

City of San Antonio

Legislation Details (With Text)

File #:	19-1576			
Туре:	Appointment - Without Ordinance			
		In control:	City Council A Session	
On agenda:	1/31/2019			
Title:	Approving the following Board, Commission and Committee appointments for the remainder of unexpired terms to expire May 31, 2019 or for the terms shown below. Appointments are effective immediately if eight affirmative votes received, or ten days after appointment if passed with less than eight affirmative votes. [Leticia M. Vacek, City Clerk]			
	A) Appointing Tracy B. Potts (District 8) to the City Commission on Veteran Affairs.			
	B) Appointing Eleanor K. Sprowl (District 8) to the Transportation Advisory Board.			
	C) Appointing Reba N. Malone (District 3) and Kimberly Bragman (District 9) to the Zoning Board of Adjustment.			
	D) Appointing Clay Swenson to the San Antonio Bike Share Board of Directors for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire September 30, 2019; appointing Susan V. Roberts for the remainder of unexpired term of office to expire September 30, 2020; and Peng M. Ng for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire September 30, 2021.			
Sponsors:				
Indexes:				
Code sections:				
Attachments:	1. VA_Appt_Potts_Tracy_B_2019.01.08, 2. TAB_Appt_Sprowl_Eleanor_K_2019.01.10, 3. ZBOA_Appt_Malone_Reba_N_2019.01.14, 4. ZBOA_Appt_Bragman_Kimberly_2019.01.19, 5. Transportation-Memo-2019.01.22_SABS			
Date	Ver. Action By	Ac	tion	Result

DEPARTMENT: Office of the City Clerk

DEPARTMENT HEAD: Leticia M. Vacek (OCC)

COUNCIL DISTRICTS IMPACTED:

City Wide, Council District 3, Council District 8, and Council District 9

SUBJECT:

Board Appointments

SUMMARY:

A) Appointing Tracy B. Potts (District 8) to the City Commission on Veteran Affairs for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2019.

- B) Appointing Eleanor K. Sprowl (District 8) to the Transportation Advisory Board for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2019.
- C) Appointing Reba N. Malone (District 3) and Kimberly Bragman (District 9) to the Zoning Board of Adjustment for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2019.
- D) Appointing Clay Swenson to the San Antonio Bike Share Board of Directors for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire September 30, 2019; appointing Susan V. Roberts for the remainder of unexpired term of office to expire September 30, 2020; and Peng M. Ng for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire September 30, 2021.

BACKGROUND INFORMATION:

Applications for District Boards were submitted to the Office of the City Clerk who coordinated review of the applications with the pertinent City Departments and the City Attorney's Office. Qualified applications were forwarded to the respective City Council Offices for their review. A memorandum designating the Councilmember's appointee was submitted to the Office of the City Clerk for processing. The Transportation City Council Committee convened on January 22, 2019 and recommended Clay Swenson, Susan V. Roberts, and Peng M. Ng for appointment to the San Antonio Bike Share Board of Directors.

ISSUE:

Board appointments require full City Council approval.

ALTERNATIVES:

The Office of the City Clerk will continue to advertise vacancies.

FISCAL IMPACT:

There is no fiscal impact.

RECOMMENDATION:

In order to proceed with the direction of the City Council, the Office of the City Clerk recommends approval of the Board Appointments.