	City of San Antonio Legislation Details (With Text)		
File #:	19-8951		
Туре:	Appointment - Without Ordinance		
		In control: City Council A Ses	sion
On agenda:	12/5/2019		
Title:	Appointing John Vernon York, Jeffrey Allen McKinnie, Joshua Cullen Dym, Steve Jeffrey Honigblum, Timothy Mark Elphick, Allen Douglas Hoover, and Sha-Rone Caffie-Reyes to serve on the Thea Meadows TIRZ #36 Board of Directors for a two year term from the date of appointment.		
Sponsors:			
Indexes:			
Code sections:			
Attachments:	1. Appointment Memo		
Date	Ver. Action By	Action	Result
12/5/2019	1 City Council A Sessio		

DEPARTMENT: Neighborhood and Housing Services Department

DEPARTMENT HEAD: Verónica R. Soto, AICP, Director

COUNCIL DISTRICTS IMPACTED: Council District 3

SUBJECT:

Appointment of the Thea Meadows TIRZ #36 Board of Directors.

SUMMARY:

This item will appoint John Vernon York, Jeffrey Allen McKinnie, Joshua Cullen Dym, Steve Jeffrey Honigblum, Timothy Mark Elphick, Allen Douglas Hoover, and Sha-Rone Caffie-Reyes to serve on the Board of Directors of the Thea Meadows Tax Increment Reinvestment Zone Number 36 (TIRZ #36) in accordance with the provisions of the TIF Act, Chapter 311 of the Texas Tax Code. With an associated agenda item, City Council is being asked to designate approximately 88.8 acres of property located in Council District 3 on the southeast side of San Antonio, northwest of the intersection of South W.W. White Road and S.E. Military Drive as the Thea Meadows Tax Increment Reinvestment Zone Number 36.

BACKGROUND INFORMATION:

In November 2019, seven applications were submitted for consideration to be appointed to the Thea Meadows

TIRZ Board of Directors. The applications were vetted and approved by Neighborhood Housing Services Department, City Attorney's Office, and Council District 3. Each will serve a two year term, starting on the date of appointment.

ISSUE:

City Council consideration is requested for the approval of the appointment of John Vernon York, Jeffrey Allen McKinnie, Joshua Cullen Dym, Steve Jeffrey Honigblum, Timothy Mark Elphick, Allen Douglas Hoover, and Sha-Rone Caffie-Reyes to serve on the Thea Meadows TIRZ Board of Directors for a two year term from the date of appointment.

ALTERNATIVES:

City Council could decide not to appoint the seven proposed applicants to the Thea Meadows TIRZ Board of Directors; however, this would delay the approval of the Final Finance Plan, Final Project Plan, and the Development Agreement.

FISCAL IMPACT:

There is no immediate fiscal impact to the City's General Fund.

RECOMMENDATION:

Staff recommends that the City Council officially appoint John Vernon York, Jeffrey Allen McKinnie, Joshua Cullen Dym, Steve Jeffrey Honigblum, Timothy Mark Elphick, Allen Douglas Hoover, and Sha-Rone Caffie-Reyes to serve on the Thea Meadows TIRZ Board of Directors.