

City of San Antonio

Legislation Details (With Text)

File #:	17-1665					
Туре:	Appointment - Without Ordinance					
		In control:	City Council A Session			
On agenda:	2/23/2017					
Title:	Consideration of the following Board, Commission and Committee appointments for the remainder unexpired terms of office to expire May 31, 2017, to be effective immediately upon the receipt of eight affirmative votes, or, in the event eight affirmative votes are not received, ten days after appointme or for terms and effectiveness as otherwise indicated below: [Leticia M. Vacek, City Clerk]					
	A) Reappointing Greg K. Hammer (District 7) to the Linear Creekway Parks Advisory Board.					
	B) Reappointing Rene P. Barilleaux (Mayoral) and Guillermo C. Nicolas (Mayoral) to the San An Arts Commission.					
	 C) Reappointing Victoria M. Garcia (District 4) to the Port Authority of San Antonio. D) Reappointing Michael C. Connor (District 4) to the Historic and Design Review Commission. E) Appointing Wade B. Shelton (District 9) to the Ethics Review Board for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire April 25, 2017. 					
	F) Reappointing Andrea Sanchez (District 4) and Paul J. Stahl (District 7) to the San Antonio Public Library Board of Trustees for the remainder of an unexpired terms of office to expire September 30, 2018.					
Sponsors:						
Indexes:						
Code sections:						
Attachments:	1. LCPAB_Appt_Hammer_Greg_K_2017.02.01, 2. SAAC_Appt_Barilleaux_Rene_P_2017.02.01, 3. SAAC_Appt_Nicolas_Guillermo_C_2017.02.01, 4. ERB_APPT_Shelton_Wade_2017.01.31, 5. Library_Appt_Stahl_Paul_2017.01.25, 6. Library Appt - Andrea Sanchez, 7. Port Authority - Victoria Garcia, 8. HDRC - Michael Conner					
Date	Ver. Action By	Ac	ion	Result		

2/23/2017	1	City Council A Session	approved	Pass
DEPARTME	NT:	Office of the City Clerk		

DEPARTMENT HEAD: Leticia M. Vacek (OCC)

COUNCIL DISTRICTS IMPACTED:

Mayoral, Council District 4, Council District 7, and Council District 9

SUBJECT:

Board Appointments

SUMMARY:

- A) Reappointing Greg K. Hammer (District 7) to the Linear Creekway Parks Advisory Board for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2017.
- B) Reappointing Rene P. Barilleaux (Mayoral) and Guillermo C. Nicolas (Mayoral) (Mayoral) to the San Antonio Arts Commission for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2017.
- C) Reappointing Victoria M. Garcia (District 4) to the Port Authority of San Antonio Board for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2017.
- D) Reappointing Michael C. Connor (District 4) to the Historic and Design Review Commission Board for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2017.
- E) Appointing Wade B. Shelton (District 9) to the Ethics Review Board for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire April 25, 2017.
- F) Reappointing Andrea Sanchez (District 4) and Paul J. Stahl (District 7) to the San Antonio Public Library Board of Trustees for the remainder of unexpired terms of office to expire September 30, 2018.

BACKGROUND INFORMATION:

Applications for District Boards were submitted to the Office of the City Clerk who coordinated review of the applications with the pertinent City Departments and the City Attorney's Office. Qualified applications were forwarded to the respective City Council Offices for their review. A memorandum designating the Councilmember's appointee was submitted to the Office of the City Clerk for processing.

ISSUE:

Board appointments require full City Council approval.

ALTERNATIVES:

The Office of the City Clerk will continue to advertise vacancies.

FISCAL IMPACT:

There is no fiscal impact.

RECOMMENDATION:

In order to proceed with the direction of the City Council, the Office of the City Clerk recommends approval of the Board Appointments.