

City of San Antonio

Legislation Details (With Text)

File #: 15-4670

Type: Appointment - Without

Ordinance

In control: City Council A Session

On agenda:

9/10/2015

Title:

Consideration of the following Board, Commission and Committee appointments for the remainder of unexpired terms of office to expire May 31, 2017, to be effective immediately upon the receipt of eight affirmative votes, or, in the event eight affirmative votes are not received, ten days after appointment; or for terms and effectiveness as otherwise indicated below: [Leticia M. Vacek, City Clerk]

- A) Reappointing Carl C. Hanel (District 6) to the Affirmative Action Advisory Committee.
- B) Reappointing Karen L. Speer (District 5) and Sallie F. Scott (District 10) to the Animal Care Services Advisory Board.
- C) Reappointing Michelle Krupa (District 3) to the Brooks Developement Authority.
- D) Reappointing Joseph Diaz (District 7) to the Building Standards Board.
- E) Reappointing Michael A. Hogan (District 6) to the Capital Improvements Advisory Committee.
- F) Reappointing Richard N. Berry (District 9) to the Disability Access Advisory Committee.
- G) Reappointing George L. Britton (District 4) and Gloria P. Zamora (District 5) to the City/County Joint Commission on Elderly Affairs.
- H) Appointing Desiree Salmon (District 8) to the Historic and Design Review Commission.
- I) Reappointing Myrl R. Britten (District 6) to the Linear Creekway Parks Advisory Board.
- J) Appointing Katherine K. DeBauche (District 7) to the Mayor's Commission on the Status of Women.
- K) Reappointing Andrew M. Anguiano (District 3) to the Port Authority of San Antonio.
- L) Reappointing Richard L. Lapaglia (District 6) to the San Antonio Arts Commission.
- M) Appointing Rita Uresti (District 3) to the SA2020 Commission on Education.
- N) Reappointing Noralyn P. Ripps (District 3) to the SA2020 Commission on Strengthening Family Well-being.
- O) Appointing Carl C. Hanel (District 6) to the Small Business Advocacy Committee.
- P) Appointing David Rauch (District 8) to the San Antonio Youth Commission.
- Q) Reappointing George L. Britton, Jr. (District 4) to the Zoning Board of Adjustment.

Sponsors:

Indexes:

Code sections:

File #: 15-4670, Version: 1

Attachments: 1. AAAC Appt Hanel Carl C 2015.08.20, 2. ACS Appt Karen Speer 2015.08.20, 3.

ACS_Appt_Scott_Sallie_2015.07.10, 4. BDA_Appt_Krupa_Michelle_Rodriguez_2015.06.04, 5. BSB_Appt_Diaz_Joseph_2014.05.13, 6. CIAC_Appt_Hogan_Michael_A_2015.08.20, 7.

DAAC_Appt_Berry_Richard_2015.07.22, 8. EA_Appt_Britton_George_L_2015.08.10, 9. EA_Appt_Zamora_Gloria_2015.08.19, 10. HDRC_Appt_Salmon_Desiree_2015.08.15, 11.

LCPAB_Appt_Britten_Myrl_R_2015.08.2015, 12. MCSW_APPT_ DeBauche_Katie_Kinder_2015 08

06, 13. PASA_Appt_Memo_Anguiano_Andrew_M_2015.08.25, 14.

SAAC_Appt_Lapaglia_Richard_L_2015.08.20, 15. SA2020_Appt_Uresti_Rita_2015.08.18, 16. SACSFW_Appt_Ripps_Noralyn_Page_2015.06.04, 17. SBAC_Appt_Hanel_Carl_C_2015.08.20, 18.

YC_Appt_Rauch_David_2015.08.14, 19. ZBOA_Appt_Britton_George_L_2015.08.10

DateVer.Action ByActionResult9/10/20151City Council A SessionMotion to ApprovePass

DEPARTMENT: Office of the City Clerk

DEPARTMENT HEAD: Leticia M. Vacek (OCC)

COUNCIL DISTRICTS IMPACTED:

Council District 3, Council District 4, Council District 5, Council District 6, Council District 7, Council District 8, Council District 9, Council District 10

SUBJECT:

Board Appointments

SUMMARY:

- A) Reappointing Carl C. Hanel (District 6) to the Affirmative Action Advisory Committee for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2017.
- B) Reappointing Karen L. Speer (District 5) and Sallie F. Scott (District 10) to the Animal Care Services Advisory Board for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2017.
- C) Reappointing Michelle Krupa (District 3) to the Brooks Development Authority for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2017.
- D) Reappointing Joseph Diaz (District 7) to the Building Standards Board for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2017.
- E) Reappointing Michael A. Hogan (District 6) to the Capital Improvements Advisory Committee for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2017.
- F) Reappointing Richard N. Berry (District 9) to the Disability Access Advisory Committee for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2017.
- G) Reappointing George L. Britton (District 4) and Gloria P. Zamora (District 5) to the City/County Joint Commission on Elderly Affairs for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2017.
- H) Appointing Desiree Salmon (District 8) to the Historic and Design Review Commission for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2017.

File #: 15-4670, Version: 1

- I) Reappointing Myrl R. Britten (District 6) to the Linear Creekway Parks Advisory Board for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2017.
- J) Appointing Katherine K. DeBauche (District 7) to the Mayor's Commission on the Status of Women for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2017.
- K) Reappointing Andrew M. Anguiano (District 3) to the Port Authority of San Antonio for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2017.
- L) Reappointing Richard L. Lapaglia (District 6) to the San Antonio Arts Commission for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2017.
- M) Appointing Rita Uresti (District 3) to the SA2020 Commission on Education for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2017.
- N) Reappointing Noralyn P. Ripps (District 3) to the SA2020 Commission on Strengthening Family Wellbeing for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2017.
- O) Appointing Carl C. Hanel (District 6) to the Small Business Advocacy Committee for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2017.
- P) Appointing David Rauch (District 8) to the San Antonio Youth Commission for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2017.
- Q) Reappointing George L. Britton, Jr. (District 4) to the Zoning Board of Adjustment for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2017.

BACKGROUND INFORMATION:

Applications for District Boards were submitted to the Office of the City Clerk who coordinated review of the applications with the pertinent City Departments and the City Attorney's Office. Qualified applications were forwarded to the respective City Council Offices for their review. A memorandum designating the Councilmember's appointee was submitted to the Office of the City Clerk for processing.

ISSUE:

Board appointments require full City Council approval.

ALTERNATIVES:

The Office of the City Clerk will continue to advertise vacancies.

FISCAL IMPACT:

There is no fiscal impact.

RECOMMENDATION:

In order to proceed with the direction of the City Council, the Office of the City Clerk recommends approval of the Board Appointments.