy City Manager; Kathy Bruck, CEO, Pre-K 4 SA]

Sponsors:

Indexes:

Code sections:

Attachments: 1. Draft Ordinance, 2. Ordinance 2015-04-16-0314

Date	Ver.	Action By	Action	Result
4/16/2015	1	City Council A Session	adopted	Pass

DEPARTMENT: Pre-K 4 SA

DEPARTMENT HEAD: Kathy Bruck, CEO

COUNCIL DISTRICTS IMPACTED: City Wide

SUBJECT:

Pre-K 4 SA Board of Directors Appointments

SUMMARY:

This item allows City Council to approve recommendations for appointments to the Pre-K 4 SA Board of Directors for the Mayor's appointment and four of the five odd-numbered City Council District appointed members whose terms end on May 31, 2015.

BACKGROUND INFORMATION:

The Early Childhood Education Municipal Development Corporation (Pre-K 4 SA) Board of Directors is comprised of 11 Board Members. In accordance with the Pre-K 4 SA bylaws, the Board of Directors is appointed by the City Council. Each City Council member and the Mayor appoint one Director to the Board. The Mayor's Appointee serves as the Chairperson of the Board. District appointees do not have to reside in the

File #: 15-2296, Version: 1

City Council District for which they are serving.

Board Members serve two-year staggered terms. Appointees of odd-numbered City Council Districts and the Chairperson serve an initial term of two years beginning in 2013 and ending on May 31, 2015. Successors will serve a two-year term beginning June 1, 2015 and ending May 31, 2017. The even-numbered City Council Districts appointments also serve a two-year term that will end on May 31, 2016.

Pre-K 4 SA Board of Directors Appointees, their respective City Council Districts, and expiration dates of terms follow:

Mayor - Elaine Mendoza May 31, 2015

District 1 - Dr. Richard Middleton May 31, 2015

District 2 - Pamela E. Ray May 31, 2016

District 3 - General Josue "Joe" Robles, Jr. May 31, 2015

District 4 - Richard Perez May 31, 2016

District 5 - Gloria A. Ramirez May 31, 2015

District 6 - Lucy Hall May 31, 2016

District 7 - John M. Folks May 31, 2015

District 8 - Dr. Shari Albright May 31, 2016

District 9 - Comelia A. Black May 31, 2015

District 10 - Dr. Linda G. Foster May 31, 2016

ISSUE:

This item allows the Governance Committee to forward recommendations to the full City Council for appointments to the Pre-K 4 SA Board of Directors for the Mayor's appointment and the five odd-numbered

File #: 15-2296, Version: 1

City Council District appointed members whose terms end on May 31, 2015.

The Mayor and City Council members for City Council Districts 1, 3, 5, and 7 have each recommended reappointing the existing Pre-K 4 SA Board of Directors Members to serve their respective Districts. The incumbent Pre-K 4 SA Board Members have expressed a willingness to serve an additional term. Staff is supportive of the City Council Members' decision to recommend the reappointment of the existing Board Members for the Mayor's appointee and the appointees for City Council Districts 1, 3, 5, and 7. District 9 will recommend appointing a representative at a later time.

The new term for the Mayor's appointee and appointees of Districts 1, 3, 5, 7, and 9 will begin on June 1, 2015 and last through May 31, 2017.

The Governance Committee during the March 25, 2015 meeting recommends that the City Council consider approving the appointment of the following individuals during the April 16, 2015 meeting. A summary of each of these individual's qualifications is as follows:

Mayor - Elaine Mendoza

- Founder, President and CEO of Conceptual MindWorks, Inc.
- Appointed to the Board of Regents of the Texas A&M University System in 2011
- Member of P16Plus Council of Greater Bexar County and Mayor Castro's Brainpower Committee

District 1 - Dr. Richard Middleton

- Former Superintendent of North East Independent School District
- Vice President of the Southwestern Region Office for the College Board
- Two terms on the Board of Directors for the Carnegie Foundation

District 3 - General Josue "Joe" Robles, Jr.

- Retired President and Chief Executive Officer of USAA for 8 years
- Serves on Board of Directors for CHRISTUS Santa Rosa Children's Hospital Foundation and P16 Plus Council of Greater Bexar County Foundation
- Served as Co-Chair to Mayor Castro's Brainpower Initiative Taskforce

District 5 - Gloria A. Ramirez

- Over 28 years experience in early childhood education
- Master's degree in Education with a focus in Early Childhood, Muticultural Education and Bilingual Education
- Selected as the Edgewood Independent School District Teacher of the Year and one of Trinity University's Distinguished Educators of San Antonio

District 7 - John M. Folks

- Former Superintendent of Northside Independent School District
- Served as Superintendent of the Midwest City-Del City Public Schools in Oklahoma City and Dean of the School of Education at Southwestern Oklahoma State University
- Member of the P16Plus Council of Greater Bexar County and Generation Texas

ALTERNATIVES:

City staff worked with the Mayor and each of the City Council Members to provide them alternative Board

File #: 15-2296, Version: 1

appointee options. The recommendations herein are consistent with the City Council Districts' input.

FISCAL IMPACT:

There is no fiscal impact associated with this briefing.

RECOMMENDATION:

The Governance Committee recommends that the City Council approve the recommended appointees for the Mayor's appointee, and City Council Districts 1, 3, 5, and 7 for the Pre-K 4 SA Board of Directors.