

Title:

City of San Antonio

Legislation Details (With Text)

File #: 15-4396

Type: Appointment - Without

Ordinance

In control: City Council A Session

8/20/2015 On agenda:

> Consideration of the following Board, Commission and Committee appointments for the remainder of unexpired terms of office to expire May 31, 2017, to be effective immediately upon the receipt of eight affirmative votes, or, in the event eight affirmative votes are not received, ten days after appointment; or for terms and effectiveness as otherwise indicated below: [Leticia M. Vacek, City Clerk]

- A) Appointing Bill H. Bailey (District 9) to the Citizens' Environmental Advisory Committee.
- B) Reappointing Manuel Villa, Jr. (District 6) and Tamara A. Tapman (District 9) to the Brooks Development Authority.
- C) Appointing Veronica L. Vasquez (District 2) to the Affirmative Action Advisory Committee.
- D) Reappointing Christine D. Alderete (District 7) to the Port Authority of San Antonio.
- E) Reappointing Cosima T. Colvin (District 1) to the Linear Creekway Parks Advisory Board.
- F) Reappointing Frank G. Fonseca (District 7) to the Parks & Recreation Board.
- G) Reappointing John G. Rogers (District 1) and Gabriel L. Lopez (District 8) to the San Antonio Housing Trust.
- H) Reappointing Alan C. Neff (District 2), Mary E. Rogers (District 7), and John E. Kuderer (District 9) to the Zoning Board of Adjustment.
- Appointing Larry V. Parsons (District 8) to the City Commission on Veterans Affairs.
- J) Appointing Councilmember Joe Krier (Mayoral); and reappointing Councilmember Ray Lopez (Mayoral) and Art A. Hall (Mayoral) to the Fire and Police Pension Fund.
- K) Appointing Councilmember Rebecca J. Viagran (Mayoral) and Councilmember Ron Nirenberg (Mayoral); and reappointing Art A. Hall (Mayoral) to the Fire and Police Pre-Funded Healthcare Trust Fund.
- L) Appointing Juspreet Kaur (District 8) to the San Antonio Public Library Board for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire September 30, 2016; and reappointing Jean L. Brady (District 1) for a term effective October 1, 2015 to expire September 30, 2017.

Sponsors:

Indexes:

Code sections:

Attachments:

1. Bill Bailey Appointment Memo, 2. Manuel Villa Appointment Memo, 3. Tamara Tapman Appointment Memo, 4. Veronica Vasquez Appointment Memo, 5. Christine Alderete Appointment Memo, 6. Cosima Colvin Appointment Memo, 7. Frank Fonseca Appointment Memo, 8. John Rogers Appointment Memo, 9. Gabriel Lopez Appointment Memo, 10. Larry Parsons Appointment Memo, 11. Jean Brady Appointment Memo, 12. Juspreet Kaur Appointment Memo, 13. Alan Neff Appointment Memo, 14.

File #: 15-4396, Version: 1

Mary Rogers Appointment Memo, 15. John Kuderer Appointment Memo

Date	Ver.	Action By	Action	Result
8/20/2015	1	City Council A Session	approved	Pass

DEPARTMENT: Office of the City Clerk

DEPARTMENT HEAD: Leticia M. Vacek (OCC)

COUNCIL DISTRICTS IMPACTED:

Council District 1, Council District 2, Council District 6, Council District 7, Council District 8, and Council District 9

SUBJECT:

Board Appointments

SUMMARY:

- A) Appointing Bill H. Bailey (District 9) to the Citizens' Environmental Advisory Committee for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2015.
- B) Reappointing Manuel Villa, Jr. (District 6) and Tamara A. Tapman (District 9) to the Brooks Development Authority for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2015.
- C) Appointing Veronica L. Vasquez (District 2) to the Affirmative Action Advisory Committee for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2015.
- D) Reappointing Christine D. Alderete (District 7) to the Port Authority of San Antonio for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2015.
- E) Reappointing Cosima T. Colvin (District 1) to the Linear Creekway Parks Advisory Board for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2015.
- F) Reappointing Frank G. Fonseca (District 7) to the Parks & Recreation Board for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2015.
- G) Reappointing John G. Rogers (District 1) and Gabriel L. Lopez (District 8) to the San Antonio Housing Trust for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2015.
- H) Reappointing Alan C. Neff (District 2), Mary E. Rogers (District 7), and John E. Kuderer (District 9) to the Zoning Board of Adjustment for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2015.
- I) Appointing Larry V. Parsons (District 8) to the City Commission on Veterans Affairs for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2015.
- J) Appointing Councilmember Joe Krier (Mayoral); and reappointing Councilmember Ray Lopez (Mayoral) and Art A. Hall (Mayoral) to the Fire and Police Pension Fund for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2017.

File #: 15-4396, Version: 1

- K) Appointing Councilmember Rebecca J. Viagran (Mayoral) and Councilmember Ron Nirenberg (Mayoral); and reappointing Art A. Hall (Mayoral) to the Fire and Police Pre-Funded Healthcare Trust Fund for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2017.
- L) Appointing Juspreet Kaur (District 8) to the San Antonio Public Library Board for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire September 30, 2016; and reappointing Jean L. Brady (District 1) for a term effective October 1, 2015 to expire September 30, 2017.

BACKGROUND INFORMATION:

Applications for District Boards were submitted to the Office of the City Clerk who coordinated review of the applications with the pertinent City Departments and the City Attorney's Office. Qualified applications were forwarded to the respective City Council Offices for their review. A memorandum designating the Councilmember's appointee was submitted to the Office of the City Clerk for processing.

ISSUE:

Board appointments require full City Council approval.

ALTERNATIVES:

The Office of the City Clerk will continue to advertise vacancies.

FISCAL IMPACT:

There is no fiscal impact.

RECOMMENDATION:

In order to proceed with the direction of the City Council, the Office of the City Clerk recommends approval of the Board Appointments.