

# City of San Antonio

# Legislation Details (With Text)

**File #**: 16-1937

**Type:** Appointment - Without

Ordinance

In control: City Council A Session

On agenda: 3/10/2016

Title: Consideration of the following Board, Commission and Committee appointments for the remainder of

unexpired terms of office to expire May 31, 2017, to be effective immediately upon the receipt of eight affirmative votes, or, in the event eight affirmative votes are not received, ten days after appointment;

or for terms and effectiveness as otherwise indicated below: [Leticia M. Vacek, City Clerk]

A) Appointing James W. Mock, III (District 9) to the Port Authority of San Antonio.

B) Appointing Charles J. Conner (District 8) to the Building Standards Board.

C) Appointing Councilmember Mike Gallagher (Mayoral), Patrick C. Forbes (District 2), Lloyd A. Denton, Jr. (District 10), Lauren N. Sides (District 10), Gwendolyn Albers (District 10), Nicole

Thompson (District 10), and Carlos G. Pena (District 10) to the Tax Increment Reinvestment Zone No.

33 - Northeast Corridor.

Sponsors:

Indexes:

**Code sections:** 

Attachments: 1. PASA\_Appt\_Memo\_Mock\_III\_James\_2016.01.27, 2. BSB\_Appt\_Conner\_Charles\_2016.02.17, 3.

District 10 TIRZ Appointment Memo, 4. TIRZ\_33\_Forbes\_Patrick\_C\_2016.02.10, 5. TIRZ\_33\_Gallagher\_Mike\_2016.02.22, 6. TIRZ\_33\_Pena\_Carlos\_G\_2016.02.26

Date	Ver.	Action By	Action	Result
3/10/2016	1	City Council A Session	Motion to Approve	Pass

**DEPARTMENT:** Office of the City Clerk

**DEPARTMENT HEAD:** Leticia M. Vacek (OCC)

# **COUNCIL DISTRICTS IMPACTED:**

Mayoral, Council District 2, Council District 8, Council District 9, and Council District 10

#### **SUBJECT:**

**Board Appointments** 

#### **SUMMARY:**

- A) Appointing James W. Mock, III (District 9) to the Port Authority of San Antonio for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2017.
- B) Appointing Charles J. Conner (District 8) to the Building Standards Board for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2017.

File #: 16-1937, Version: 1

C) Appointing Councilmember Mike Gallagher (Mayoral), Patrick C. Forbes (District 2), Lloyd A. Denton, Jr. (District 10), Lauren N. Sides (District 10), Gwendolyn Albers (District 10), Nicole Thompson (District 10), and Carlos G. Pena (District 10) to the Tax Increment Reinvestment Zone No. 33 - Northeast Corridor for the remainder of unexpired terms of office to expire May 31, 2017.

# **BACKGROUND INFORMATION:**

Applications for District Boards were submitted to the Office of the City Clerk who coordinated review of the applications with the pertinent City Departments and the City Attorney's Office. Qualified applications were forwarded to the respective City Council Offices for their review. A memorandum designating the Councilmember's appointee was submitted to the Office of the City Clerk for processing.

#### **ISSUE:**

Board appointments require full City Council approval.

# **ALTERNATIVES:**

The Office of the City Clerk will continue to advertise vacancies.

#### **FISCAL IMPACT:**

There is no fiscal impact.

# **RECOMMENDATION:**

In order to proceed with the direction of the City Council, the Office of the City Clerk recommends approval of the Board Appointments.