

# City of San Antonio

Legislation Details (With Text)

File #:	20-1	137			
Туре:		ointment - Without nance			
			In control:	City Council A Session	
On agenda:	1/16	/2020			
Title:	Appointing Matthew D. Proffitt to the Planning Commission for a term of office to expire October 6, 2020; appointing John Jackson for a term of office to expire October 6, 2021 and reappointing Christopher C. Garcia, Michael A. Garcia, Jr., and Connie Gonzales for terms of office to expire October 6, 2021. [Leticia M. Vacek, City Clerk]				
Sponsors:					
Indexes:					
Code sections:					
Attachments:					
Date	Ver.	Action By	Act	ion	Result
1/16/2020	1	City Council A Session	n apr	proved	Pass

**DEPARTMENT:** Office of the City Clerk

## **DEPARTMENT HEAD:** Leticia M. Vacek (OCC)

## COUNCIL DISTRICTS IMPACTED: City Wide

### SUBJECT:

At-Large Appointments to the Planning Commission (5 Slots)

### SUMMARY:

Appointing Matthew D. Proffitt to the Planning Commission for a term of office to expire October 6, 2020; appointing John Jackson for a term of office to expire October 6, 2021 and reappointing Christopher C. Garcia, Michael A. Garcia, Jr., and Connie Gonzales for terms of office to expire October 6, 2021.

### **BACKGROUND INFORMATION:**

The Planning Commission has the principal duty of acting as an advisory body to City Council regarding both amendments to the master plan of the City and the Unified Development Code. The Commission also serves as a final authority pertaining to subdivision plats within the City of San Antonio city limits and within the Extraterritorial Jurisdiction.

The Planning Commission is comprised of 9 at-large members for overlapping two-year terms of office. There is no limit to the number of terms that may be served; appointments as Chair are limited to two terms.

Mayor Nirenberg formed a Planning Commission Subcommittee to select a number of Planning Commission Applicants for interview. The Subcommittee selected and forwarded seven applicants for interviews to be held by the Governance Committee at the December 13, 2019 Governance Committee meeting.

The Governance Committee now recommends the following individuals be appointed to the Planning Commission for the terms listed:

Appointing Matthew D. Proffitt Term Expires October 6, 2020

Appointing John Jackson Term Expires October 6, 2021

Reappointing Christopher C. Garcia Term Expires October 6, 2021

Reappointing Michael A. Garcia Jr. Term Expires October 6, 2021

Reappointing Connie Gonzalez Term Expires October 6, 2021

### **ISSUE:**

Board appointments require full City Council approval.

## FISCAL IMPACT:

There is no fiscal impact.

### **RECOMMENDATION:**

In order to proceed with the direction of the Governance City Council Committee, the Office of the City Clerk recommends full approval of these nominations.