

Title:

# City of San Antonio

# Legislation Details (With Text)

File #: 19-8531

**Type:** Appointment - Without

Ordinance

In control: City Council A Session

On agenda: 12/5/2019

Approving the following Board, Commission and Committee appointments for the remainder of unexpired terms to expire May 31, 2021 or for the terms shown below. Appointments are effective immediately if eight affirmative votes received, or ten days after appointment if passed with less than

eight affirmative votes. [Leticia M. Vacek, City Clerk]

A) Appointing Anthony Jarrett (District 6) to the City Bond Oversight Commission.

- B) Appointing Brian M. Cox (District 10) to the Capital Improvements Advisory Committee.
- C) Reappointing Bonnie Weed (District 6) to the Disability Access Advisory Committee.
- D) Appointing Michael Sanchez (District 4) to the City of San Antonio Higher Education Student Advisory Board.
- E) Reappointing Margaret Hartman (District 2) and Jamie L Johnson (District 2) to the Tax Increment Reinvestment Zone No. 15 North East Crossing.
- F) Appointing Thad Rutherford (District 3) and reappointing Melissa Mahan (District 3) and Dan Crowley (District 3) to the Tax Increment Reinvestment Zone No. 28 Verano Board.
- G) Reappointing Jesse Zuniga Jr. (District 6) to the Building Standards Board.
- H) Reappointing Alfred P. Rocha (District 5) to the Parks and Recreation Board.
- I) Ordinance reappointing Valerie Moore (District 7) to the Animal Care Services Advisory Board for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2021; and waiving the City Code Residency Requirement in Chapter 2, Article IX, Section 2-259(b) for this appointment.
- J) Appointing Stephanie Melchor (Mayoral) to the Affirmative Action Advisory Committee.
- K) Appointing Jacqueline Campos (Mayoral) to the San Antonio Youth Commission.
- L) Appointing Veronica Morales (District 5) to the Small Business Advocacy Committee.
- PULLED -- M) Appointing David Berrocal Diaz-Faes (District 8) to the Port Authority of San Antonio.
- N) Appointing Oliver Carr (District 6) to the City Commission on Veterans Affairs.
- O) Appointing Erica Martinez (District 6) to the San Antonio Housing Trust.
- P) Appointing Elaine Kearney (Mayoral) to the Linear Creekway Parks Advisory Board.

Sponsors:

Indexes:

**Code sections:** 

File #: 19-8531, Version: 1

Attachments: 1. Appt Jarrett Anthony 2019.11.04, 2. CIAC Appt Cox Brian M 2019.10.30, 3.

DAAC Weed Bonnie 2019.11.04, 4. CoSAHESAB appt Sanchez Michael 2019.09.04, 5.

TIRZ\_15\_Margart Hartman\_2019.11.06, 6. TIRZ\_15\_Jamie Johnson\_2019.11.06, 7. TIRZ28\_APPT\_Rutherford\_Thad\_2019.11.19, 8. TIRZ28\_APPT\_Mahan\_Melissa\_2019.11.19, 9.

TIRZ28 APPT Crowley Dan 2019.11.19, 10. BSB Appt Zuniga Jesse 2019.11.04, 11. Parks Appt Rocha Alfred 2019.09.18, 12. ACS Appt Moore Valerie 2019.11.13, 13.

AAAC Appt Melchor Stepanie R 2019.10.18, 14. SAYC Appt Campos Jacqueline 2019.11.18,

15. SBAC Appt Morales Veronica O 2019.11.22, 16. PASA 8 Appt Berrocal Diaz-

Faes David 2019.11.22, 17. VA Appt Carr Oliver 2019.11.22, 18.

SAHT Appt Martinez Erica 2019.11.22, 19. LCPAB Appt Kearney Elaine 2019.11.13, 20. Draft

Ordinance, 21. Ordinance 2019-12-05-0990

Date Ver. **Action By** Action Result

12/5/2019 City Council A Session

**DEPARTMENT:** Office of the City Clerk

**DEPARTMENT HEAD:** Leticia M. Vacek

#### **COUNCIL DISTRICTS IMPACTED:**

Mayoral, Council District 2, Council District 3, Council District 4, Council District 5, Council District 6, Council District 7, Council District 8, and Council District 10

#### SUBJECT:

**Board Appointment** 

## **SUMMARY:**

- A) Appointing Anthony Jarrett (District 6) to the City Bond Oversight Commission of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2021.
- B) Appointing Brian M. Cox (District 10) to the Capital Improvements Advisory Committee of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2021.
- C) Reappointing Bonnie Weed (District 6) to the Disability Access Advisory Committee of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2021.
- D) Appointing Michael Sanchez (District 4) to the City of San Antonio Higher Education Student Advisory Board of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2021.
- E) Reappointing Margaret Hartman (District 2) and Jamie L Johnson (District 2) to the Tax Increment Reinvestment Zone No. 15 - North East Crossing for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2021.
- F) Appointing Thad Rutherford (District 3) and reappointing Melissa Mahan (District 3) and Dan Crowley (District 3) to the Tax Increment Reinvestment Zone No. 28 - Verano Board for the remainder of an

unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2021.

- G) Reappointing Jesse Zuniga Jr. (District 6) to the Building Standards Board for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2021.
- H) Reappointing Alfred P. Rocha (District 5) to the Parks and Recreation Board for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2021.
- I) An Ordinance reappointing Valerie Moore (District 7) to the Animal Care Services Advisory Board for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2021; and waiving the City Code Residency Requirement in Chapter 2, Article IX, Section 2-259(b) for this appointment.
- J) Appointing Stephanie Melchor (Mayoral) to the Affirmative Action Advisory Committee for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2021.
- K) Appointing Jacqueline Campos (Mayoral) to the San Antonio Youth Commission for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2021.
- L) Appointing Veronica Morales (District 5) to the Small Business Advocacy Committee for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2021.
- M) Appointing David Berrocal Diaz-Faes (District 8) to the Port Authority of San Antonio for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2021.
- N) Appointing Oliver Carr (District 6) to the City Commission on Veterans Affairs for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2021.
- O) Appointing Erica Martinez (District 6) to the San Antonio Housing Trust for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2021.
- P) Appointing Elaine Kearney (Mayoral) to the Linear Creekway Parks Advisory Board for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2021.

## **BACKGROUND INFORMATION:**

Applications for District Boards were submitted to the Office of the City Clerk who coordinated review of the applications with the pertinent City Departments and the City Attorney's Office. Qualified applications were forwarded to the respective City Council Offices for their review. A memorandum designating the Councilmember's appointee was submitted to the Office of the City Clerk for processing.

#### **ISSUE:**

Board appointments require full City Council approval.

#### **ALTERNATIVES:**

The Office of the City Clerk will continue to advertise vacancies.

File #: 19-8531,	Version:	1
------------------	----------	---

# **FISCAL IMPACT:**

There is no fiscal impact

## **RECOMMENDATION:**

In order to proceed with the direction of the City Council, the Office of the City Clerk recommends approval the Board Appointments.