

City of San Antonio

Legislation Details (With Text)

File #:	20-1	118			
Туре:		ointment - Without nance			
			In control:	City Council A Ses	sion
On agenda:	1/30	/2020			
Title:	Approving the following Board, Commission and Committee appointments for the remainder of unexpired terms to expire May 31, 2021 or for the terms shown below. Appointments are effective immediately if eight affirmative votes received, or ten days after appointment if passed with less than eight affirmative votes. [Leticia M. Vacek, City Clerk]				
	A) Appointing Elysia Huling (Mayoral) to the SA2020 Commission on Strengthening Family Well- being.				
	B) Appointing Eileen Kret (Mayoral) to the San Antonio Arts Commission.				
	C) Appointing Nickoll Garcia (District 2) to the San Antonio Youth Commission.				
	D) Appointing Douglas Cross (District 2) and Mitch Meyer (District 2) to the Tax Increment Reinvestment Zone No. 11 – Inner City Board of Directors.				
	E) Appointing Marilu A. Reyna (District 3) and reappointing Daniel F. Weingart (District 8) to the Port Authority of San Antonio.				
	F) Appointing Hilliard Galloway (District 4) to the San Antonio Housing Trust.				
	G) Appointing Jorge Herrera (District 5) to the Tax Increment Reinvestment Zone No. 30 – Westside Board of Directors.				
Sponsors:					
Indexes:					
Code sections:					
Attachments:	1. SACSFW_Appt_Huling_Elysia_P_2019.09.17, 2. SAAC_Appt_Kret_Eileen_2020.01.08, 3. SAYC_Appt_Garcia_Nickoll_S_2019.12.11, 4. TIRZ_11_Appt_Cross_Doug_W_2019.12.11, 5. TIRZ_11_Appt_Meyer_Mitch_2019.12.11, 6. PASA_Appt_Reyna_Marilu_2020.01.15, 7. PASA_Appt_Weingart_Dan_F_2020.01.16, 8. SAHT_Appt_Galloway_Hilliard_D_2020.01.06, 9. TIRZ 30_Herrera_Jorge_2020.01.13, 10. Supporting memo				
Date	Ver.	Action By		Action	Result
1/30/2020	1	City Council A Session		approved	Pass

DEPARTMENT: Office of the City Clerk

DEPARTMENT HEAD: Leticia M. Vacek

COUNCIL DISTRICTS IMPACTED:

Mayoral, Council District 2, Council District 3, Council District 4, Council District 5, and Council District 8

SUBJECT:

Board Appointment

SUMMARY:

- A) Appointing Elysia Huling (Mayoral) to the SA2020 Commission on Strengthening Family Well-being of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2021.
- B) Appointing Eileen Kret (Mayoral) to the San Antonio Arts Commission of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2021.
- C) Appointing Nickoll Garcia (District 2) to the San Antonio Youth Commission of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2021.
- D) Appointing Douglas Cross (District 2) and Mitch Meyer (District 2) to the Tax Increment Reinvestment Zone No. 11 - Inner City Board of Directors for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2021.
- E) Appointing Marilu A. Reyna (District 3) and reappointing Daniel F. Weingart (District 8) to the Port Authority of San Antonio of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2021.
- F) Appointing Hilliard Galloway (District 4) to the San Antonio Housing Trust of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2021.
- G) Appointing Jorge Herrera (District 5) to the Tax Increment Reinvestment Zone No. 30 Westside Board of Directors for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2021.

BACKGROUND INFORMATION:

Applications for District Boards were submitted to the Office of the City Clerk who coordinated review of the applications with the pertinent City Departments and the City Attorney's Office. Qualified applications were forwarded to the respective City Council Offices for their review. A memorandum designating the Councilmember's appointee was submitted to the Office of the City Clerk for processing.

ISSUE:

Board appointments require full City Council approval.

ALTERNATIVES:

The Office of the City Clerk will continue to advertise vacancies.

FISCAL IMPACT:

There is no fiscal impact.

RECOMMENDATION:

In order to proceed with the direction of the City Council, the Office of the City Clerk recommends approval the Board Appointments.