

City of San Antonio

Agenda Memorandum

File Number: 15-5557

Agenda Item Number: 6.

Agenda Date: 10/28/2015

In Control: Governance Committee

DEPARTMENT: Office of the City Clerk

DEPARTMENT HEAD: Leticia M. Vacek (OCC)

COUNCIL DISTRICTS IMPACTED: City Wide

SUBJECT:

Consideration of Applicants to the Planning Commission (5 slots)

SUMMARY:

The Governance City Council Committee will review and recommend five applicants to the full Council for appointment to the Planning Commission. Four applicants are seeking reappointment. The following applications were received:

First Name	МІ	Last Name	District	New or Reappt.
Michael	A.	Garcia, Jr	8	Reappointment
Marcello	D.	Martinez	3	Reappointment
Angela		Rinehart	1	Reappointment
Jody	Α.	Sherrill	8	Reappointment
Andrew	M.	Ozuna	8	New (Ex-Officio)
Emily	R.	Bowe	1	New
Jack		Guerra	10	New
Jason		Koehne	1	New
Gabriel	L.	Lopez	8	New
Rob		Robbins	1	New
Orlando		Sandoval	3	New

BACKGROUND INFORMATION:

The Planning Commission advises the City Council on the Master Plan for the physical development of San Antonio. The Commission also provides recommendations on capital improvements, and administers regulations on subdivisions and platting, to include the Extra-Territorial Jurisdiction. Members serve staggered

two-year terms and there are no term limitations. There are currently four slots available with terms of office to expire October 6, 2017. There is one slot available, vacated by the resignation of Aaron J. Seaman, with a term of office to expire October 6, 2016. Those seeking reappointment are eligible and willing to serve an additional term.

ISSUE:

Board appointments require full City Council approval.

FISCAL IMPACT:

There is no fiscal impact.

RECOMMENDATION:

The Office of the City Clerk recommends approval of the Council Committee's decision and that same be submitted to the City Council Meeting on November 12, 2015.