

City of San Antonio

Legislation Details (With Text)

File #:	17-5768				
Туре:	Appointment - Without Ordinance				
	In control: City Council A Session				
On agenda:	11/2/2017				
Title:	Consideration of the following Board, Commission and Committee appointments for the remainder of unexpired terms of office to expire May 31, 2019, to be effective immediately upon the receipt of eight affirmative votes, or, in the event eight affirmative votes are not received, ten days after appointment; or for terms and effectiveness as otherwise indicated below: [Leticia M. Vacek, City Clerk]				
	A) Reappointing Ricardo Briones (District 5) to the Zoning Commission.				
	B) Reappointing Cosima T. Colvin (District 1) to the Linear Creekway Parks Advisory Board.				
	C) Appointing Ashley M. Smith (District 1) to the Affirmative Action Advisory Committee.				
	D) Appointing James R. Campbell (District 1) to the Brooks Development Authority.				
	E) Reappointing John Gavin Rogers (District 1) to the Building Standards Board.				
	F) Reappointing Barbara Witte-Howell (District 1) to the City County Joint Commission on Elderly Affairs.				
	G) Reappointing Cris Vieyra, Jr. (District 1) to the City Commission on Veterans Affairs.				
	H) Appointing Curtis R. Fish (District 1) to the Historic and Design Review Commission.				
	I) Appointing Erika Gonzalez (District 1) and Erica L. Castro (District 7) to the Mayor's Commission on the Status of Women.				
	J) Reappointing Erik K. Sanden (District 1) to the Parks and Recreation Board.				
	K) Appointing Sonya R. Hernandez (District 1) to the SA2020 Commission on Education.				
	L) Appointing Felix E. Gonzalez (District 1) and Alejandro D. Gomez (District 1) to the San Antonio Youth Commission.				
	M) Appointing Siew Ong Pang (District 1) to the Small Business Advocacy Committee.				
	N) Appointing Paul Joseph DeManche (District 1) to the San Antonio Housing Trust.				
	O) Appointing Erin C. Cusack (District 1) to the SA2020 Commission on Strengthening Family Well- being.				
	P) Appointing Karen Weehler (District 7) to the Citizen Environmental Advisory Committee.				
	Q) Appointing Robert W. Sipes (District 7) to the Zoning Commission.				
	R) Appointing Lisa K. Zottarelli (District 1) to the Zoning Board of Adjustment.				
	S) Reappointing Dagoberto P. Patlan (District 1) to the San Antonio Arts Commission.				

T) Reappointing Melanie A. Castillo (District 1) to the Ethics Review Board for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire April 25, 2019.

Sponsors:

Indexes:

Code sections:

Attachments: 1. ZC_Appt_Briones_Ricardo_2017.10.12, 2. District 1 Appointment Memo, 3. MCSW_APPT_ Castro_Erica_L_2017_10_18, 4. CEAC_Appt_Weehler_Karen_2017.10.18, 5. ZC_Appt_Sipes_Robert_2017.10.18, 6. ZBOA_Appt_Zottarelli_Lisa_2017.10.12

	Date	Ver.	Action By	Action	Result
-	11/2/2017	1	City Council A Session	approved	Pass

DEPARTMENT: Office of the City Clerk

DEPARTMENT HEAD: Leticia M. Vacek (OCC)

COUNCIL DISTRICTS IMPACTED:

Council District 1, Council District 5, and Council District 7

SUBJECT:

Board Appointments

SUMMARY:

- A) Reappointing Ricardo Briones (District 5) to the Zoning Commission for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2019.
- B) Reappointing Cosima T. Colvin (District 1) to the Linear Creekway Parks Advisory Board for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2019.
- C) Appointing Ashley M. Smith (District 1) to the Affirmative Action Advisory Committee for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2019.
- D) Appointing James R. Campbell (District 1) to the Brooks Development Authority for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2019.
- E) Reappointing John Gavin Rogers (District 1) to the Building Standards Board to the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2019.
- F) Reappointing Barbara Witte-Howell (District 1) to the City County Joint Commission on Elderly Affairs for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2019.
- G) Reappointing Cris Vieyra, Jr. (District 1) to the City Commission on Veterans Affairs for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2019.
- H) Appointing Curtis R. Fish (District 1) to the Historic and Design Review Commission for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2019.

- I) Appointing Erika Gonzalez (District 1) and Erica L. Castro (District 7) to the Mayor's Commission on the Status of Women for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2019.
- J) Reappointing Erik K. Sanden (District 1) to the Parks and Recreation Board for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2019.
- K) Appointing Sonya R. Hernandez (District 1) to the SA2020 Commission on Education for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2019.
- L) Appointing Felix E. Gonzalez (District 1) and Alejandro D. Gomez (District 1) to the San Antonio Youth Commission for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2019.
- M) Appointing Siew Ong Pang (District 1) to the Small Business Advocacy Committee for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2019.
- N) Appointing Paul Joseph DeManche (District 1) to the San Antonio Housing Trust for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2019.
- O) Appointing Erin C. Cusack (District 1) to the SA2020 Commission on Strengthening Family Well-being for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2019.
- P) Appointing Karen Weehler (District 7) to the Citizen Environmental Advisory Committee for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2019.
- Q) Appointing Robert W. Sipes (District 1) to the Zoning Commission for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2019.
- R) Appointing Lisa K. Zottarelli (District 1) to the Zoning Board of Adjustment for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2019.
- S) Reappointing Dagoberto P. Patlan (District 1) to the San Antonio Arts Commission for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2019.
- T) Reappointing Melanie A. Castillo (District 1) to the Ethics Review Board for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire April 25, 2019.

BACKGROUND INFORMATION:

Applications for District Boards were submitted to the Office of the City Clerk who coordinated review of the applications with the pertinent City Departments and the City Attorney's Office. Qualified applications were forwarded to the respective City Council Offices for their review. A memorandum designating the Councilmember's appointee was submitted to the Office of the City Clerk for processing.

ISSUE:

Board appointments require full City Council approval.

ALTERNATIVES:

The Office of the City Clerk will continue to advertise vacancies.

FISCAL IMPACT:

There is no fiscal impact.

RECOMMENDATION:

In order to proceed with the direction of the City Council, the Office of the City Clerk recommends approval of the Board Appointments.