

City of San Antonio

Legislation Details (With Text)

File #: 17-6755

Type: Resolution

In control: City Council A Session

On agenda: 12/14/2017

Title: A Resolution appointing Directors and Co-Chairs to the San Antonio Tricentennial Celebration

Commission. [Leticia M. Vacek, City Clerk]

Sponsors:

Indexes:

Code sections:

Attachments: 1. Appointment Memo - Dr. Teniente-Matson and Dr. Folks, 2. Appointment Memo - Dr. Flores, 3.

Resolution 2017-12-14-0047R

 Date
 Ver.
 Action By
 Action
 Result

 12/14/2017
 1
 City Council A Session
 approved
 Pass

DEPARTMENT: Office of the City Clerk

DEPARTMENT HEAD: Leticia Vacek

COUNCIL DISTRICTS IMPACTED: City Wide

SUBJECT:

Appointments to the San Antonio Tricentennial Celebration Commission

SUMMARY:

This item will appoint two directors and co-chairs. The 19-member Commission is a local government corporation created under Chapter 431, Texas Transportation Code, as amended, to aid, assist, and act on behalf of the City in the performance of the City's governmental functions associated with the planning, developing, identifying potential partners, managing, fundraising, and financing projects involved with all Tricentennial celebration activities.

BACKGROUND INFORMATION:

The City of San Antonio passed a resolution on June 18, 2015 authorizing the organization and incorporation of a public, nonprofit local government corporation known as the San Antonio Tricentennial Celebration Commission. The nineteen member Commission was organized for the purpose of aiding and acting on behalf

File #: 17-6755, Version: 1

of the City in the performance of the City's governmental functions, including, but not limited to providing a means of assisting with planning, developing, identifying potential partners, fundraising, managing, and financing projects involved with City's Tricentennial Celebration activities, and to accomplish any other governmental purpose of the City.

The Commission, led by an executive committee consisting of the five co-chairs appointed by the City and Bexar County, has been working to establish Community Partners, solicit sponsors, and plan events and activities to occur throughout 2018, including a New Year's Eve celebration, art and museum exhibits, educational activities, and Commemorative Week events May 1-6, 2018.

Two of the three City co-chairs of the San Antonio Tricentennial Commission have resigned their chair positions; Kelso Director of the San Antonio Museum of Art, Dr. Katie Luber, and Hilton Palacio del Rio General Manager Robert Thrailkill. They will continue to focus on coordination of major Tricentennial events and act as special advisors to the Commission's executive director.

Mayor Nirenberg has nominated Dr. John Folks as a director and a co-chair, and the District 4 director Dr. Cynthia Teniente-Matson as a co-chair. Councilman Saldana has nominated Dr. Mike Flores to the Commission to fill the District 4 vacancy.

ISSUE:

Appointment of directors and co-chairs requires City Council action.

ALTERNATIVES:

City Council could choose to not appoint Dr. Folks and Dr. Flores as directors, and Dr. Folks and Dr. Matson as co-chairs, which would delay the San Antonio Tricentennial Celebration Commission from carrying out its duties of planning, developing, identifying potential partners, managing, fundraising, and financing projects involved with all Tricentennial celebration activities.

FISCAL IMPACT:

There is no fiscal impact associated with this action

RECOMMENDATION:

Staff recommends approval of the appointment of new directors and co-chairs to the San Antonio Tricentennial Celebration Commission.