

# City of San Antonio

# Legislation Details (With Text)

**File #**: 19-3940

**Type:** Staff Briefing - Without

Ordinance

In control: Economic and Workforce Development Committee

On agenda: 5/7/2019

Title: Consideration of At-Large Applicants to the Airport Advisory Commission (12 Slots) [Leticia M. Vacek,

City Clerk]

Sponsors:

Indexes:

Code sections:

Attachments: 1. AAC EWDC Agenda Packet\_2019.05.07 Final Draft

Date Ver. Action By Action Result

**DEPARTMENT:** Office of the City Clerk

**DEPARTMENT HEAD:** Leticia M. Vacek (OCC)

**COUNCIL DISTRICTS IMPACTED:** City Wide

# **SUBJECT:**

Consideration of At-Large Applicants to the Airport Advisory Commission (12 Slots)

## **SUMMARY:**

The Economic and Workforce Development Committee (EWDC) will review and recommend applicants for twelve (12) available slots to the Airport Advisory Commission.

The new term of office is through March 18, 2021 for the following categories:

one (1) Alamo Area Council of Governments (AACOG); one (1) Airport Business Lessee; two (2) Aviation Industry; two (2) Business Community; three (3) Community; two (2) Travel and Tourism with one (1) slot with a term of office to expire March 18, 2020; and one (1) Ground Transportation slot with a term of office to expire March 18, 2020.

The Airport Advisory Commission (AAC) is comprised of 19 members appointed by City Council At-Large for staggered two-year terms. At the close of the AAC advertisement deadline, there were 69 applications on file for consideration.

The Applicants listed below qualify for appointment/reappointment.

Category	Applicants
	11

File #: 19-3940, Version: 1

Alamo Area Council of Governments (AACOG)	Diane Rath*
Airport Business Lessee	Ed Onwe
Aviation Industry	Ed Onwe, Aurelina Prado*, Charnelle Chin, Christopher Goth
Business Community	Ed Onwe, Charnelle Chin, Ranjit Singh Thakurrattan, Francisco Cruz*, Marsha Hendler*, Roger Hopkins, Shawn Marshall
Community	Shawn Marshall, Vaugh Caudill, Dalila Delgado Aguilar, Devin Roshanaie, Thomas Smith, Juvencio Lopez, Ronnell Bright, C. LeRoy Cavazos-Reyna, Aurora Ortiz, Sandee Taylor
Ground Transportation Industry	John Grisell, Paul Kayloe
Travel & Tourism Industry	John Grisell, Valerie Peak, Eric Velasquez, Marco Barros

<sup>\*</sup>Four (4) eligible Applicants seeking reappointment

# **BACKGROUND INFORMATION:**

The purpose of the AAC is to advise the City's Aviation Director on policies affecting the City's airports and air transportation initiatives. The EWDC Chair provided direction to the Committee to review and select 10 applicants each for consideration. Geoffrey Stow and Stephen Kurinij withdrew from consideration.

#### **ISSUE:**

Board appointments require full City Council approval.

### **FISCAL IMPACT:**

There is no fiscal impact.

## **RECOMMENDATION:**

The Office of the City Clerk recommends approval of the EWDC's recommendations for twelve nominations to the Airport Advisory Commission for submission to the City Council for consideration at the May 16, 2019 A Session.