

City of San Antonio

Legislation Details (With Text)

File #: 15-4361

Type: Appointment - Without

Ordinance

In control: City Council A Session

On agenda: 8/13/2015

Title: Consideration of the following Board, Commission and Committee appointments for the remainder of

unexpired terms of office to expire May 31, 2017, to be effective immediately upon the receipt of eight affirmative votes, or, in the event eight affirmative votes are not received, ten days after appointment:

or for terms and effectiveness as otherwise indicated below: [Leticia M. Vacek, City Clerk]

A) Reappointing Kamala Platt (District 5) and Thursten D. Simonsen (District 10) to the Citizens'

Environmental Advisory Committee.

B) Reappointing John F. Kent (District 9) and Sherri Dugas (District 10) to the Linear Creekway Parks

Advisory Board.

C) Appointing Ileana Gonzalez (District 8) and reappointing Sam D. Millsap, Jr. (District 9) to the

Ethics Review Board.

D) Reappointing Wayne S. Alexander (District 9) to the Port Authority of San Antonio.

E) Reappointing Jesus Rodriguez (District 5) and Martin Gomez, Jr. (District 10) to the Small Business

Advisory Committee.

F) Reappointing Jack Judson (District 10) to the Historic and Design Review Commission.

G) Reappointing Maryann Jarrell (District 10) to the SA2020 Commission on Education.

H) Reappointing Daniel D. Kossl (District 10) to the Capital Improvements Advisory Committee.

I) Reappointing Charlotte D. Broussard (District 2) and Donald J. Malik (District 10) to the Disability

Access Advisory Committee.

J) Appointing Patricia Gibbons (District 9) to the San Antonio Housing Trust.

Sponsors:

Indexes:

Code sections:

Attachments: 1. Kamala Plaa Appointment Memo, 2. Thursten Simonsen, 3. John Kent Appointment Memo, 4.

Sherri Dugas Appointment Memo, 5. Ileana Gonzalez Appointment Memo, 6. Sam Millsap Appointment Memo, 7. Wayne Alexander Appointment Memo, 8. Jesus Rodriguez Appointment Memo, 9. Martin Gomez Appointment Memo, 10. Jack Judson Appointment Memo, 11. Maryann Jarrell Appointment Memo, 12. Dan Kossl Appointment Memo, 13. Donald Malik Appointment Memo,

14. SAHT_Appt_Gibbons_Patricia_2015.06.18, 15. Charlotte Broussard Appointment Memo

DateVer.Action ByActionResult8/13/20151City Council A SessionapprovedPass

DEPARTMENT: Office of the City Clerk

File #: 15-4361, Version: 1

DEPARTMENT HEAD: Leticia M. Vacek (OCC)

COUNCIL DISTRICTS IMPACTED:

Council District 2, Council District 5, Council District 8, Council District 9, and Council District 10

SUBJECT:

Board Appointments

SUMMARY:

- A) Reappointing Kamala Platt (District 5) and Thursten D. Simonsen (District 10) to the Citizens' Environmental Advisory Committee for the remainder of unexpired terms of office to expire May 31, 2017.
- B) Reappointing John F. Kent (District 9) and Sherri Dugas (District 10) to the Linear Creekway Parks Advisory Board for the remainder of unexpired terms of office to expire May 31, 2017.
- C) Appointing Ileana Gonzalez (District 8) and reappointing Sam D. Millsap, Jr. (District 9) to the Ethics Review Board for the remainder of unexpired terms of office to expire May 31, 2017.
- D) Reappointing Wayne S. Alexander (District 9) to the Port Authority of San Antonio for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2017.
- E) Reappointing Jesus Rodriguez (District 5) and Martin Gomez, Jr. (District 10) to the Small Business Advisory Committee for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2017.
- F) Reappointing Jack Judson (District 10) to the Historic and Design Review Commission for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2017.
- G) Reappointing Maryann Jarrell (District 10) to the SA2020 Commission on Education for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2017.
- H) Reappointing Daniel D. Kossl (District 10) to the Capital Improvements Advisory Committee for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2017.
- I) Reappointing Charlotte D. Broussard (District 2) and Donald J. Malik (District 10) to the Disability Access Advisory Committee for the remainder of unexpired terms of office to expire May 31, 2017.
- J) Appointing Patricia Gibbons (District 9) to the San Antonio Housing Trust for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2017.

BACKGROUND INFORMATION:

Applications for District Boards were submitted to the Office of the City Clerk who coordinated review of the applications with the pertinent City Departments and the City Attorney's Office. Qualified applications were forwarded to the respective City Council Offices for their review. A memorandum designating the Councilmember's appointee was submitted to the Office of the City Clerk for processing.

File #: 15-4361, Version: 1

ISSUE:

Board appointments require full City Council approval.

ALTERNATIVES:

The Office of the City Clerk will continue to advertise vacancies.

FISCAL IMPACT:

There is no fiscal impact.

RECOMMENDATION:

In order to proceed with the direction of the City Council, the Office of the City Clerk recommends approval of the Board Appointments.