

# City of San Antonio

# Legislation Details (With Text)

File #: 18-5481

**Type:** Appointment - Without

Ordinance

In control: City Council A Session

On agenda: 10/4/2018

**Title:** Approving the following Board, Commission and Committee appointments for the remainder of

unexpired terms to expire May 31, 2019. Appointments are effective immediately if eight affirmative votes received, or ten days after appointment if passed with less than eight affirmative votes. [Leticia

M. Vacek, City Clerk]

A) Appointing Virginia L. Jackson (District 6) to the SA2020 Commission on Education.

B) Appointing Skye Curd (District 5) to the City Commission on Veterans Affairs.

C) Appointing Maggie Cromeens (District 5) to the Disability Access Advisory Committee.

D) Appointing Genesis M. Ruiz (District 5) and Sophia E. Littwitz (District 8) to the San Antonio Youth

Commission.

E) Appointing Matthew Bowman (District 8) to the Historic and Design Review Commission for the

remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2019.

F) Reappointing Guadalupe G. Ochoa (District 5) and Juspreet Kaur (District 8) to the San Antonio Public Library Board of Trustees for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire September

30, 2020.

Sponsors:

Indexes:

Code sections:

Attachments: 1. SACE\_Appt\_Jackson\_Virginia\_L\_2018.09.12, 2. VA\_Appt\_Curd\_Skye\_2018.09.12, 3.

DAAC\_APPT\_Cromeens\_Maggie\_2018.09.12, 4. SAYC\_Appt\_Ruiz\_Genesis\_2018.09.20, 5. SAYC\_Appt\_Littwitz\_Sophia\_2018.09.18, 6. Library\_Appt\_Kaur\_Juspreet\_2018.09.13, 7.

HDRC Appt Bowman Matthew D 2018.09.26, 8. Library Appt Ochoa Guadalupe 2018.09.12

Date Ver. Action By Action Result

**DEPARTMENT:** Office of the City Clerk

**DEPARTMENT HEAD:** Leticia M. Vacek (OCC)

**COUNCIL DISTRICTS IMPACTED:** Council District 5, Council District 6, and Council District 8

**SUBJECT:** Board Appointments

**SUMMARY:** 

## File #: 18-5481, Version: 1

- A) Appointing Virginia L. Jackson (District 6) to the SA2020 Commission on Education for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2019.
- B) Appointing Skye Curd (District 5) to the City Commission on Veterans Affairs for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2019.
- C) Appointing Maggie Cromeens (District 5) to the Disability Access Advisory Committee for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2019.
- D) Appointing Genesis M. Ruiz (District 5) and Sophia E. Littwitz (District 8) to the San Antonio Youth Commission for the remainder of unexpired terms of office to expire May 31, 2019.
- E) Appointing Matthew Bowman (District 8) to the Historic and Design Review Commission for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2019.
- F) Reappointing Guadalupe G. Ochoa (District 5) and Juspreet Kaur (District 8) to the San Antonio Public Library Board of Trustees for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire September 30, 2020.

## **BACKGROUND INFORMATION:**

Applications for District Boards were submitted to the Office of the City Clerk who coordinated review of the applications with the pertinent City Departments and the City Attorney's Office. Qualified applications were forwarded to the respective City Council Offices for their review. A memorandum designating the Councilmember's appointee was submitted to the Office of the City Clerk for processing.

#### **ISSUE:**

Board appointments require full City Council approval.

# **ALTERNATIVES:**

The Office of the City Clerk will continue to advertise vacancies.

#### **FISCAL IMPACT:**

There is no fiscal impact.

#### **RECOMMENDATION:**

In order to proceed with the direction of the City Council, the Office of the City Clerk recommends approval of the Board Appointments.