

City of San Antonio

Legislation Details (With Text)

File #: 15-5458

Type: Appointment - Without

Ordinance

In control: City Council A Session

On agenda: 10/29/2015

Title: Consideration of the following Board, Commission and Committee appointments for the remainder of unexpired terms of office to expire May 31, 2017, to be effective immediately upon the receipt of eight

affirmative votes, or, in the event eight affirmative votes are not received, ten days after appointment;

or for terms and effectiveness as otherwise indicated below: [Leticia M. Vacek, City Clerk]

A) Reappointing Tenna Florian (District 1) to the Citizens' Environmental Advisory Committee.

B) Reappointing Ella D. Gordon (District 10) to the City/County Joint Commission on Elderly Affairs.

C) Appointing Margaret R. Kanyusik (District 10) to the San Antonio Arts Commission.

D) Appointing Ruben R. Perales, Jr. (District 6) and reappointing John Alvarez (District 10) to the SA2020 Commission on Strengthening Family Well-being.

E) Reappointing Iza L. Ramirez (District 10) to the City Commission on Veterans Affairs.

F) Reappointing Christopher C. Garcia (District 8) to the Zoning Board of Adjustment.

G) Appointing Ivan Placencia (Mayoral) and reappointing Josephine P. Garza (Mayoral) to the San Antonio Youth Commission.

H) Appointing Cecilia G. Garcia (Mayoral) to the Zoning Commission.

I) Appointing Sheila D. Anderson (Mayoral) and reappointing Michael A. Moczygemba (Mayoral) and David Rodriguez (Mayoral) to the Office of Urban Redevelopment - OUR-SA and SAAH for the remainder of unexpired terms of office to expire December 16, 2016.

J) Reappointing Judy A. Cruz (Mayoral) to the San Antonio Public Library Board of Trustees for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire September 30, 2016.

Sponsors:

Indexes:

Code sections:

Attachments: 1. CEAC Appt Florian Tenna 2015.07.31, 2. EA Appt Gordon Ella 2015.10.06, 3.

SAAC Appt Kanyusik Margaret 2015.07.21, 4. SACSFW Appt Perales Jr Ruben 2015.10.08, 5.

SACSFW_Appt_Alverez_John_2015.10.06, 6. VA_Appt_Ramirez_Iza_Lea_2015.10.06, 7. ZBOA_Appt_Garcia_Christopher_2015.09.30, 8. Library_Appt_Cruz_Judy_A_2015.10.09, 9. YC_Appt_Placencia_Ivan_2015.10.19, 10. YC_Appt_Garza_Josephine_P_2015.10.19, 11. ZC_Appt_Garcia_Cecelia_2015.10.21, 12. OURSA_Appt_Anderson_Sheila_D_2015.10.21, 13. OursA_Appt_Mocrygemba_Michael_A_2015.10.21, 14. OURSA_Appt_Podriguez_David_2015.10.11

OurSA_Appt_Moczygemba_Michael_A_2015.10.21, 14. OURSA_Appt_Rodriguez_David_2015.10.21

Date Ver. Action By Action Result

10/29/2015 1 City Council A Session approved Pass

DEPARTMENT: Office of the City Clerk

File #: 15-5458, Version: 1

DEPARTMENT HEAD: Leticia M. Vacek (OCC)

COUNCIL DISTRICTS IMPACTED: Mayoral, Council District 1, Council District 6, Council District 8, and Council District 10

SUBJECT:

Board Appointments

SUMMARY:

- A) Reappointing Tenna Florian (District 1) to the Citizens' Environmental Advisory Committee for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2017.
- B) Reappointing Ella D. Gordon (District 10) to the City/County Joint Commission on Elderly Affairs for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2017.
- C) Appointing Margaret R. Kanyusik (District 10) to the San Antonio Arts Commission for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2017.
- D) Appointing Ruben R. Perales, Jr. (District 6) and reappointing John Alvarez (District 10) to the SA2020 Commission on Strengthening Family Well-being for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2017.
- E) Reappointing Iza L. Ramirez (District 10) to the City Commission on Veterans Affairs for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2017.
- F) Reappointing Christopher C. Garcia (District 8) to the Zoning Board of Adjustment for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2017.
- G) Appointing Ivan Placencia (Mayoral) and reappointing Josephine P. Garza (Mayoral) to the San Antonio Youth Commission for the remainder of unexpired terms of office to expire May 31, 2017.
- H) Appointing Cecilia G. Garcia (Mayoral) to the Zoning Commission for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2017.
- I) Appointing Sheila D. Anderson (Mayoral) and reappointing Michael A. Moczygemba (Mayoral) and David Rodriguez (Mayoral) to the Office of Urban Redevelopment OUR-SA and SAAH for the remainder of unexpired terms of office to expire December 16, 2016.
- J) Reappointing Judy A. Cruz (Mayoral) to the San Antonio Public Library Board of Trustees for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire September 30, 2016.

BACKGROUND INFORMATION:

Applications for District Boards were submitted to the Office of the City Clerk who coordinated review of the applications with the pertinent City Departments and the City Attorney's Office. Qualified applications were forwarded to the respective City Council Offices for their review. A memorandum designating the

File #: 15-5458, Version: 1

Councilmember's appointee was submitted to the Office of the City Clerk for processing.

ISSUE:

Board appointments require full City Council approval.

ALTERNATIVES:

The Office of the City Clerk will continue to advertise vacancies.

FISCAL IMPACT:

There is no fiscal impact.

RECOMMENDATION:

In order to proceed with the direction of the City Council, the Office of the City Clerk recommends approval of the Board Appointments.