CITY OF SAN ANTONIO	City of San Antonio						
- TEMS-	Legislation Details (With Text)						
File #:	19-1279						
Туре:	Staff Briefing - Without Ordinance						
	I	n control:	Economic and Workforce Developm	ent Committee			
On agenda:	1/8/2019						
Title:	Consideration of Appointments to the Airport Advisory Commission (9 Slots) [Leticia M. Vacek, City Clerk]						
Sponsors:							
Indexes:							
Code sections:							
Attachments:	1. ACC Appllicant Packet_2019.0	1.08					
Date	Ver. Action By	Act	on	Result			

DEPARTMENT: Office of the City Clerk

DEPARTMENT HEAD: Leticia M. Vacek (OCC)

COUNCIL DISTRICTS IMPACTED: City Wide

SUBJECT: Consideration of Appointments to the Airport Advisory Commission (9 Slots)

SUMMARY:

The Economic and Workforce Development City Council Committee will review and recommend applicants for nine available slots to the Airport Advisory Commission. The new term of office is March 18, 2020 for the following categories: one (1) Aviation Industry; three (3) Business Community; two (2) Community; one (1) Federal Aviation Administration (FAA); one (1) Taxi Cab Industry; and one (1) Travel and Tourism. There are eight (8) eligible Applicants seeking reappointment; two of whom are not residents of the City of San Antonio and will require a waiver of residency for reappointment. The Applicants listed below qualify for appointment.

Category	First Name	Last Name	District	Gender	Appointment Status
Aviation Industry (1 Slot)	Mark	Fessler	District 8	Male	*New
	William	White	District 1	Male	New
Business Community (3 Slots)	Mark	Bromley	District 9	Male	New
	Mark	Fessler	District 8	Male	*Reappointment
	Roger	Hopkins	District 9	Male	New
	Maureen	McCann	District 9	Female	*New
	George	Meketa	Nonresident	Male	Reappointment
	Landon	Phillips	District 9	Male	New

	Alexander	Riedel	Nonresident	Male	Reappointment
	Ranjit Singh	Thakurratan	District 8	Male	New
Community (2 Slots)	Ronnell	Bright	District 9	Male	New
	Rebecca	Buchanan	District 9	Female	New
	C. LeRoy	Cavazos-Reyna	District 10	Male	New
	Mark	Fessler	District 8	Male	*New
	Leslie	Hobgood	District 10	Male	Reappointment
	Graham	Landry	District 6	Male	New
	Maureen	McCann	District 9	Female	*Reappointment
	Deborah	Omowale	District 1	Female	Reappointment
	Reynaldo	Sauceda	District 9	Male	New
	John	Smith	District 8	Male	New
	Keith	Zdeb	District 8	Male	New
FAA (1 Slot)	Earl	Jackson	District 8	Male	Reappointment
Taxicab Industry (1 Slot)	George	Alva	District 2	Male	Reappointment
Travel & Tourism (1 Slot)	Rebecca	Buchanan	District 9	Female	New
	Roger	Hopkins	District 9	Male	New
	Priscilla	Kirkwood	District 9	Female	New
	Aurora	Ortiz	District 10	Female	New

BACKGROUND INFORMATION:

The Airport Advisory Commission (AAC) is comprised of 19 members appointed by City Council At-Large for staggered two-year terms. The purpose of the AAC is to advise the City's Aviation Director on policies affecting the City's airports and air transportation initiatives.

ISSUE: Board appointments require full City Council approval

FISCAL IMPACT: There is no fiscal impact.

RECOMMENDATION:

The Office of the City Clerk recommends approval of the Council Committee's decision and that recommendations for nine nominations to the Airport Advisory Commission be submitted to the full City Council for consideration at the Meeting on January 17, 2019.