

# City of San Antonio

## Legislation Details (With Text)

File #: 17-2030

**Type:** Appointment - With Ordinance

In control: City Council A Session

On agenda: 4/6/2017

Title: An Ordinance appointing Elaine Mendoza (Mayor's Appointee), Dr. Richard Middleton (Council District

1 Appointee), Major General Josue "Joe" Robles, Jr. (Council District 3 Appointee), Gloria Ramirez (Council District 5 Appointee) and Frances Guzman (Council District 7 Appointee) to the elevenmember Pre-K 4 SA Board of Directors (City of San Antonio's Early Childhood Education Municipal Development Corporation) as recommended by the Mayor and respective City Council Members for a two-year term from June 1, 2017 through May 31, 2019. [Peter Zanoni, Deputy City Manager; Sarah

Baray, Ph.D., CEO, Pre-K 4 SA]

Sponsors:

Indexes: Pre-K 4 SA

**Code sections:** 

Attachments: 1. Mayor's Appointee - Elaine Mendoza, 2. District 1 - Dr. Richard Middleton, 3. District 3 - Major

General Joe Robles, 4. District 5 - Gloria Ramirez, 5. District 7 - Frances Guzman, 6. District 9 - Dr.

Gogi Dickson, 7. Draft Ordinance, 8. Ordinance 2017-04-06-0206

DateVer.Action ByActionResult4/6/20171City Council A SessionadoptedPass

**DEPARTMENT: Pre-K 4 SA** 

**DEPARTMENT HEAD:** Peter Zanoni, Deputy City Manager; Sarah Baray, Ph.D., CEO

**COUNCIL DISTRICTS IMPACTED:** Citywide

#### **SUBJECT:**

Pre-K 4 SA Board of Directors Appointments

## **SUMMARY:**

This item allows City Council to approve recommendations for appointments to the Pre-K 4 SA Board of Directors for the Mayor's appointment and four odd-numbered City Council District appointments for Board Members whose term ends on May 31, 2017.

## **BACKGROUND INFORMATION:**

The Early Childhood Education Municipal Development Corporation (Pre-K 4 SA) Board of Directors is

comprised of 11 Board Members. In accordance with the Pre-K 4 SA bylaws, the Board of Directors is appointed by the City Council and the Mayor. Each City Council member and the Mayor appoint one Director to the Board. The Mayor's appointee serves as the Chairperson of the Board. District appointees do not have to reside in the City Council District for which they are serving, but they do need to have residency in the City of San Antonio.

Board Members serve two-year staggered terms. Appointees of odd-numbered City Council Districts served a term of two years beginning in 2015 and ending on May 31, 2017. The new two-year term begins June 1, 2017 and ends May 31, 2019. The even-numbered City Council Districts appointments also serve a two-year term that will end on May 31, 2018.

Pre-K 4 SA Board of Directors appointees, their respective City Council Districts, and expiration dates of terms follow.

Mayor - Elaine Mendoza May 31, 2017

District 1 - Dr. Richard Middleton May 31, 2017

District 2 - Pamela E. Ray May 31, 2018

District 3 - Major General Josue "Joe" Robles, Jr. May 31, 2017

District 4 - Richard Perez May 31, 2018

District 5 - Gloria A. Ramirez May 31, 2017

District 6 - Lucy Hall May 31, 2018

District 7 - Frances Guzman May 31, 2017

District 8 - Dr. Shari Albright May 31, 2018

District 9 - Dr. Gogi Dickson May 31, 2017

District 10 - Phillip Thomson May 31, 2018

The Governance Committee during their March 22, 2017 meeting recommended that the City Council consider approving the reappointment of Elaine Mendoza (Mayor's Appointee) Dr. Richard Middleton (Council District

## File #: 17-2030, Version: 1

1 Appointee), Major General Josue "Joe" Robles (Council District 3 Appointee), Gloria Ramirez (Council District 5 Appointee) and Frances Guzman (Council District 7 Appointee) to the Pre-K 4 SA Board of Directors.

#### **ISSUE:**

This item considers City Council for appointments to the Pre-K 4 SA Board of Directors for the Mayor's appointment and four of the five odd-numbered City Council District appointed members whose terms end on May 31, 2017.

The Mayor and City Council Members for City Council Districts 1, 3, 5 and 7 have each recommended reappointing the existing Pre-K 4 SA Board of Directors Members to serve their respective Districts. The incumbent Pre-K 4 SA Board Members have expressed a willingness to serve an additional term. Staff is supportive of the Mayor's and City Council Members' decisions to recommend the reappointment of the existing Board Members for the Mayor's appointee and the appointees for City Council Districts 1, 3, 5 and 7.

The current Board Member for District 9, Dr. Gogi Dickson, will remain in place in a hold-over status for the near future. The appointment or reappointment for District 9 will be considered after the upcoming City Council Elections.

The new term for the Mayor's appointee and appointees of Districts 1, 3, 5 and 7 will begin on June 1, 2017 and last through May 31, 2019.

The following list is the City Council Member making the reappointment and the recommended Pre-K 4 SA Board of Directors Member. The District 9 Board Member is listed as well.

## Mayor - Elaine Mendoza

Elaine Mendoza is the Founder, President and CEO of Conceptual MindWorks, Inc. She received her Bachelor of Science Degree in Aerospace Engineering from Texas A&M University, has served on the Board of Regents of the Texas A&M University System, is a member Member of SA2020, and has served as Co-Chair for the P16 Council Formation Committee and Task Force on Corporate Recruitment and Retention.

## District 1 - Dr. Richard Middleton

Dr. Richard Middleton served as the Vice President of the Southwestern Region Office for the College Board from 2011 to 2016. He is the former Superintendent of North East Independent School District (1990 to 2011), and served two terms on the Board of Directors for the Carnegie Foundation.

## District 3 - Major General Josue "Joe" Robles, Jr.

Major General Joe Robles, Jr. is the CEO Emeritus of USAA after serving as President and CEO from 2007 to 2015. He has 28 years of service in the U.S. Army including a variety of command and staff positions. Additionally, he served as Co-Chair for the Brainpower Task Force Initiative that led to the creation of Pre-K 4 SA.

#### District 5 - Gloria Ramirez

Gloria Ramirez has 31 years of experience in early childhood education. She has a Master's degree in Education with a focus in Early Childhood, Multicultural Education and Bilingual Education. She was selected as the Edgewood Independent School District Teacher of the Year and one of Trinity University's Distinguished Educators of San Antonio.

## File #: 17-2030, Version: 1

## District 7 - Frances Guzman

Frances Guzman has a Master's Degree in Education with a focus in Elementary Education. She has over 45 years of experience as a public school advocate and educator and has served on the Head Start Board of Directors.

## District 9 - Dr. Gloria "Gogi" Dickson

Dr. Gogi Dickson has a Ph.D. in Educational Administration with a focus on Leadership, Management, and Curriculum. She has over 45 years of international experience in classrooms, administration, and at the university level. She has served on several Boards and Commissions at the City and State level, including the Mayor's Commission for Children and Families, Texas Youth Commission, and Chamber of Commerce

## **ALTERNATIVES:**

City staff worked with each of the City Council Members to provide them alternative Board appointee options. The recommendations herein are consistent with the Mayor's and City Council Districts' input.

## **FISCAL IMPACT:**

There is no fiscal impact associated with this briefing.

## **RECOMMENDATION:**

Staff recommends that the City Council approve the reappointment of the existing appointees for the Mayor's appointment and the appointments for City Council Districts 1, 3, 5 and 7 to the Pre-K 4 SA Board of Directors.