

# City of San Antonio

# Legislation Details (With Text)

File #: 18-6521

Type: Staff Briefing - Without

Ordinance

In control: Governance Committee

On agenda: 12/5/2018

Title: Consideration of Applicants to the VIA Metropolitan Transit Authority (3 slots) [Leticia M. Vacek, City

Clerk]

Sponsors:

Indexes:

Code sections:

Attachments: 1. VIA Applicant Packet\_Governamce\_2018.12.05\_Final

Date Ver. Action By Action Result

**DEPARTMENT:** Office of the City Clerk

**DEPARTMENT HEAD:** Leticia M. Vacek (OCC)

**COUNCIL DISTRICTS IMPACTED:** City Wide

## **SUBJECT:**

Consideration of Applicants to the VIA Metropolitan Transit Authority (3 slots)

#### **SUMMARY:**

The Governance City Council Committee will convene to address the unprecedented high number of VIA Metro Transit Authority applications received by the Office of the City Clerk. The Committee will review all eligible VIA applicants and provide for a list of finalists to be interviewed at the regular Governance City Council Committee Meeting on January 16, 2019.

Name of Applicant	District	Gender	Ethnicity
Ruben Alcantara	District 8	Male	Hispanic
Noah Almanza	District 6	Male	Hispanic
Christopher P. Ashcroft	District 10	Male	Non-Minority
J. David Basaldua	District 3	Male	Did not answer
Samuel L. Beaumont	District 9	Male	Non-Minority
Kenneth S. Bonnette	District 9	Male	Non-Minority
Anthony B. Cantu	*Nonresident	Male	Hispanic
Eric S. Clark	District 6	Male	Non-Minority
Krystle R. Deleon	District 1	Female	Hispanic

File #: 18-6521, Version: 1

Curtis F.J. Doebbler	District 2	Male	Prefer not to Answer
Clyde J. Downey II	District 10	Male	Non-Minority
Branden J. Dross	District 7	Male	Non-Minority
Richard R. Dullnig	District 10	Male	Non-Minority
Cassian Flores	District 9	Male	Hispanic
Roger V. Gary	District 1	Male	Prefer not to Answer
Roland F. Gonzales	District 8	Male	Hispanic
Ronnie J. Guest, Jr.	District 6	Male	African American
Dr. Chantal Harrison	District 8	Female	Other
Steven B. Hussain	District 2	Male	Other
Ezra Johnson**	District 10	Male	Non-Minority
Carol L. Knapik	District 1	Female	Non-Minority
Jennifer S. Lee	District 7	Female	Hispanic
Ernest T. Leija	District 9	Male	Hispanic
Kenneth Lemanski, Sr.	District 3	Male	Non-Minority
Michelle Lugalia-Hollon	District 2	Female	African American
David L. Macias	District 6	Male	Hispanic
Athalie D. Malone	District 2	Female	African American
Amanda Merck**	District 3	Female	Non-Minority
Tania Moran	District 8	Female	Hispanic
Coda Rayo-Garza	District 7	Female	Hispanic
Melinda Razvi	District 8	Female	Non-Minority
John A. Smith	District 8	Male	Hispanic
Ranjit Singh Thakurratan	District 8	Male	Asian or Pacific islander
Dr. Deborah L. Valdez	District 10	Female	Hispanic
Kristi Garza Villanueva	District 2	Female	Hispanic
Dee B. Villarrubia	District 7	Female	Other
Naomi K. Williams	District 8	Female	African American
Christy A. Woodward Kaupert	District 9	Female	Non-Minority

<sup>\*</sup>Is eligible to serve; within VIA Service Area

### **BACKGROUND INFORMATION:**

VIA manages and operates the Metropolitan Transit Authority within Bexar County, Texas. VIA is governed by a Board of Trustees with eleven appointees, five (5) of which are appointed by the San Antonio City Council. Board members are appointed to staggered two-year terms and may serve up to four terms. There are currently three (3) slots available for members whose terms will expire December 31, 2018. One (1) slot is vacant by the resignation of Brian Dillard.

### **ISSUE:**

Board appointments require full City Council approval.

#### **FISCAL IMPACT:**

There is no fiscal impact.

<sup>\*\*</sup> Seeking Reappointment

File #: 18-6521, Version: 1

## **RECOMMENDATION:**

The Office of the City Clerk recommends approval of the Governance City Council Committee's Finalists to be interviewed at the Governance City Council Committee Meeting on January 16, 2019.