

City of San Antonio

Legislation Details (With Text)

File #: 19-5016

Type: Staff Briefing - Without

Ordinance

In control: Governance Committee

On agenda: 6/19/2019

Title: Review of Applicants to the VIA Metropolitan Transit Authority Board of Trustees (1 Slot) [Leticia M.

Vacek, City Clerk]

Sponsors:

Indexes:

Code sections:

Attachments:

Date Ver. Action By Action Result

DEPARTMENT: Office of the City Clerk

DEPARTMENT HEAD: Leticia M. Vacek (OCC)

COUNCIL DISTRICTS IMPACTED: City Wide

SUBJECT:

Review of Applicants to the VIA Metropolitan Transit Authority Board of Trustees (1 Slot)

SUMMARY:

The Governance City Council Committee will convene to review 32 applications to select applicants to be interviewed. One slot is vacant on the VIA Metropolitan Transit Authority Board of Trustees due to the resignation of Patricia Rodriguez. The Committee will meet on August 21, 2019 to interview the selected applicants. The selected appointee will serve the remainder of the unexpired term of office to expire on December 31, 2019. The individuals listed below are eligible for consideration:

Applicant	District	Gender	Employer
Ruben Alcantara	District 8	Male	Alcantara and Orozco, PLLC
Anthony B. Cantu	Nonresident	Male	Food Service
Eric Clark	District 6	Male	Gray Line
Krystle DeLeon	District 1	Female	Meadowlawn Funeral Home
Dr. Curtis Doebbler	District 2	Male	RAICES
Clyde J. "Jack" Downey II	District 10	Male	Retired
Branden J. Dross	District 7	Male	CPS Energy
Richard R. Dullnig	District 10	Male	Ameriprise Financial

File #: 19-5016, Version: 1

Roger Gary	District 1	Male	Self-Employed
Jordan Ghawi	District 1	Male	Southwest Texas Regional Advisory Council (STRAC)
Erika Gonzalez	District 1	Female	STAAMP Allergy
Dr. Chantal Harrison	District 8	Female	Retired
Dr. Sonia Jasso	District 6	Female	University of the Incarnate Word
Jennifer S. Lee	District 7	Female	Galen College of Nursing
Ernest T. Leija	District 9	Male	Retired
Kenneth Lemanski, Sr.	District 3	Male	SAISD
Michelle Lugalia-Hollon	District 2	Female	Kronkosky Charitable Foundation
David L. Macias	District 6	Male	Navy Retired
Athalie D. Malone	District 2	Female	Accountant
Will McLeod	District 7	Male	Ross Stores Inc.
Tania Moran	District 8	Female	EISD
Maria Nelson	District 1	Female	RS and H, Inc.
Mary Palmer	District 8	Female	M. Leslie Palmer Consulting
Melinda Razvi	District 8	Female	Fresenius Kidney Care
Ruby Resendez	District 8	Female	Cilantro Creative Agency
Andrew Shelnutt	District 10	Male	The University of Texas at San Antonio
John A. Smith	District 8	Male	DXC Technology
Megan Smith	District 8	Female	Self - Consultant
Ranjit Singh Thakurratan	District 8	Male	Dell EMC
Judy Trevino	District 8	Female	CCVI Ministries, Inc.
Dr. Julian Villarreal	District 7	Male	UTSA
Dr. Sandi Wolff	District 2	Female	Catamount Constructors, Inc

BACKGROUND INFORMATION:

VIA manages and operates the Metropolitan Transit Authority within Bexar County, Texas. VIA is governed by a Board of Trustees with eleven appointees, five (5) of which are appointed by the San Antonio City Council; three (3) are appointed by the Bexar County Commissioners Court; two (2) are appointed by the Suburban Mayors; and the Chair of the Board is elected by the Board Members. Board members serve staggered two-year terms and may serve up to four terms.

ISSUE:

Board appointments require full City Council approval.

FISCAL IMPACT:

There is no fiscal impact.

RECOMMENDATION:

The City Clerk recommends approval for the Governance City Council Committee's recommendations of individuals to be interviewed at the Governance City Council Committee Meeting on August 21, 2019.

File #: 19-5016, Version: 1