

City of San Antonio

Legislation Details (With Text)

File #: 18-3638

Type: Appointment - Without

Ordinance

In control: City Council A Session

On agenda: 6/14/2018

Title: Approving the following Board, Commission and Committee appointments for the remainder of

unexpired terms to expire May 31, 2019. Appointments are effective immediately if eight affirmative votes received, or ten days after appointment if passed with less than eight affirmative votes. [Leticia

M. Vacek, City Clerk]

A) Appointing C. LeRoy Cavazos-Reyna (District 8) to the Affirmative Action Advisory Committee.

B) Appointing John M. Bustamante (District 5) to the Zoning Commission.

C) Appointing Ramiro I. Gonzales (District 1) to the Tax Increment Reinvestment Zone No. 31 -

Midtown.

D) Appointing Michelle R. Casillas (District 1) to the Tax Increment Reinvestment Zone No. 30 -

Westside.

E) Appointing Melivia R. Mujica (District 4) to the San Antonio Youth Commission.

F) Reappointing Molly A. Moreno (District 4) to the SA2020 Commission on Education.

Sponsors:

Indexes:

Code sections:

Attachments: 1. AAAC Appt Cavazos C LeRoy 2018 04 12, 2. ZC Appt Bustamante John 2018.04.15, 3.

TIRZ 31 D1 Gonzales Ramiro 2018 05 24, 4. TIRZ 30 Casillas Michelle 2018.05.24, 5.

SAYC 5 Mujica Melivia R 2018.05.30, 6. SACE Appt Moreno Molly 2018.04.16

DateVer.Action ByActionResult6/14/20181City Council A SessionapprovedPass

DEPARTMENT: Office of the City Clerk

DEPARTMENT HEAD: Leticia M. Vacek (OCC)

COUNCIL DISTRICTS IMPACTED:

Council District 1, Council District 4, Council District 5, Council District 6, and Council District 8

SUBJECT:

Board Appointments

SUMMARY:

File #: 18-3638, Version: 1

- A) Appointing C. LeRoy Cavazos-Reyna (District 8) to the Affirmative Action Advisory Committee for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2019.
- B) Appointing John M. Bustamante (District 5) to the Zoning Commission for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2019.
- C) Appointing Ramiro I. Gonzales (District 1) to the Tax Increment Reinvestment Zone No. 31 Midtown for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2019.
- D) Appointing Michelle R. Casillas (District 1) to the Tax Increment Reinvestment Zone No. 30 Westside for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2019.
- E) Appointing Melivia R. Mujica (District 4) to the San Antonio Youth Commission for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2019.
- F) Reappointing Molly A. Moreno (District 6) to the SA2020 Commission on Education for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2019.

BACKGROUND INFORMATION:

Applications for District Boards were submitted to the Office of the City Clerk who coordinated review of the applications with the pertinent City Departments and the City Attorney's Office. Qualified applications were forwarded to the respective City Council Offices for their review. A memorandum designating the Councilmember's appointee was submitted to the Office of the City Clerk for processing.

ISSUE:

Board appointments require full City Council approval.

ALTERNATIVES:

The Office of the City Clerk will continue to advertise vacancies.

FISCAL IMPACT:

There is no fiscal impact.

RECOMMENDATION:

In order to proceed with the direction of the City Council, the Office of the City Clerk recommends approval of the Board Appointments.