

City of San Antonio

Legislation Details (With Text)

File #:	15-5	700				
Туре:		ointment - Without nance				
			In control:	City Council A Session		
On agenda:	11/1	2/2015				
Title:	Consideration of the following Board, Commission and Committee appointments for the remainder of unexpired terms of office to expire May 31, 2017, to be effective immediately upon the receipt of eight affirmative votes, or, in the event eight affirmative votes are not received, ten days after appointment; or for terms and effectiveness as otherwise indicated below: [Leticia M. Vacek, City Clerk]					
	A) Reappointing Laura S. Martinez (District 5) to the San Antonio Housing Trust.					
	B) A	B) Appointing Jess Mayes (District 2) to the Citizens' Environmental Advisory Committee.				
	C) Appointing Marc K. Whyte (District 10) to the Ethics Review Board for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire April 25, 2017.					
	D) Reappointing Raymond H. Lucas (Mayoral) to the Office of Urban Redevelopment - OURSA and SAAH for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire December 18, 2016.					
	E) Reappointing Gloria M. Malone (District 2) to the San Antonio Public Library Board of Trustees for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire September 30, 2017.					
Sponsors:						
Indexes:						
Code sections:						
Attachments:	1. SAHT_Appt_Martinez_Laura_S_2015.10.21, 2. CEAC_Appt_Mayes_Jess_2015.10.21, 3. ERB_Appt_Whyte_Marc_K_2015.10.21, 4. OurSA_Appt_Lucas_Raymond_2015.10.22, 5. Library_Appt_Malone_Gloria_2015.10.21					
Date	Ver.	Action By	A	ction	Result	
11/12/2015	1	City Council A Session	а	pproved	Pass	

DEPARTMENT: Office of the City Clerk

DEPARTMENT HEAD: Leticia M. Vacek (OCC)

COUNCIL DISTRICTS IMPACTED:

Mayoral, Council District 2, Council District 5, and Council District 10

SUBJECT:

Board Appointments

SUMMARY:

A) Reappointing Laura S. Martinez (District 5) to the San Antonio Housing Trust for the remainder of an

unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2017.

- B) Appointing Jess Mayes (District 2) to the Citizens' Environmental Advisory Committee for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2017.
- C) Appointing Marc K. Whyte (District 10) to the Ethics Review Board for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire April 25, 2017.
- D) Reappointing Raymond H. Lucas (Mayoral) to the Office of Urban Redevelopment OURSA and SAAH for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire December 18, 2016.
- E) Reappointing Gloria M. Malone (District 2) to the San Antonio Public Library Board of Trustees for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire September 30, 2017.

BACKGROUND INFORMATION:

Applications for District Boards were submitted to the Office of the City Clerk who coordinated review of the applications with the pertinent City Departments and the City Attorney's Office. Qualified applications were forwarded to the respective City Council Offices for their review. A memorandum designating the Councilmember's appointee was submitted to the Office of the City Clerk for processing.

ISSUE:

Board appointments require full City Council approval.

ALTERNATIVES:

The Office of the City Clerk will continue to advertise vacancies.

FISCAL IMPACT:

There is no fiscal impact.

RECOMMENDATION:

In order to proceed with the direction of the City Council, the Office of the City Clerk recommends approval of the Board Appointments.