

City of San Antonio

Legislation Details (With Text)

File #:	17-4734				
Туре:	Appointment - Without Ordinance				
	In control: City Council A Session				
On agenda:	9/7/2017				
Title:	Consideration of the following Board, Commission and Committee appointments for the remainder of unexpired terms of office to expire May 31, 2019, to be effective immediately upon the receipt of eight affirmative votes, or, in the event eight affirmative votes are not received, ten days after appointment; or for terms and effectiveness as otherwise indicated below: [Leticia M. Vacek, City Clerk]				
	A) Reappointing Karen L. Speer (District 5) and Sallie F. Scott (District 10) to the Animal Care Services Advisory Board.				
	B) Appointing Jesus Diaz (District 3) to the SA2020 Commission on Education.				
	C) Reappointing R. Mark Rogers (District 10) to the San Antonio Arts Commission.				
	D) Reappointing Carlos J. Contreras, III (Mayoral) and Michael D. Asmus (District 10) to the Brooks Development Authority.				
	E) Appointing Matthew Scott (District 10) to the City Commission on Veterans Affairs.				
	F) Appointing Emma O. Guerrero (District 3) and Barbara Scheib (District 10) to the City/County Joint Commission on Elderly Affairs.				
	G) Reappointing John Laffoon (District 10) to the Historic and Design Review Commission.				
	H) Reappointing Charles Michael Bartlett (District 3) and Sherri Dugas (District 10) to the Linear Creekway Parks Advisory Board.				
	I) Reappointing Naomi E. Miller (District 10) to the Mayor's Commission on the Status of Women.				
	J) Reappointing Marc K. Whyte (District 10) to the Port Authority of San Antonio.				
	K) Reappointing John M. Battiato (District 10) to the San Antonio Housing Trust.				
	L) Appointing Jonathan Delmer (District 10) to the Small Business Advocacy Committee.				
	M) Reappointing Joe Frank Nix (District 10) to the Zoning Commission.				
	N) Appointing Emilie Christian (District 10) to the Affirmative Action Advisory Committee.				
	O) Appointing Kevin Jackson (District 10) to the SA2020 Commission on Strengthening Family Well- being.				
	P) Appointing Diana M. Kenny (District 10), Matthew C. West (District 10), and reappointing Lloyd A. Denton, Jr. (District 10) to the Tax Increment Reinvestment Zone No. 33 - Northeast Corridor.				
	Q) Reappointing Debra A. Guerrero (District 3) to the Capital Improvements Advisory Committee.				

R) Reappointing Rodney Van Kirk (District 10) to the Ethics Review for the remainder of an unexpired

term of office to expire April 25, 2019.

Sponsors:

Indexes:

Code sections:

Attachments:1. ACS_Appt_Speer_Karen_2017.08.10, 2. District 10 Appointment Memo, 3.
SA2020_Appt_Diaz_Jesus_2017.08.16, 4. BDA_Appt_Contreras_III_Carlos_J_2017.08.24, 5.
EA_Appt_Guerrero_Emma_2017.08.11, 6. LCPAB_Appt_Bartlett_Charles_M_2017.08.11, 7.
TIRZ_33_Appt_West_Matthew_2017.08.09, 8. TIRZ_33_Appt_Kenny_Diana_2017.08.09, 9.
CIAC_Appt_Guerrero_Debra_Ann_2017.08.16

Date	Ver.	Action By	Action	Result
9/7/2017	1	City Council A Session	approved	Pass

DEPARTMENT: Office of the City Clerk

DEPARTMENT HEAD: Leticia M. Vacek (OCC)

COUNCIL DISTRICTS IMPACTED:

Mayoral, Council District 3, Council District 5, and Council District 10

SUBJECT: Board Appointments

SUMMARY:

- A) Reappointing Karen L. Speer (District 5) and Sallie F. Scott (District 10) to the Animal Care Services Advisory Board for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2019.
- B) Appointing Jesus Diaz (District 3) to the SA2020 Commission on Education for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2019.
- C) Reappointing R. Mark Rogers (District 10) to the San Antonio Arts Commission for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2019.
- D) Reappointing Carlos J. Contreras, III (Mayoral) and Michael D. Asmus (District 10) to the Brooks Development Authority for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2019.
- E) Appointing Matthew Scott (District 10) to the City Commission on Veterans Affairs for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2019.
- F) Appointing Emma O. Guerrero (District 3) and Barbara Scheib (District 10) to the City/County Joint Commission on Elderly Affairs for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2019.
- G) Reappointing John Laffoon (District 10) to the Historic and Design Review Commission for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2019.
- H) Reappointing Charles Michael Bartlett (District 3) and Sherri Dugas (District 10) to the Linear Creekway Parks Advisory Board for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2019.

- I) Reappointing Naomi E. Miller (District 10) to the Mayor's Commission on the Status of Women for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2019.
- J) Reappointing Marc K. Whyte (District 10) to the Port Authority of San Antonio for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2019.
- K) Reappointing John M. Battiato (District 10) to the San Antonio Housing Trust for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2019.
- L) Appointing Jonathan Delmer (District 10) to the Small Business Advocacy Committee for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2019.
- M) Reappointing Joe Frank Nix (District 10) to the Zoning Commission for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2019.
- N) Appointing Emilie Christian (District 10) to the Affirmative Action Advisory Committee for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2019.
- O) Appointing Kevin Jackson (District 10) to the SA2020 Commission on Strengthening Family Wellbeing for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2019.
- P) Appointing Diana M. Kenny (District 10), Matthew C. West (District 10), and reappointing Lloyd A. Denton, Jr. (District 10) to the Tax Increment Reinvestment Zone No. 33 Northeast Corridor for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2019.
- Q) Reappointing Debra A. Guerrero (District 3) to the Capital Improvements Advisory Committee for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2019.
- R) Reappointing Rodney Van Kirk (District 10) to the Ethics Review for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire April 25, 2019.

BACKGROUND INFORMATION:

Applications for District Boards were submitted to the Office of the City Clerk who coordinated review of the applications with the pertinent City Departments and the City Attorney's Office. Qualified applications were forwarded to the respective City Council Offices for their review. A memorandum designating the Councilmember's appointee was submitted to the Office of the City Clerk for processing.

ISSUE:

Board appointments require full City Council approval.

ALTERNATIVES:

The Office of the City Clerk will continue to advertise vacancies.

FISCAL IMPACT:

There is no fiscal impact.

RECOMMENDATION:

In order to proceed with the direction of the City Council, the Office of the City Clerk recommends approval of the Board Appointments.