

City of San Antonio

Legislation Details (With Text)

File #: 15-4439

Type: Staff Briefing - Without

Ordinance

In control: Governance Committee

On agenda: 8/19/2015

Title: Consideration on Council District 7 and Council District 9 Pre-K 4 SA Board appointments. [Peter

Zanoni, Deputy City Manager; Kathleen Bruck, CEO, Pre-K 4 SA]

Sponsors:

Indexes:

Code sections:

Attachments:

Date Ver. Action By Action Result

DEPARTMENT: Pre-K 4 SA

DEPARTMENT HEAD: Kathy Bruck, CEO

COUNCIL DISTRICTS IMPACTED: City Wide

SUBJECT:

Pre-K 4 SA Board of Directors Appointments

SUMMARY:

Council District 7 and Council District 9 will recommend a successor appointee each for the Pre-K 4 SA Board of Directors.

BACKGROUND INFORMATION:

In accordance with the Pre-K 4 SA Bylaws, the Board of Directors is appointed by the City Council. The Early Childhood Education Municipal Development Corporation (Pre-K 4 SA) Board of Directors is comprised of 11 Board Members with each City Councilmember and the Mayor appointing one Director to the Board. The Mayor's Appointee serves as the Chairperson of the Board. Councilmember Appointees do not have to reside in the City Council District for which they are serving.

Board Members serve two-year staggered terms. Appointees of odd-numbered City Council Districts and the

File #: 15-4439, Version: 1

Chairperson served an initial term of two years which began in 2013 and ended on May 31, 2015. Successors will serve a two-year term beginning at appointment and ending on May 31, 2017. The even-numbered City Council District Appointments also serve a two-year term that will end on May 31, 2016.

Pre-K 4 SA Board of Directors Appointees, their respective City Council Districts, and expiration dates of terms follow:

District 1 - Dr. Richard Middleton May 31, 2017

District 2 - Pamela E. Ray May 31, 2016

District 3 - General Josue "Joe" Robles, Jr. May 31, 2017

District 4 - Richard Perez May 31, 2016

District 5 - Gloria A. Ramirez May 31, 2017

District 6 - Lucy Hall May 31, 2016

District 7 - Vacant May 31, 2017

District 8 - Dr. Shari Albright May 31, 2016

District 9 - Comelia A. Black May 31, 2015

District 10 - Dr. Linda G. Foster May 31, 2016

Mayor - Elaine Mendoza May 31, 2017

ISSUE:

City Councilmembers for City Council Districts 7 and 9 have selected individuals to serve their respective Districts on the Pre-K 4 SA Board of Directors. District 7 recommends Frances M. Guzman. District 9 recommends Gogi Dickson. The term for the new Appointees will begin at appointment and end on May 31, 2017. After the Governance Committee Meeting on August 19, 2015, nominees for the aforementioned City Council Districts will be presented to the full City Council.

File #: 15-4439, Version: 1
ALTERNATIVES:
N/A
FISCAL IMPACT:
There is no fiscal impact associated with this briefing.
RECOMMENDATION:
Pre-K 4 SA recommends that the Governance Committee approves the recommended appointees for City Council Districts 7 and 9 to the full City Council for consideration of approval.