

City of San Antonio

Legislation Details (With Text)

File #: 16-1067

Type: Appointment - Without

Ordinance

In control: City Council A Session

On agenda: 1/14/2016

Title: Consideration of the following Board, Commission and Committee appointments for the remainder of

unexpired terms of office to expire May 31, 2017, to be effective immediately upon the receipt of eight affirmative votes, or, in the event eight affirmative votes are not received, ten days after appointment;

or for terms and effectiveness as otherwise indicated below: [Leticia M. Vacek, City Clerk]

A) Appointing Anne-Marie Grube (District 7) to the Historic and Design Review Commission.

B) Appointing Jeffrey M. Watson (District 10) to the Linear Creekway Parks Advisory Board.

C) Appointing Freda Facey (District 9) to the San Antonio Arts Commission.

D) Appointing Michael D. Moore (District 9) to the Capital Improvements Advisory Committee.

E) Appointing Dayna V. Valdez (District 5) to the San Antonio Youth Commission.

Sponsors:

Indexes:

Code sections:

Attachments: 1. HDRC APPT Grube Anne Marie 2015 12.11, 2. LCPAB Appt Watson Jeffrey 2015.12.10, 3.

SAAC Appt Facey Freda 2015.12.17, 4. CIAC Appt Moore Michael 2015.12.17, 5.

Youth Valdez Dayna V 2015.12.17

Date	Ver.	Action By	Action	Result
1/14/2016	1	City Council A Session	approved	Pass

DEPARTMENT: Office of the City Clerk

DEPARTMENT HEAD: Leticia M. Vacek (OCC)

COUNCIL DISTRICTS IMPACTED:

Council District 5, Council District 7, Council District 9, and Council District 10

SUBJECT:

Board Appointments

SUMMARY:

- A) Appointing Anne-Marie Grube (District 7) to the Historic and Design Review Commission for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2017.
- B) Appointing Jeffrey M. Watson (District 10) to the Linear Creekway Parks Advisory Board for the

File #: 16-1067, Version: 1

remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2017.

- C) Appointing Freda Facey (District 9) to the San Antonio Arts Commission for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2017.
- D) Appointing Michael D. Moore (District 9) to the Capital Improvements Advisory Committee for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2017.
- E) Appointing Dayna V. Valdez (District 5) to the San Antonio Youth Commission for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2017.

BACKGROUND INFORMATION:

Applications for District Boards were submitted to the Office of the City Clerk who coordinated review of the applications with the pertinent City Departments and the City Attorney's Office. Qualified applications were forwarded to the respective City Council Offices for their review. A memorandum designating the Councilmember's appointee was submitted to the Office of the City Clerk for processing.

ISSUE:

Board appointments require full City Council approval.

ALTERNATIVES:

The Office of the City Clerk will continue to advertise vacancies.

FISCAL IMPACT:

There is no fiscal impact.

RECOMMENDATION:

In order to proceed with the direction of the City Council, the Office of the City Clerk recommends approval of the Board Appointments.