

City of San Antonio

Legislation Details (With Text)

File #:	17-5160		
Туре:	Appointment - Without Ordinance		
	In contro	I: City Council A Session	
On agenda:	9/21/2017		
Title:	Consideration of the following Board, Commission and Committee appointments for the remainder of unexpired terms of office to expire May 31, 2019, to be effective immediately upon the receipt of eight affirmative votes, or, in the event eight affirmative votes are not received, ten days after appointment; or for terms and effectiveness as otherwise indicated below: [Leticia M. Vacek, City Clerk]		
	A) Reappointing Bonnie G. Weed (District 6) to the Disability Access Advisory Board.		
	B) Reappointing Michael Hogan (District 6) to the Capital Improvements Advisory Committee.		
	C) Reappointing Alfredo Dominguez III (District 6) to the City Commission on Veterans Affairs.		
	D) Reappointing Myrl R. Britten (District 6) to the Linear Creekway Parks Advisory Board.		
	E) Appointing Elizabeth H. Montgomery (District 4) and Robert R. Legg (District 6) to the Citizens Environment Advisory Committee.		
	F) Appointing Carl F. McAndrews (District 6) and reappointing George L. Britton, Jr. (District 4) to the City County Joint Commission on Elderly Affairs.G) Appointing Kathleen Davis (District 6) and reappointing Rita C. Braeutigam (District 4) to the Animal Care Services Advisory Board.		
	H) Reappointing Mary Kathryn Luna (Dist	ict 4) to the Parks and Recreation Board.	
	I) Reappointing George L. Britton, Jr. (Dis	rict 4) to the Zoning Board of Adjustment.	
	J) Reappointing Michael C. Connor (Distri	ct 4) to the Historic and Design Review Board	l.
	K) Appointing Leticia Delgado Gonzales (I to the Mayor's Commission on the Status	District 6) and reappointing Cristina J. Bazaldu of Women.	ua (District 4)
	L) Reappointing Victoria M. Garcia (Distric	t 4) to the Port Authority of San Antonio.	
	M) Appointing Gerald B. Lopez (District 6)	to the SA2020 Commission on Education.	
Sponsors:			
Indexes:			
Code sections:			
Attachments:	1. District 6 Appointment Memo, 2. Distric	4 Appointment Memo	
Date	Ver. Action By	Action	Result

DEPARTMENT: Office of the City Clerk

1

9/21/2017

City Council A Session

approved

Pass

DEPARTMENT HEAD: Leticia M. Vacek (OCC)

COUNCIL DISTRICTS IMPACTED: Council District 4 and Council District 6

SUBJECT:

Board Appointments

SUMMARY:

- A) Reappointing Bonnie G. Weed (District 6) to the Disability Access Advisory Board for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2019.
- B) Reappointing Michael Hogan (District 6) to the Capital Improvements Advisory Committee for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2019.
- C) Reappointing Alfredo Dominguez III (District 6) to the City Commission on Veterans Affairs for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2019.
- D) Reappointing Myrl R. Britten (District 6) to the Linear Creekway Parks Advisory Board for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2019.
- E) Appointing Elizabeth H. Montgomery (District 4) and Robert R. Legg (District 6) to the Citizens Environment Advisory Committee for the remainder of unexpired terms of office to expire May 31, 2019.
- F) Appointing Carl F. McAndrews (District 6) and reappointing George L. Britton, Jr. (District 4) to the City County Joint Commission on Elderly Affairs for the remainder of unexpired terms of office to expire May 31, 2019.
- G) Appointing Kathleen Davis (District 6) and reappointing Rita C. Braeutigam (District 4) to the Animal Care Services Advisory Board for the remainder of unexpired terms of office to expire May 31, 2019.
- H) Reappointing Mary Kathryn Luna (District 4) to the Parks and Recreation Board for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2019.
- I) Reappointing George L. Britton, Jr. (District 4) to the Zoning Board of Adjustment for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2019.
- J) Reappointing Michael C. Connor (District 4) to the Historic and Design Review Board for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2019.
- K) Appointing Leticia Delgado Gonzales (District 6) and reappointing Cristina J. Bazaldua (District 4) to the Mayor's Commission on the Status of Women for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2019.
- L) Reappointing Victoria M. Garcia (District 4) to the Port Authority of San Antonio for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2019.

M) Appointing Gerald B. Lopez (District 6) to the SA2020 Commission on Education for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2019.

BACKGROUND INFORMATION:

Applications for District Boards were submitted to the Office of the City Clerk who coordinated review of the applications with the pertinent City Departments and the City Attorney's Office. Qualified applications were forwarded to the respective City Council Offices for their review. A memorandum designating the Councilmember's appointee was submitted to the Office of the City Clerk for processing

ISSUE:

Board appointments require full City Council approval.

ALTERNATIVES:

The Office of the City Clerk will continue to advertise vacancies.

FISCAL IMPACT:

There is no fiscal impact.

RECOMMENDATION:

In order to proceed with the direction of the City Council, the Office of the City Clerk recommends approval of the Board Appointments.