

# City of San Antonio

# Legislation Details (With Text)

File #: 15-3588

**Type:** Appointment - Without

Ordinance

In control: City Council A Session

On agenda: 6/18/2015

Title: Consideration of the following Board, Commission and Committee appointments for the remainder of

unexpired terms of office to expire May 31, 2017, to be effective immediately upon the receipt of eight affirmative votes, or, in the event eight affirmative votes are not received, ten days after appointment:

or for terms and effectiveness as otherwise indicated below: [Leticia M. Vacek, City Clerk]

A) Reappointing Juan F. Solis, III (District 5) and Glenn W. MacTaggart (District 10) to the Port

Authority of San Antonio.

B) Reappointing Francine S. Romero (District 8) to the Zoning Commission.

C) Appointing Tyrell E. Darden (District 2) to the San Antonio Youth Commission.

D) Reappointing James Devno (District 2) to the City Commission on Veterans Affairs.

E) Reappointing Adam Goodman (District 2) to the Transportation Advisory Board.

Sponsors:

Indexes:

**Code sections:** 

**Attachments:** 1. Juan Solis Appointment Memo, 2. Glenn MacTaggart Appointment Memo, 3. Francine Romero

Appointment Memo, 4. Tyrell E. Darden Appointment Memo, 5. James Devno Appointment Memo, 6.

Adam Goodman Appointment Memo

Date	Ver.	Action By	Action	Result
6/18/2015	1	City Council A Session	approved	Pass

**DEPARTMENT:** Office of the City Clerk

**DEPARTMENT HEAD:** Leticia M. Vacek (OCC)

COUNCIL DISTRICTS IMPACTED: Council District 2, Council District 5, Council District 8, and Council

District 10

**SUBJECT:** 

**Board Appointments** 

#### **SUMMARY:**

A) Reappointing Juan F. Solis, III (District 5) and Glenn W. MacTaggart (District 10) to the Port Authority of San Antonio for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2017.

### File #: 15-3588, Version: 1

- B) Reappointing Francine S. Romero (District 8) to the Zoning Commission for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2017.
- C) Appointing Tyrell E. Darden (District 2) to the San Antonio Youth Commission for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2017.
- D) Reappointing James Devno (District 2) to the City Commission on Veterans Affairs for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2017.
- E) Reappointing Adam Goodman (District 2) to the Transportation Advisory Board for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2017.

#### **BACKGROUND INFORMATION:**

Applications for District Boards were submitted to the Office of the City Clerk who coordinated review of the applications with the pertinent City Departments and the City Attorney's Office. Qualified applications were forwarded to the respective City Council Offices for their review. A memorandum designating the Councilmember's appointee was submitted to the Office of the City Clerk for processing.

#### **ISSUE:**

Board appointments require full City Council approval.

# **ALTERNATIVES:**

The Office of the City Clerk will continue to advertise vacancies.

### **FISCAL IMPACT:**

There is no fiscal impact.

## **RECOMMENDATION:**

In order to proceed with the direction of the City Council, the Office of the City Clerk recommends approval of the Board Appointments.