

City of San Antonio

Legislation Details (With Text)

File #: 20-1677

Type: Appointment - Without

Ordinance

In control: City Council A Session

On agenda: 2/20/2020

Title: Approving the following Board, Commission and Committee appointments for the remainder of

unexpired terms to expire May 31, 2021 or for the terms shown below. Appointments are effective immediately if eight affirmative votes received, or ten days after appointment if passed with less than

eight affirmative votes. [Leticia M. Vacek, City Clerk]

A) Reappointing Judy Cruz (Mayoral) to the San Antonio Public Library Board of Trustee.

B) Appointing David Sherman (District 2) to the City Commission on Veterans Affairs.

C) Appointing Lillian Jones (District 2) to the Zoning Commission.

D) Reappointing Susan Wright (District 2) to the Capital Improvements Advisory Committee.

E) Appointing Joe De La Garza (District 3) to the San Antonio Early Childhood Education Municipal Development Corporation.

F) Appointing Lance Elliott (District 5) to the Tax Increment Reinvestment Zone No. 12 – Plaza Fortuna Board of Directors.

G) Appointing Efrain Vergara (District 8) and reappointing Dewayne Nelson (District 9) to the Building Standards Board.

H) Reappointing Lloyd A. Denton Jr. (District 10) to the Tax Increment Reinvestment Zone No. 33 – Northeast Corridor Board of Directors.

Sponsors:

Indexes:

Code sections:

Attachments: 1. Library Appt Cruz Judy 2020.02.04, 2. VA Appt Sherman David 2020.01.29, 3.

CIAC_Appt_Wright_Susan_2020.01.29, 4. PreK_De_La_Garza_Joe_2020.01.27, 5. TIRZ 12 Appt Elliott Lance 2020.01.30, 6. BSB Appt Vergara Efrain 2020.01.20, 7.

BSB_Appt_Nelson_Dewayne_2020.01.15

DateVer.Action ByActionResult2/20/20201City Council A SessionapprovedPass

DEPARTMENT: Office of the City Clerk

DEPARTMENT HEAD: Leticia M. Vacek

COUNCIL DISTRICTS IMPACTED:

File #: 20-1677, Version: 1

Mayoral, Council District 2, Council District 3, Council District 5, Council District 8, Council District 9, and Council District 10

SUBJECT:

Board Appointment

SUMMARY:

- A) Reappointing Judy Cruz (Mayoral) to the San Antonio Public Library Board of Trustee of an unexpired term of office to expire September 30, 2020.
- B) Appointing David Sherman (District 2) to the City Commission on Veterans Affairs of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2021.
- C) Appointing Lillian Jones (District 2) to the Zoning Commission of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2021.
- D) Reappointing Susan Wright (District 2) to the Capital Improvements Advisory Committee of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2021.
- E) Appointing Joe De La Garza (District 3) to the San Antonio Early Childhood Education Municipal Development Corporation of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2021.
- F) Appointing Lance Elliott (District 5) to the Tax Increment Reinvestment Zone No. 12 Plaza Fortuna Board of Directors for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2021.
- G) Appointing Efrain Vergara (District 8) and reappointing Dewayne Nelson (District 9) to the Building Standards Board of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2021.
- H) Reappointing Lloyd A. Denton Jr. (District 10) to the Tax Increment Reinvestment Zone No. 33 Northeast Corridor Board of Directors for the remainder of an unexpired term of office to expire May 31, 2021.

BACKGROUND INFORMATION:

Applications for District Boards were submitted to the Office of the City Clerk who coordinated review of the

File #: 20-1677, Version: 1

applications with the pertinent City Departments and the City Attorney's Office. Qualified applications were forwarded to the respective City Council Offices for their review. A memorandum designating the Councilmember's appointee was submitted to the Office of the City Clerk for processing.

ISSUE:

Board appointments require full City Council approval.

ALTERNATIVES:

The Office of the City Clerk will continue to advertise vacancies.

FISCAL IMPACT:

There is no fiscal impact.

RECOMMENDATION:

In order to proceed with the direction of the City Council, the Office of the City Clerk recommends approval the Board Appointments.