

City of San Antonio

Legislation Details (With Text)

File #:	15-6052			
Туре:	Appointment - Without Ordinance			
		In control:	City Council A Sessi	on
On agenda:	12/3/2015			
Title:	Consideration of the following Board, Commission and Committee appointments for the remainder unexpired terms of office to expire May 31, 2017, to be effective immediately upon the receipt of eight affirmative votes, or, in the event eight affirmative votes are not received, ten days after appointme or for terms and effectiveness as otherwise indicated below: [Leticia M. Vacek, City Clerk]			
	A) Appointing Elizabeth A. Franklin (District 2) to the Parks and Recreation Board.			
	B) Appointing Hollis MacDonald (District 2) to the Tax Increment Reinvestment Zone No. 11 - Inner City.			
	C) Appointing Kent Brittain (District 6) and reappointing John R. Laffoon (District 10) to the Historic and Design Review Commission.			
	D) Appointing Melessa C. Rodriguez (District 6) to the Mayor's Commission on the Status of Women.			
	E) Appointing Rudolph F. Rodriguez and reappointing Ted E. Davis, Jr., Gabriel Farias, Jeff Harvey, Samuel E. Luna, Jr., and Michelle E. Pair to the Municipal Golf Association - San Antonio (MGA-SA) for the remainder of unexpired terms of office to expire May 2, 2017.			
Sponsors:				
Indexes:				
Code sections:				
Attachments:	1. Parks_Appt_Franklin_Liz_2015.11.12, 2. TIRZ11_Appt_MacDonald_Hollis_2015.11.12, 3. HDRC_Appt_Laffoon_John_2015.11.17, 4. N&L_MGASA_Agenda Memo_2015.11, 5. Kent Brittain and Melessa Rodriguez Appointment Memo			
Date	Ver. Action By	Ac	tion	Result

DEPARTMENT: Office of the City Clerk

DEPARTMENT HEAD: Leticia M. Vacek (OCC)

COUNCIL DISTRICTS IMPACTED:

City Wide, Council District 2, District 6, and Council District 10

SUBJECT: Board Appointments

SUMMARY:

A) Appointing Elizabeth A. Franklin (District 2) to the Parks and Recreation Board for the remainder of an

unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2017.

- B) Appointing Hollis MacDonald (District 2) to the Tax Increment Reinvestment Zone No. 11 Inner City for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2017.
- C) Appointing Kent A. Brittain (District 6) and John R. Laffoon (District 10) to the Historic and Design Review Commission for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2017.
- D) Appointing Melessa C. Rodriguez (District 6) to the Mayor's Commission on the Status of Women for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2017.
- E) Appointing Rudolph F. Rodriguez and reappointing Ted E. Davis, Jr., Gabriel Farias, Jeff Harvey, Samuel E. Luna, Jr., and Michelle E. Pair to the Municipal Golf Association San Antonio (MGA-SA) for the remainder of unexpired terms of office to expire May 2, 2017.

BACKGROUND INFORMATION:

Applications for District Boards were submitted to the Office of the City Clerk who coordinated review of the applications with the pertinent City Departments and the City Attorney's Office. Qualified applications were forwarded to the respective City Council Offices for their review. A memorandum designating the Councilmember's appointee was submitted to the Office of the City Clerk for processing.

The Neighborhoods and Livability City Council Committee convened on November 16, 2015 and recommended six applicants for appointment to the Municipal Golf Association - San Antonio (MGA-SA) for the remainder of terms of office to expire May 2, 2017.

ISSUE:

Board appointments require full City Council approval.

ALTERNATIVES:

The Office of the City Clerk will continue to advertise vacancies.

FISCAL IMPACT:

There is no fiscal impact.

RECOMMENDATION:

In order to proceed with the direction of the City Council, the Office of the City Clerk recommends approval of the Board Appointments.