

Title:

City of San Antonio

Legislation Details (With Text)

File #: 17-6159

Type: Appointment - Without

Ordinance

In control: City Council A Session

On agenda: 11/30/2017

Consideration of the following Board, Commission and Committee appointments for the remainder of unexpired terms of office to expire May 31, 2019, to be effective immediately upon the receipt of eight affirmative votes, or, in the event eight affirmative votes are not received, ten days after appointment; or for terms and effectiveness as otherwise indicated below: [Leticia M. Vacek, City Clerk]

- A) Appointing Michelle Lugalia-Hollon (District 2) and Vicki A. Berchard Spaulding (District 9) to the Affirmative Action Advisory Committee.
- B) Reappointing Tamara A. Tapman (District 9) to the Brooks Development Authority.
- C) Appointing Richard Delgado, Jr. (Mayoral) and Stephen Bachran (District 9) to the City Commission on Veterans Affairs.
- D) Appointing Larry W. Graf (District 9) to the Citizens' Environmental Advisory Committee.
- E) Appointing Tatum S. Spriester (Mayoral), Elena Tamez (District 9), and reappointing Lauren E. Dones (District 9) to the San Antonio Youth Commission.
- F) Reappointing Steven A. Gonzales (District 9) to the Small Business Advocacy Committee.
- G) Appointing Linda Hardberger (Mayoral) and reappointing Valeria Hernandez (District 5), and Freda Facey (District 9) to the San Antonio Arts Commission.
- H) Appointing Isabel de la Riva (District 9) to the Mayor's Commission on the Status of Women.
- I) Reappointing Alan C. Neff (District 2) to the Zoning Board of Adjustment.
- J) Reappointing Susan S. Beldon (District 9) to the Animal Care Services Advisory Board.
- K) Reappointing Homer D. Nelson (District 9) to the Building Standards Board.
- L) Appointing Heidi B. Schoenfeld (Mayoral) to the SA2020 Commission on Education.
- M) Appointing John Alvarez (Mayoral) to the SA2020 Commission on Strengthening Family Wellbeing.
- N) Appointing Lila Aguirre (Mayoral) to the City County Joint Commission on Elderly Affairs.
- O) Reappointing John F. Kent (District 9) to the Linear Creekway Parks Advisory Board.
- P) Reappointing Wade B. Shelton (District 9) to the Ethics Review Board for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire April 25, 2019.
- Q) Reappointing Marcia L. Ince (District 9) to the San Antonio Public Library Board of Trustees for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire September 30, 2019.

Sponsors:

File #: 17-6159, Version: 1

Indexes:

Code sections:

Attachments: 1. AAAC Appt Lugalia-Hollon Michelle 2017.10.30, 2.

AAAC Appt Spaulding Vicki B 2017.10.24, 3. BDA 2 Appt Tapman Tamara 2017.10.24, 4.

VA Appt Bachran Stephen 2017.10.24, 5. VA Appt Delgado Jr Richard 2017.10.27, 6.

CEAC_Appt_Graf_Larry_2017.10.24, 7. YC_Appt_Spriester_Tatum_2017.11.03, 8. YC_Appt_Tamez_Elena_2017.10.24, 9. YC_Appt_Dones_Lauren_2017.10.24, 10.

SBAC_Appt_Gonzales_Steven_2017.10.24, 11. SAAC_Appt_M_Hardberger_Linda_2017.11.03, 12. SAAC Appt Hernandez Valeria 2017.11.02, 13. SAAC Appt Facey Freda 2017.10.24, 14.

MCSW APPT De La Riva Isabela 2017.10.24, 15. ZBOA Appt Neff Alan 2017.10.30, 16. ACS Appt Beldon Susan S 2017.10.24, 17. BSB Appt Nelson Holmer 2017.10.24, 18. SACE_Appt_M_Schoenfield_Heidi_2017.11.03, 19. SACSFW Appt M Alvarez John 2017.11.03.

20. EA Appt Aguirre Lila 2017.11.03, 21. LCPAB Appt Kent John F 2017.10.24, 22.

ERB Appt Shelton Wade B 2017.10.24, 23. Library Appt Ince Marcie L 2017.10.24

Ver. **Action By** Action Date Result 11/30/2017 City Council A Session approved Pass 1

DEPARTMENT: Office of the City Clerk

DEPARTMENT HEAD: Leticia M. Vacek (OCC)

COUNCIL DISTRICTS IMPACTED:

Mayoral, Council District 2, Council District 5, and Council District 9

SUBJECT:

Board Appointments

SUMMARY:

- A) Appointing Michelle Lugalia-Hollon (District 2) and Vicki A. Berchard Spaulding (District 9) to the Affirmative Action Advisory Committee for the remainder of unexpired terms of office to expire May 31, 2019.
- B) Reappointing Tamara A. Tapman (District 9) to the Brooks Development Authority for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2019.
- C) Appointing Richard Delgado, Jr. (Mayoral) and Stephen Bachran (District 9) to the City Commission on Veterans Affairs for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2019.
- D) Appointing Larry W. Graf (District 9) to the Citizens' Environmental Advisory Committee for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2019.
- E) Appointing Tatum S. Spriester (Mayoral), Elena Tamez (District 9), and reappointing Lauren E. Dones (District 9) to the San Antonio Youth Commission for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2019.
- F) Reappointing Steven A. Gonzales (District 9) to the Small Business Advocacy Committee for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2019.

File #: 17-6159, Version: 1

- G) Appointing Linda Hardberger (Mayoral) and reappointing Valeria Hernandez (District 5), and Freda Facey (District 9) to the San Antonio Arts Commission for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2019.
- H) Appointing Isabel de la Riva (District 9) to the Mayor's Commission on the Status of Women for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2019.
- I) Reappointing Alan C. Neff (District 2) to the Zoning Board of Adjustment for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2019.
- J) Reappointing Susan S. Beldon (District 9) to the Animal Care Services Advisory Board for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2019.
- K) Reappointing Homer D. Nelson (District 9) to the Building Standards Board for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2019.
- L) Appointing Heidi B. Schoenfeld (Mayoral) to the SA2020 Commission on Education for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2019.
- M) Appointing John Alvarez (Mayoral) to the SA2020 Commission on Strengthening Family Well-being for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2019.
- N) Appointing Lila Aguirre (Mayoral) to the City County Joint Commission on Elderly Affairs for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2019.
- O) Reappointing John F. Kent (District 9) to the Linear Creekway Parks Advisory Board for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2019.
- P) Reappointing Wade B. Shelton (District 9) to the Ethics Review Board for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire April 25, 2019.
- Q) Reappointing Marcia L. Ince (District 9) to the San Antonio Public Library Board of Trustees for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire September 30, 2019.

BACKGROUND INFORMATION:

Applications for District Boards were submitted to the Office of the City Clerk who coordinated review of the applications with the pertinent City Departments and the City Attorney's Office. Qualified applications were forwarded to the respective City Council Offices for their review. A memorandum designating the Councilmember's appointee was submitted to the Office of the City Clerk for processing.

ISSUE:

Board appointments require full City Council approval.

ALTERNATIVES:

The Office of the City Clerk will continue to advertise vacancies.

FISCAL IMPACT:

There is no fiscal impact.

File #: 17-6159, Version: 1

RECOMMENDATION:

In order to proceed with the direction of the City Council, the Office of the City Clerk recommends approval of the Board Appointments.