

# City of San Antonio

## Legislation Details (With Text)

**File #**: 19-6392

**Type:** Appointment - Without

Ordinance

In control: City Council A Session

On agenda: 9/5/2019

**Title:** Approving the following Board, Commission and Committee appointments for the remainder of

unexpired terms to expire May 31, 2021 or for the terms shown below. Appointments are effective immediately if eight affirmative votes received, or ten days after appointment if passed with less than

eight affirmative votes. [Leticia M. Vacek, City Clerk]

A) Reappointing Sherri Dugas (District 10) to the Linear Creekway Parks Advisory Board.

B) Reappointing Allison P. Cohen (District 10) to the Parks & Recreation Board.

C) Appointing Minerva Abrego-Sanchez (District 10) to the Port Authority of San Antonio.

D) Reappointing John Whitsett (District 10) to the San Antonio Housing Trust.

E) Reappointing Maya J. Mackey (District 10) to the San Antonio Youth Commission.

F) Reappointing George L. Britton, Jr. (District 4) to the Zoning Board of Adjustment.

G) Appointing Antwon Xavier Toson (District 2), Kin Hui (District 6), and Marc Whyte (District 10) to the

Zoning Commission.

H) Reappointing Linda Nairn (District 10) to the San Antonio Library Board of Trustees effective

October 1, 2019 for a term of office to expire September 30, 2021.

Sponsors:

Indexes:

Code sections:

Attachments: 1. LCPAB Appt Dugas Sherri 2019.07.02, 2. ZBOA Appt Britton Jr George L 2019.08.15, 3.

ZC Appt Antwon 'Xavier' Toson 2019.08.14, 4. ZC Appt Hui Kin 2019.08.12, 5.

ZC Appt Whyte Marc 2019.08.09, 6. Library Appt Nairn Linda 2019.07.02

Date Ver. Action By Action Result

**DEPARTMENT:** Office of the City Clerk

**DEPARTMENT HEAD:** Leticia M. Vacek (OCC)

#### **COUNCIL DISTRICTS IMPACTED:**

Council District 2, Council District 4, Council District 6, and Council District 10

**SUBJECT:** 

**Board Appointments** 

File #: 19-6392, Version: 1

#### **SUMMARY:**

- A) Reappointing Sherri Dugas (District 10) to the Linear Creekway Parks Advisory Board for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2021.
- B) Reappointing Allison P. Cohen (District 10) to the Parks & Recreation Board for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2021.
- C) Appointing Minerva Abrego-Sanchez (District 10) to the Port Authority of San Antonio for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2021.
- D) Reappointing John Whitsett (District 10) to the San Antonio Housing Trust for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2021.
- E) Reappointing Maya J. Mackey (District 10) to the San Antonio Youth Commission for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2021.
- F) Reappointing George L. Britton, Jr. (District 4) to the Zoning Board of Adjustment for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2021.
- G) Appointing Antwon Xavier Toson (District 2), Kin Hui (District 6), and Marc Whyte (District 10) to the Zoning Commission for the remainder of unexpired terms of office to expire terms of office to expire May 31, 2021.
- H) Reappointing Linda Nairn (District 10) to the San Antonio Library Board of Trustees effective October 1, 2019 for a term of office to expire September 30, 2021.

#### **BACKGROUND INFORMATION:**

Applications for District Boards were submitted to the Office of the City Clerk who coordinated review of the applications with the pertinent City Departments and the City Attorney's Office. Qualified applications were forwarded to the respective City Council Offices for their review. A memorandum designating the Councilmember's appointee was submitted to the Office of the City Clerk for processing.

#### **ISSUE:**

Board appointments require full City Council approval.

#### **ALTERNATIVES:**

The Office of the City Clerk will continue to advertise vacancies.

### **FISCAL IMPACT:**

There is no fiscal impact.

#### **RECOMMENDATION:**

In order to proceed with the direction of the City Council, the Office of the City Clerk recommends approval of the Board Appointments.