

City of San Antonio

Legislation Details (With Text)

File #: 18-1009

Type: Appointment - Without

Ordinance

In control: City Council A Session

On agenda: 1/11/2018

Title: Consideration of the following Board, Commission and Committee appointments for the remainder of unexpired terms of office to expire May 31, 2019, to be effective immediately upon the receipt of eight

affirmative votes, or, in the event eight affirmative votes are not received, ten days after appointment;

or for terms and effectiveness as otherwise indicated below: [Leticia M. Vacek, City Clerk]

A) Appointing Cynthia Cox (District 1) to the Animal Care Services Advisory Board.

B) Appointing Matthew Pina (District 9) to the Transportation Advisory Board.

C) Appointing John E. Whitsett (District 10) to the San Antonio Housing Trust.

D) Appointing Seth P. Teel (District 6) and reappointing John Edward Kuderer (District 9) to the Zoning

Board of Adjustment.

E) Reappointing Michael Rozell Hall (District 2) to the Small Business Advocacy Committee.

F) Appointing Thomas C. Mayes, Jr. (District 1) and Margaret L. Wilson-Anaglia (District 2) to the Port

Authority of San Antonio.

G) Reappointing Carol S. Calberg (District 2) to the Linear Creekway Parks Advisory Board.

H) Reappointing Michael G. MacNaughton (District 9) to the SA2020 Commission on Education.

I) Reappointing Arlene B. Fisher (District 1) to the Capital Improvements Advisory Committee.

J) Reappointing Gloria M. Malone (District 2) and Linda C. Nairn (District 10) to the San Antonio Public Library Board of Trustees for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire September

30, 2019.

Sponsors:

Indexes:

Code sections:

Attachments: 1. ACS Appt Cox Cindy 2017.10.12, 2. TAB Appt Pina Matthew 2017.10.24, 3.

SAHT_Appt_Whitsett_John_2017.11.29, 4. ZBOA_Appt_Teel_Seth_2017.12.20, 5.

ZBOA Appt Kuderer John E 2017.10.24, 6. Library Appt Nairn Linda 2017.08.07, 7.

SBAC_Appt_Hall_Michael_2017.11.13, 8. PASA_Appt_Wilson-Anaglia_Margaret_2017.12.08, 9. PASA_Appt_Mays_T_J_2017.10.12, 10. LCPAB_M_Appt_Calberg_Carol_2017.12.08, 11.

SACE Appt MacNaughton Michael G 2017.10.24, 12. Library Appt Malone Gloria 2017.12.08

Date Ver. Action By Action Result

1/11/2018 1 City Council A Session approved Pass

DEPARTMENT: Office of the City Clerk

DEPARTMENT HEAD: Leticia M. Vacek (OCC)

File #: 18-1009, Version: 1

COUNCIL DISTRICTS IMPACTED:

Council District 1, Council District 2, Council District 6, Council District 9, and Council District 10

SUBJECT:

Board Appointments

SUMMARY:

- A) Appointing Cynthia Cox (District 1) to the Animal Care Services Advisory Board for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2019.
- B) Appointing Matthew Pina (District 9) to the Transportation Advisory Board for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2019.
- C) Appointing John E. Whitsett (District 10) to the San Antonio Housing Trust for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2019.
- D) Appointing Seth P. Teel (District 6) and reappointing John Edward Kuderer (District 9) to the Zoning Board of Adjustment for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2019.
- E) Reappointing Michael Rozell Hall (District 2) to the Small Business Advocacy Committee for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2019.
- F) Appointing Thomas C. Mayes, Jr. (District 1) and Margaret L. Wilson-Anaglia (District 2) to the Port Authority of San Antonio for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2019.
- G) Reappointing Carol S. Calberg (District 2) to the Linear Creekway Parks Advisory Board for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2019.
- H) Reappointing Michael G. MacNaughton (District 9) to the SA2020 Commission on Education for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2019.
- I) Reappointing Arlene B. Fisher (District 1) to the Capital Improvements Advisory Committee for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2019.
- J) Reappointing Gloria M. Malone (District 2) and Linda C. Nairn (District 10) to the San Antonio Public Library Board of Trustees for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire September 30, 2019.

BACKGROUND INFORMATION:

Applications for District Boards were submitted to the Office of the City Clerk who coordinated review of the applications with the pertinent City Departments and the City Attorney's Office. Qualified applications were forwarded to the respective City Council Offices for their review. A memorandum designating the Councilmember's appointee was submitted to the Office of the City Clerk for processing.

File #: 18-1009, Version: 1

ISSUE:

Board appointments require full City Council approval.

ALTERNATIVES:

The Office of the City Clerk will continue to advertise vacancies.

FISCAL IMPACT:

There is no fiscal impact.

RECOMMENDATION:

In order to proceed with the direction of the City Council, the Office of the City Clerk recommends approval of the Board Appointments.