

City of San Antonio

Legislation Details (With Text)

File #: 19-7242

Type: Appointment - With Ordinance

In control: City Council A Session

On agenda: 10/17/2019

Title: Approving the following Board, Commission and Committee appointments for the remainder of

unexpired terms to expire May 31, 2021 or for the terms shown below. Appointments are effective immediately if eight affirmative votes received, or ten days after appointment if passed with less than

eight affirmative votes. [Leticia M. Vacek, City Clerk]

A) Reappointing Scott W. Carpenter (District 6) to the Historic & Design Review Commission.

B) Reappointing Richard Delgado, Jr. (Mayoral) to the City Commission on Veteran Affairs.

C) Appointing Kathleen Davis (District 6) to the Animal Care Services Advisory Board.

D) Appointing Michael Ingersoll (District 4) to Tax Increment Reinvestment Zone No. 21 - Heather's Cove Board of Directors.

E) Appointing Michael Ingersoll (District 4) to Tax Increment Reinvestment Zone No. 25 - Hunter's Pond #25 Board of Directors.

F) Reappointing Leticia D. Gonzales (District 6) to the Mayor's Commission on the Status of Women.

G) Reappointing Virginia L. Jackson (District 6) and appointing Heidi B. Schoenfeld (Mayoral) to the SA2020 Commission on Education.

H) An Ordinance appointing Gwendolyn Bolden (District 2) to the Affirmative Action Advisory Committee for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2021; and waiving the City Code Residency Requirement in Chapter 10, Article I, Section 10-14(d) for this appointment.

- I) Reappointing Randall S. Preissig (District 4) to the Linear Creekway Parks Advisory Board.
- J) Reappointing Rene Barilleaux (Mayoral) to the San Antonio Arts Commission.
- K) Reappointing Lila G. Aguirre (Mayoral) to the City County Joint Commission on Elderly Affairs.
- L) Reappointing Kimberly Bragman (District 9) to the Zoning Board of Adjustment.
- M) Reappointing Bradley S. Carson (District 6) to the Port Authority of San Antonio.
- N) Reappointing Michael Hogan (District 6) to the Capital Improvements Advisory Committee.
- O) Appointing Dr. Alicia Reyes-Barrientez (District 3) and reappointing Alexander J. Melo (District 6) to the Brooks Development Authority.
- P) Appointing Coda Rayo-Garza (Mayoral) to the Ethics Review Board for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire April 25, 2020.
- Q) Appointing Kristi Wyatt (Mayoral) to the HemisFair Park Area Redevelopment Corporation for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire August 13, 2022 and reappointing Corina Castillo-Johnson (Mayoral) for the remainder of a term of office to expire August 13, 2023.

File #: 19-7242, Version: 1

Sponsors:

Indexes:

Code sections:

Attachments:

1. HDRC_Appt_Carpenter_Scott_2019.09.11, 2. VA_Appt_Delgado_Jr_Richard_2019.09.03, 3.

AAC Appt Davis Kathleen 2019.09.11, 4. TIRZ 21 Ingersoll Michael 2019.07.25, 5.

TIRZ_25_Appointments_Ingersoll_Michael_2019.08.29, 6.

MCSW_Appt_Gonzales_Leticia_2019.09.11, 7. SACE_Appt_Jackson_Virginia_2019.09.11, 8. SACE_Appt_Schoenfeld_Heidi_B_2019.09.03, 9. AAAC_Appt_Bolden_Gwendolyn_2019 09.25, 10. LCPAB_Appt_Preissig_Randall_2019.10.01, 11. SAAC_Appt_Barilleaux_Rene_P_2019.09.11, 12. EA_Appt_Aguirre_Lila_G_2019.09.03, 13. ZBOA_Appt_Bragman_Kimberly_2019.08.21, 14. PASA_Appt_Carson_Bradley_2019.09.11, 15. CIAC_Appt_Hogan_Michael_2019.09.11, 16. BDA_Appt_Reyes_Barriéntez_Alicia_2019.10.02, 17. BDA_Appt_Melo_Alexander_2019.09.11, 18. ERB_Appt_Rayo-Garza_Coda_2019.09.12, 19. 19-7242_Ordinance_AAAC_Waiver_Residency, 20. HPARC_Appt_Wyatt_Kristi_2019.09.12, 21. HPARC_Appt_Johnson_Corina_C_2019.09.12, 22.

Ordinance 2019-10-17-0849

Date Ver. Action By Action Result

10/17/2019 1 City Council A Session

DEPARTMENT: Office of the City Clerk

DEPARTMENT HEAD: Leticia M. Vacek (OCC)

COUNCIL DISTRICTS IMPACTED: Mayoral, Council District 2, Council District 3, Council District 4, Council District 6, and Council District 9

SUBJECT:

Board Appointments

SUMMARY:

- A) Reappointing Scott W. Carpenter (District 6) to the Historic & Design Review Commission for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2021.
- B) Reappointing Richard Delgado, Jr. (Mayoral) to the City Commission on Veteran Affairs for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2021.
- C) Appointing Kathleen Davis (District 6) to the Animal Care Services Advisory Board for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2021.
- D) Appointing Michael Ingersoll (District 4) to Tax Increment Reinvestment Zone No. 21 Heather's Cove Board of Directors for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2021.
- E) Appointing Michael Ingersoll (District 4) to Tax Increment Reinvestment Zone No. 25 Hunter's Pond #25 Board of Directors for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2021.
- F) Reappointing Leticia D. Gonzales (District 6) to the Mayor's Commission on the Status of Women for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2021.

- G) Reappointing Virginia L. Jackson (District 6) and appointing Heidi B. Schoenfeld (Mayoral) to the SA2020 Commission on Education for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2021.
- H) Appointing Gwendolyn Bolden (District 2) to the Affirmative Action Advisory Committee for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2021; and waiving the City Code Residency Requirement in Chapter 10, Article I, Section 10-14(d) for this appointment.
- I) Reappointing Randall S. Preissig (District 4) to the Linear Creekway Parks Advisory Board for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2021.
- J) Reappointing Rene Barilleaux (Mayoral) to the San Antonio Arts Commission for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2021.
- K) Reappointing Lila G. Aguirre (Mayoral) to the City County Joint Commission on Elderly Affairs for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2021.
- L) Reappointing Kimberly Bragman (District 9) to the Zoning Board of Adjustment for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2021.
- M) Reappointing Bradley S. Carson (District 6) to the Port Authority of San Antonio for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2021.
- N) Reappointing Michael Hogan (District 6) to the Capital Improvements Advisory Committee for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2021.
- O) Appointing Dr. Alicia Reyes-Barrientez (District 3) and reappointing Alexander J. Melo (District 6) to the Brooks Development Authority for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2021.
- P) Appointing Coda Rayo-Garza (Mayoral) to the Ethics Review Board for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire April 25, 2020.
- Q) Appointing Kristi Wyatt (Mayor) to the HemisFair Park Area Redevelopment Corporation for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire August 13, 2022 and reappointing Corina Castillo-Johnson for the remainder of a term of office to expire August 13, 2023.

BACKGROUND INFORMATION:

Applications for District Boards were submitted to the Office of the City Clerk who coordinated review of the applications with the pertinent City Departments and the City Attorney's Office. Qualified applications were forwarded to the respective City Council Offices for their review. A memorandum designating the Councilmember's appointee was submitted to the Office of the City Clerk for processing.

ISSUE:

Board appointments require full City Council approval.

ALTERNATIVES:

File #: 19-7242, Version: 1

N/A

FISCAL IMPACT:

There is no fiscal impact.

RECOMMENDATION:

In order to proceed with the direction of the City Council, the Office of the City Clerk recommends approval of the Board Appointments.